![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I would think a live ball vs. dead ball situation would cause this to be different than say a ball that was in play. Bob, don't get me wrong...I'm not saying I don't agree with you...I'm just looking for a little more clarification in case this happens in one of my games. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Its the second play in this video. Tough to tell from this video, but Raycom sports showed the overhead angle & it looked like it was in the cylinder.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=PIplP350ayk |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Gotcha. Thanks guys for all of your posts. I'm just trying to move up the officiating ladder, so anything I can learn....I'm all for.
By the way, I'm going to my first D3 camp this summer. ACC, Colonial, Big East, A-10, etc... officials will be there evaluating. Any advice from the veterans? |
|
|||
Quote:
('Cuz that never happens. . . ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks Snaqwells & Bob. Last edited by blwall1416; Mon Mar 17, 2008 at 02:37pm. |
|
||||
I think he may be referring to your question regarding dead ball and live ball. It's a pretty basic rule concept; one of the first things officials should learn. Something that should have been learned long before attempting to get hired by a college assigner.
I'm not Bob, but have been known to channel my inner Dan now and then.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul. |
|
|||
Basket Interference ???
Because basket interference doesn't have to involve a try, you can get some weird basket interference calls; on a throwin, as was previously mentioned, on a ball that hits a player on the shoulder, or on the head, and ends up in the cylinder, or on the ring; on a long pass that hits the floor, and bounces high enough to end up in the cylinder, or on the ring; or on a shot by a player at the wrong basket, not a legal try, but basket interference can be called.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|