![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
NCAA and/or NF Let me understand this. A free throw hits the rim and bounces straight up. The players battle for the rebound and the ball hits the rim again when opponent of the free thrower hits the ball as it is above the cylinder. This is GT and a technical??? Doesn't sound right, but i am just learning.
|
|
|||
Mike, that would NOT be goaltending. To understand this, you have to understand the difference between goaltanding and basket interference.
In order to have GT, there must be a try for goal. For BI, it doesn't matter how the ball gets on the rim or in the cylinder. Could be a pass or a deflection. But for GT, it must be a try. Goaltending: 1. Must be a try. 2. Must be on the way down. 3. Must be completely outside the cylinder. 4. Must be completely above the rim. 5. Must have a chance to go in. Basket Interference: 1. Can't touch the ball if it's in the cylinder. 2. Can't touch the basket or ball if it's on or in the basket. 3. Can't touch the ball (even outside the cylinder) after reaching through the basket. 4. If rim is moved, it can't contact the ball before returning to its original position. So in your situation, it would not be GT, because it is not outside the cylinder. It's basket interference, because of #1 -- touching a live ball in the imaginary cylinder. By rule, GT a free throw in a technical foul; but committing basket interference during a free throw is NOT a technical foul. Why? Because it's possible to commit basket interference during a free throw, while making a legitimate basketball play. Just like in the situation you describe. But it's not possible to commit goaltending during a free throw, except by doing it on purpose (and in HS, by committing a lane violation first), which is considered unsportsmanlike. Hope that helps. Last edited by Scrapper1; Mon Mar 17, 2008 at 09:33am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Scrappy knew that. Others might not. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
The funny thing is if the player for Kentucky waited a split second longer for the ball to be above the cylinder then Gillispie's plan would have worked.
Or probably the best way for this play to work in the future for teams is to go stand under the basket and hold the net. This would be basket interference the instant that the ball hits the ring or enters the cylinder. And you don't have to worry about timing the block above the cylinder. If coaches are planing on doing this they should inform one of the officials of their plan so that they can confirm the penalty. In some games you might not have officials that know this rule. ![]() I'm thinking that the first player might have been purposely entering the lane so that if the free throw is missed or the other player doesn't goal tend it then the UGA player would have to shot again. The same situation that happened a couple of weeks ago. Maybe this will teach coaches to read the rule book before trying any crazy plays. ![]() Also did anyone notice that in the you tube video someone on the UGA bench starts forming the T sign with his hands before the officials call a technical. One of the announcers even says "That's a technical" before the officials signal a technical foul. I don't know if they were tipped off by something the officials did or if they knew the rule. (Probably the former ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
What about the situation that happened during the VT/UNC game. Spot throw-in on the sideline. Inbounder throws a lob that is caught & dunked. Looking at the replay, it looks as though the ball is in the cylinder when the player touches it & dunks. Is this legal or is this basket interference? I think it is legal as there is no shot attempt by the inbounder. Thoughts...? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I would think a live ball vs. dead ball situation would cause this to be different than say a ball that was in play. Bob, don't get me wrong...I'm not saying I don't agree with you...I'm just looking for a little more clarification in case this happens in one of my games. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|