The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 01, 2002, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally posted by Rev.Ref63
This happened in a first round sub-state game. The lead official gives a very short blast on his whistle. It was obvious to me that it was inadvertent. IMO he anticipated a foul that did not occur. 'A' team scored the basket, B1 gets the ball to toss it to the lead official who just shakes his head "no" and points to put the ball into play.

Does an inadvertent whistle merit a dead ball situation? Or since team 'B' was taking the ball out of bounds anyway, was this a correct call?
When did the whistle happen?

If it was while the ball was still in A1's hand(s), then (by rule) the ball became dead on the whistle. No basket and give the ball back to A.

If it was after the ball left A1's hands, then count the basket and give the ball to B (whether the whistle came before or after the basket).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1