![]() |
A Few Questions From a Rookie
First post - a little about myself:
I started officiating junior high this year after seven years of coaching - I had filled in from time to time over the years, but had never reffed seriously until now. After my coaching season was over this year (in December), found out I really missed basketball and took a liking to the other side of the ball. Plus, there's a serious shortage here so it was really easy to pick up some games. I did my last games last weekend, and ended up with about 16 under my belt when it was all said and done. I also umpire baseball in the summer. Question #1 - Ball inbounded in frontcourt, touches offensive players hand in frontcourt (no control), then rolls into backcourt. Player picks it up and I called over and back. My partner said it was an incorrect call because he never established control. Question #2 - What exactly is the ruling when the ball hits the top of the backboard on a shot? I always have thought it was still in play as long as it doesn't go behind the backboard, but have seen it called differently at different times. Question #3 - Inbounds situation. Defender touches the ball before it leaves the inbounder's hands. Never actually had this happen this season - just wondering. I've heard that it should result in a T? Is this correct? Thanks - |
#1. Your partner was correct.
#2. You are correct. The top of the board is not out of bounds. If it goes over, it is OOB. If it hits a support, it's OOB. #3. Depends on where the ball is in relation to the OOB plane when the defender touches it. If the defender reaches across the plane and touches the ball, it's a T. If the thrower reaches the ball across the plane and the defender touches it, it's nothing. |
Speaking of backboards, do you know why backboards were originally put up for games (trivia question)?
|
Congrats on joining the ranks. You're needed. Now, go get your rules book and look up the answers to all of these and more! I'll be glad to give you the quick answers, but they are all pretty basic and I'd encourage you to really study.
#1 - your partner was correct. You need to learn what is required in order for a backcourt violation to be called. Look at both 4-4, which is the rule regarding ball location, and 9-9, which is the rule regarding the backcourt violation. #2 - The top of the backboard is inbounds. Read 7-1-2. #3 - Depends. I say that because it depends on whether the ball is outside or inside the vertical plane of the boundary line when touched. If outside the boundary, a technical foul. If inside, legal. Rules 7-6, 9-2 and 10-3-11. Good luck, and read a lot of this board. It has helped me tremendously. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Because the spectators up top on the tracks in the YMCA's watching the game were leaning over and knocking shots away......also known as "fan goaltending". |
Quote:
Probably still should have it with some of the fans today....... |
Quote:
http://www.allfunpix.com/humor/pics/wyomingdate.jpg Welcome to the Forum. Don't let it bother you that we don't want to shake hands. |
I had "over 4 hours" in the pool in how long before the "Date Night" picture would be posted.
I lost. :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
What are the odds keyzersoze is ever comin' back?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
About time to <b>ram</b> this thread where the sun don't shine.
|
Ewe guys are all wrong.....
My bike is a LOT bigger than that! And I just moved here. From South Dakota - where you NEVER hear sheep sex jokes.:D |
Quote:
http://www1.istockphoto.com/file_thu...the_hammer.jpg But you have an advantage over everyone else because you were there. :D |
I Only Have Eyes For ...
Quote:
|
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.
During a throwin or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations. The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures. The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38am. |