The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2002, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 53
There was an NFHS exam question (Part II) that dealt with this situation. Live ball - Dead ball - question 63 (true or false), the ball becomes dead if A1 has started a try for goal, but B1 pushes A2 before the ball is in flight.

The answer is false, rule 6-7-7 exp 3. (agree with devdog69)

Section 7 - dead ball
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead when:
Art. 7 a foul occurs (see exception below)
#3 a foul is committed by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for goal (isin the act of shooting) before the foul occured, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight. The trying motion must be continuous and begins after the ball comes to rest in the player's hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a tap, and is completed when the ball is clearly in flight. The trying motion may include arm, foot or body movements used by the player when throwing the ball at his/her basket.


After re-reading the original thread, the foul would be on B1 with A2 shooting the free throws, if in the bonus. I would have to see it and determine if it was intentional or a common foul.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1