![]() |
|
|
|||
rebound tap for goal
NFHS
Situation - shot A1 - shot missed - rebound tap by A2 - A2 fouls B2 If the tap is made shall it count? In NFHS does it matter the sequence? Last edited by eyezen; Fri Feb 29, 2008 at 03:14pm. |
|
|||
![]() A1 pulls up for a jumper from free throw line extended on the left side, shot is bricked with a long rebound towards the right side, A2 who is on the weakside on the right just inside the three point line takes two steps leaps and up high in the air from outside the paint taps the ball off the glass and in, meanwhile height challenged B2 is standing about at the block facing the basket watching the ball go over his head. A2 comes down on B2. The lead on the play calls a foul on A2. NFHS Should the basket count? |
|
|||
![]()
NF 4-41.6 "A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal..."
NF 4-41.7 "The tap starts when the player's hand(s) touches the ball." Since a tap is the same as a try, ask yourself this to answer your question: would you disallow the points if it was a try and an airborne shooter came down on a player who had established position prior to the player leaving the floor? Since you said "A2 fouls B2", we have to assume B2 had position.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Based on description:
NFHS (and NCAA-W): Player Control foul; no basket; Team B throw-in from designated spot on baseline. NCAA-M: count the basket; common foul; penalize as follows--Team B throw-in (TF 1-6), B2 shoots 1+1 (TF 7-9); B2 shoots 2 free throws (TF 10+) My question for NCAA-M: Would throw-in be anywhere along baseline or a designated spot throw-in?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Mark:
That was the path I was thinking. I know the NCAA rule but I wasn't for sure in FED. Wouldn't you need to satisfy player control also? Does a tap for goal when no prior player/team control exists satisfy that? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
You can have a PC foul by an airborne shooter even though the shooter does not have PC. |
|
|||
Quote:
A1 tries for goal, but the shot is no good. A2 leaps straight up in an attempt to rebound or tap it in. He is fouled on the way up, but succeeds in tapping it in. The contact occurs before he makes contact with the ball. Since a tap does not start until A2 makes contact with the ball, I said this should be a common foul. My partner says "it's a shooting foul, basket is good, A2 will shoot one free throw." Actually, what really happened was more complex/dumb, but this is the gist of it.
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead! |
|
|||
Quote:
Ask your partner if a player was fouled before he caught a pass, then caught the pass and shot, if he'd call that a shooting foul too. There ain't no difference, rules wise. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rebound action | tomegun | Basketball | 8 | Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:49pm |
Shooter gets own rebound | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 08:14pm |
Team Rebound | tjksail | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 05, 2005 12:45pm |
OOB Rebound | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 10 | Sun Apr 04, 2004 09:08am |
Goal or No Goal - UConn Game | GA ref | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 09:19am |