The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey
Nevada,

Well, we want to be fair to both teams, don't we? If B1 had caught A2's toss, he would have just stood there and let time run out. Instead, he threw his hands wide and let the ball just lie there. All of this play was under 5 seconds. My real question is would have called a tech or just let clock run out.

An additional question is what would have said to the evaluator?
B1 is under no obligation to catch the ball. As long as the administering official is counting, then I have no problem with what took place. The ball is certainly at the disposal of a player from the throwing team. A2 ensured that. I also have no issue with the action of A2. He was NOT delaying the throw-in, rather he was attempting to speed it up.
Sounds like this was a good play by both players.

I would tell the evaluator that the count was started as soon as the ball was at the disposal and that the clock ran out before a 5-second violation occurred. I would NOT stop the clock to retrieve the ball. That would provide the defending team an unfair advantage. If the throwing team didn't wish to go get it, that's fine, but I would darn sure be counting and would definitely penalize them IF the violation occurred prior to time expiring.

Sounds like you did well to me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
B1 is under no obligation to catch the ball. As long as the administering official is counting, then I have no problem with what took place. The ball is certainly at the disposal of a player from the throwing team. A2 ensured that.
What if B1 was standing at the FT line? do you then consider him to have the ball at his disposal for the throw-in?

I don't.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
What if B1 was standing at the FT line? do you then consider him to have the ball at his disposal for the throw-in?

I don't.
Did I say that I did, Dan? So stop adding little twists to the plays and then providing your sanctimonious answers to questions which no one asked.

The NFHS gave us quality guidance on this in a recent Interp. That's what I follow.

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 08:10am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So stop adding little twists to the plays and then providing your sanctimonious answers to questions which no one asked.
Hmmmmmm...this should be interesting.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Did I say that I did, Dan? So stop adding little twists to the plays and then providing your sanctimonious answers to questions which no one asked.
Are you so uncomfortable with your rules knowledge that you can't handle "little twists" on plays without going Hillary on us?

Someone check Nevada's diaper, he's a little pissy today.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:24am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Are you so uncomfortable with your rules knowledge that you can't handle "little twists" on plays without going Hillary on us?

Someone check Nevada's diaper, he's a little pissy today.
Hmmmmmm.......barely adequate, if that, imo.

Personally, I'd have told him that I'd rip off his head and then crap down his neck.

But that's just me.......
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
He better watch it or I'll pull out his last remaining hair. Yes, the very last one.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
He better watch it or I'll pull out his last remaining hair. Yes, the very last one.
Pull this.

(that any better JR?)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Hmmmmmm.......barely adequate, if that, imo.

Personally, I'd have told him that I'd rip off his head and then crap down his neck.

But that's just me.......
Don't bother me now, I'm trying to prove that 54-23 does not equal 20 regardless of where the calculation is made.

I need it for a paper I'm presenting at MIT in a couple of weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:55am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Don't bother me now, I'm trying to prove that 54-23 does not equal 20 regardless of where the calculation is made.

I need it for a paper I'm presenting at MIT in a couple of weeks.
For all of the Ph.D's that are short a case of diet coke?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Don't bother me now, I'm trying to prove that 54-23 does not equal 20 regardless of where the calculation is made.

I need it for a paper I'm presenting at MIT in a couple of weeks.
Try it in base 1.876. I think that might work out...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The reason that the NCAA adopted the clock stopping rule is precisely because officials such as yourself were failing to properly begin the 5 second count and teams were abusing the situation. Why are you giving the inbounding team an extra 1-2+ seconds to organize for the throw-in. The rule says to start the count when the ball is available to any member of the throwing team. If the ball is on the floor directly under the basket, then that requirement has been met.
Huh? The interp makes it very clear that even though the ball is available to the throwing team immediately after the made basket, it is not at their disposal even after B1 has "secure[d] the ball and [is] heading to the end line." Otherwise the time out would not be allowed.

So if, by official interpretation, the ball isn't at B's disposal even after B1 has "secure[d] the ball and [is] heading to the end line," why would the official have a count? This interp contradicts the point you seem to be making. Ergo, "if the ball is on the floor directly under the basket," the requirement has not, in fact, been met.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
I saw a similar play Fri. in HS Tourney game

Team A was out of time outs and made a basket with 5.2 seconds left to trail by 2 points. A player on team A hit the ball when it went thru the basket it went high in the air and hit off the back wall. One of the refs blew his whistle and stopped play with 2.2 seconds left(the game is basically over because team B doesn't even have to throw the ball in play as time is going to run out) ( I think a delay of game technical should of been called or just let the clock run out) Now the fun begins because when team B throws the ball in play after the clock was stopped and threw it away on the sideline with no one touching the ball. Now team A gets the ball under their own basket with 2.2 seconds to go with a chance to tie or win the game. Team A throws the ball in and gets off a 3 point shot that misses and Team B escapes. If that 3 point shot had of went in I bet World War 3 would of started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1