![]() |
This is a substitute technical.
Quote:
No indirect on the coach, but counts toward team fouls and player fouls. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
And no, nobody abuses this, it happens once in a while. I'd rather err in this direction than potentially miss one that has gotten to the X. |
This is something I include in the pregame conference every night:
"Coaches, to get in the game, your subs must report to the X. We will work with you if we see your player on his way, but even if you obviously have our attention, he must still touch the X and wait to be beckoned. The horn is not a green light." Having said all this, this is a call that many officials here simply will not make. I have seen some do everything but tackle the player at the free throw line and drag him back to the X. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Most of the time, the coach doesn't care anyway, or he realizes as he's sending the sub that it'll probably have to wait. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
"I told him to come in." "You need to make him report to me first." It was early in my officiating career, so I just walked away. Now, I would make sure the scorer knew, in no uncertain terms, what the rule says. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
This was back before the "X" was required, and I considered a player to have reported if he went near the scorers I could see they were aware of his entry.
And this particular player had made it to the table, I just waved him in before he had a chance to say anything to the table. You're right, I circumvented the "giving his/her number" portion of the rule. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30am. |