The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free throw thrown off backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4203-free-throw-thrown-off-backboard.html)

latterdaysaint Sun Feb 24, 2002 12:02am

If a player A1 is shooting two freethrows and after making the first shot, throws the ball hard off the backboard with the rebound glancing off the front of the rim. Is this a playable ball or should the ref blow the whistle? I have seen this situation twice and called different both times.

Mark Dexter Sun Feb 24, 2002 12:23am

Blow the whistle - it's the first of two shots, so there can be no rebound.

latterdaysaint Sun Feb 24, 2002 12:37am

misunderstood
 
Mark,

I think you miss understood. I stated after the making the first shot, A1 throws the ball hard off the backboard.

If a player A1 is shooting two freethrows and after making the first shot, throws the ball hard off the backboard with the rebound glancing off the front of the rim. Is this a playable ball or should the ref blow the whistle? I have seen this situation twice and called different both times.

Mark Dexter Sun Feb 24, 2002 01:05am

Re: misunderstood
 
Quote:

Originally posted by latterdaysaint
Mark,

I think you miss understood. I stated after the making the first shot, A1 throws the ball hard off the backboard.

If a player A1 is shooting two freethrows and after making the first shot, throws the ball hard off the backboard with the rebound glancing off the front of the rim. Is this a playable ball or should the ref blow the whistle? I have seen this situation twice and called different both times.

Oops - never claimed I could read!

In this case the ball is playable - as long as the ball hits the rim, it's a legal free throw.

latterdaysaint Sun Feb 24, 2002 01:09am

Thanks!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 24, 2002 11:21am

Re: Re: misunderstood
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by latterdaysaint
Mark,

I think you miss understood. I stated after the making the first shot, A1 throws the ball hard off the backboard.

If a player A1 is shooting two freethrows and after making the first shot, throws the ball hard off the backboard with the rebound glancing off the front of the rim. Is this a playable ball or should the ref blow the whistle? I have seen this situation twice and called different both times.

Oops - never claimed I could read!

In this case the ball is playable - as long as the ball hits the rim, it's a legal free throw.


Geez, Mark, I thought you missed the play because you were blind in one eye and could not see out of the other eye like the rest of us sports officials.

dblref Sun Feb 24, 2002 08:07pm

Re: Re: misunderstood
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by latterdaysaint
Mark,

I think you miss understood. I stated after the making the first shot, A1 throws the ball hard off the backboard.

If a player A1 is shooting two freethrows and after making the first shot, throws the ball hard off the backboard with the rebound glancing off the front of the rim. Is this a playable ball or should the ref blow the whistle? I have seen this situation twice and called different both times.

Oops - never claimed I could read!

In this case the ball is playable - as long as the ball hits the rim, it's a legal free throw.

Wait a minute! Thought the ball had to hit the rim first and then could hit the backboard. In this situation, the ball hit the backboard and then the rim. Don't have my rule book with me, but I seem to recall it had to hit the rim first.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 24, 2002 09:17pm

Re: Re: Re: misunderstood
 
Quote:

Originally posted by dblref
Wait a minute! Thought the ball had to hit the rim first and then could hit the backboard. In this situation, the ball hit the backboard and then the rim. Don't have my rule book with me, but I seem to recall it had to hit the rim first.
If that were true, a bank shot wouldn't be possible.
The ball has to hit the rim before the FT ends.

Mark Dexter Sun Feb 24, 2002 09:34pm

Re: Re: Re: misunderstood
 
Quote:

Originally posted by dblref

Wait a minute! Thought the ball had to hit the rim first and then could hit the backboard. In this situation, the ball hit the backboard and then the rim. Don't have my rule book with me, but I seem to recall it had to hit the rim first.

No - the only requirement is to touch rim at some point in the FT. The difference with backboard comes from the fact that players on the lane can move when the ball hits the backboard or rim, but the shooter and outside players must wait for the ball to hit the rim.

Slider Sun Feb 24, 2002 10:02pm

Re: Re: Re: Re: misunderstood
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
No - the only requirement is to touch rim at some point in the FT. The difference with backboard comes from the fact that players on the lane can move when the ball hits the backboard or rim, but the shooter and outside players must wait for the ball to hit the rim. [/B]
I believe the restrictions end for all players when the ball hits either the backboard or the rim, 9-1-9 Note.

dblref Mon Feb 25, 2002 09:29am

Re: Re: Re: Re: misunderstood
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by dblref
Wait a minute! Thought the ball had to hit the rim first and then could hit the backboard. In this situation, the ball hit the backboard and then the rim. Don't have my rule book with me, but I seem to recall it had to hit the rim first.
If that were true, a bank shot wouldn't be possible.
The ball has to hit the rim before the FT ends.

Was only thinking "free-throw" here, rather than a "regular" shot. I always thought it had to hit the rim first -- guess I was wrong. I know if you miss the rim/net/whatever on the first of a 1 and 1, you don't get the second free throw. Is there really anything that says it can hit the backboard first? Just curious because this is all I could find:

Rule 4, Section 20, Art. 3 says...The freethrow ends when the try is successful, when it is certain the try will not be successful, when the try touches the floor or any player, or when the ball becomes dead.

Rule 5, Section 2, Art. 2 says...A goal from a free throw counts one point for the free-thrower's team and is credited to the free thrower.


Lotto Mon Feb 25, 2002 09:50am

Don't gotta hit the rim first...don't gotta hit the rim at all!
 
...if the FT goes in. :D

Rule 9, Section 1
Art. 2. After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower:
a . The free-thrower shall release the try within 10 seconds and in such a way that the ball enters the basket or touches the ring or flange before the free throw ends.

dblref Mon Feb 25, 2002 12:52pm

Re: Don't gotta hit the rim first...don't gotta hit the rim at all!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
...if the FT goes in. :D

Rule 9, Section 1
Art. 2. After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower:
a . The free-thrower shall release the try within 10 seconds and in such a way that the ball enters the basket or touches the ring or flange before the free throw ends.

Good point about going in! However, and this is probably nit-picking, what if the ball does not go in or touch the ring or flange before the FT ends. In other words, what if it touches the backboard and DOES NOT (can't get the bold to work) touch the ring or flange? Is Art. 2a saying the ball MUST go in or touch the ring or flange? Am I making sense?

bob jenkins Mon Feb 25, 2002 01:30pm

Re: Re: Don't gotta hit the rim first...don't gotta hit the rim at all!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by dblref
Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
...if the FT goes in. :D

Rule 9, Section 1
Art. 2. After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower:
a . The free-thrower shall release the try within 10 seconds and in such a way that the ball enters the basket or touches the ring or flange before the free throw ends.

Good point about going in! However, and this is probably nit-picking, what if the ball does not go in or touch the ring or flange before the FT ends. In other words, what if it touches the backboard and DOES NOT (can't get the bold to work) touch the ring or flange? Is Art. 2a saying the ball MUST go in or touch the ring or flange? Am I making sense?

If the ball does not (go in or hit the rim) before the FT ends, it's a violation. THis is most often seen when A tries to miss near the end of the game but throws the ball too hard off the backboard -- in fact it's this situation that the rule was designed to address.

Lotto Mon Feb 25, 2002 07:39pm

Re: Re: Re: Don't gotta hit the rim first...don't gotta hit the rim at all!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
If the ball does not (go in or hit the rim) before the FT ends, it's a violation. THis is most often seen when A tries to miss near the end of the game but throws the ball too hard off the backboard -- in fact it's this situation that the rule was designed to address. [/B]
Having done many JV and below games this year, I can tell you that this is not the only time that one sees this violation...

Kelvin green Tue Feb 26, 2002 01:54pm

dblref, Dont take this wrong ..but stop trying to read so much into the rules. I know guys around here who try and read too much into the rule and well it gives them heart pains...

You have to score or ball has to hit metal before FT ends (and you quoted what constitues when a FT ends) otherwise it is a violation. Take all the extraneous what-ifs out.

dblref Tue Feb 26, 2002 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Kelvin green
dblref, Dont take this wrong ..but stop trying to read so much into the rules. I know guys around here who try and read too much into the rule and well it gives them heart pains...

You have to score or ball has to hit metal before FT ends (and you quoted what constitues when a FT ends) otherwise it is a violation. Take all the extraneous what-ifs out.

Agree 100%. Went back an re-read some of the thread and decided I had 1 too many cups of coffee that day. Actually, I have been married 34 years and I was trying to following Clinton's excuse of: define "it". :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1