The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42005-traveling.html)

Bearfanmike20 Mon Feb 18, 2008 02:04pm

Traveling...
 
Player has the ball.. is dribbling... falls down and traps ball on the floor with right hand. He fell on his knees and his left hand and has the ball trapped with his right.

He picks up the ball and tosses it to a team mate without leaving his knees.

He didn't roll, or scoot or anything.. just fell right down in the middle of a dribble.

I didn't call travel.. should I have??

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 18, 2008 02:11pm

No.

He ended the dribble when he trapped the ball. He passed the ball without traveling. Legal play.

MOFFICIAL Mon Feb 18, 2008 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Player has the ball.. is dribbling... falls down and traps ball on the floor with right hand. He fell on his knees and his left hand and has the ball trapped with his right.

He picks up the ball and tosses it to a team mate without leaving his knees.

He didn't roll, or scoot or anything.. just fell right down in the middle of a dribble.

I didn't call travel.. should I have??

I think case play 4.44.5 Situation C a is your play. Legal action.
:)

Coltdoggs Mon Feb 18, 2008 03:30pm

Me and my guys in my kids rec league were debating this just this past Saturday...

One guy was on his high horse about any part of the body other than a hand or foot hitting the floor was a travel. I advised him that if the dribble was maintained during the "hitting of the floor with other body parts" it was legal....He tried to tell me it was travel...I told him to look it up in the rule AND case book....we agreed that holding the ball and going to the floor was a travel but not while maintaining the dribble. He later came over to my court between games and said I was correct. :)

Sounds as if your play is legal as well (of course somebody posted case play)...

Bearfanmike20 Mon Feb 18, 2008 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No.

He ended the dribble when he trapped the ball. He passed the ball without traveling. Legal play.


That is what I thought. Thanks. ;)

BillyMac Mon Feb 18, 2008 07:13pm

What Drug Made The Horse High ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
One guy was on his high horse about any part of the body other than a hand or foot hitting the floor was a travel. I advised him that if the dribble was maintained during the "hitting of the floor with other body parts" it was legal....He tried to tell me it was travel...I told him to look it up in the rule AND case book....we agreed that holding the ball and going to the floor was a travel but not while maintaining the dribble..

Good post. New officials, please take note.

BktBallRef Mon Feb 18, 2008 09:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
Me and my guys in my kids rec league were debating this just this past Saturday...

One guy was on his high horse about any part of the body other than a hand or foot hitting the floor was a travel. I advised him that if the dribble was maintained during the "hitting of the floor with other body parts" it was legal....He tried to tell me it was travel...I told him to look it up in the rule AND case book....we agreed that holding the ball and going to the floor was a travel but not while maintaining the dribble. He later came over to my court between games and said I was correct. :)

Sounds as if your play is legal as well (of course somebody posted case play)...

You might have your group read the Basketball Rule Fundamentals in the back of the Rules book.

ca_rumperee Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:00pm

right.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
Good post. New officials, please take note.

you can't travel while dribbling

i've been surprised by a couple of kids this year who have initiated a dribble out of a scrum. they're rolling, lifting, touching, passing. whatever. if you can keep or initiate the dribble, more power to you.

TheOracle Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
Player has the ball.. is dribbling... falls down and traps ball on the floor with right hand. He fell on his knees and his left hand and has the ball trapped with his right.

He picks up the ball and tosses it to a team mate without leaving his knees.

He didn't roll, or scoot or anything.. just fell right down in the middle of a dribble.

I didn't call travel.. should I have??

The most difficult call in this game is traveling. We get this wrong more than any other call we have to make. For all the talk on here about not regretting T's, a great rule of thumb is that if there is any doubt about a travel, don't call it. One of the bigger mistakes we make is calling the non-existant travel. The more you can avoid that, you'll be a much better official. :)

Mark Padgett Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheOracle
We get this wrong more than any other call we have to make.

Maybe you do. I doubt you speak for the rest of us. For instance, the call I have the most trouble with is, .....is.....er....... huh - I don't have trouble with any calls. OK, maybe the false multiple team control double technical foul during a live ball by players jumping from back court to front court while taunting following a third successive timeout by a visiting team who's in the double bonus in the second half. Go figure.

Back In The Saddle Tue Feb 19, 2008 12:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Maybe you do. I doubt you speak for the rest of us. For instance, the call I have the most trouble with is, .....is.....er....... huh - I don't have trouble with any calls. OK, maybe the false multiple team control double technical foul during a live ball by players jumping from back court to front court while taunting following a third successive timeout by a visiting team who's in the double bonus in the second half. Go figure.

I have heard from very highly placed sources on both the NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules committee that they're all working tirelessly on standardizing the rules for this play. He wouldn't send me the actual text of the new rule, but he did say that the penalty would be 15 yards (meters in FIBA), divided by the number of consecutive time outs, penalized from the blue line. The jumpers all receive yellow cards.

I think this is a great move forward for the game. It certainly beats the heck out of the current rule (which, as you well know, involves the head cheerleaders from each team arm wrestling), or the older rule which involved the two team's home countries going to war.

Mark Padgett Tue Feb 19, 2008 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
He wouldn't send me the actual text of the new rule, but he did say that the penalty would be 15 yards (meters in FIBA), divided by the number of consecutive time outs, penalized from the blue line. The jumpers all receive yellow cards.


WHAT!!!! The runners wouldn't have to return to their bases!!! :eek: And no provision based on which chukker this is?

That's not much of a penalty. :(

crazy voyager Tue Feb 19, 2008 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
I have heard from very highly placed sources on both the NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules committee that they're all working tirelessly on standardizing the rules for this play. He wouldn't send me the actual text of the new rule, but he did say that the penalty would be 15 yards (meters in FIBA), divided by the number of consecutive time outs, penalized from the blue line. The jumpers all receive yellow cards.

I think this is a great move forward for the game. It certainly beats the heck out of the current rule (which, as you well know, involves the head cheerleaders from each team arm wrestling), or the older rule which involved the two team's home countries going to war.

No no no
The fiba rule is
THe nr of meters left to the 3 point line divided with the number of three pointers made in the first qtr and that a freekick would then be awarded from the POI. If the violation occurs within the 3-second area then a penalty kick would be given (this also means that if no goalkeeper is present a field-player may goalkeep during the kick).

Could somebody give a rule refrence to why the dribble ends when the ball gets trapped between hand and floor.
"24.1.1 A dribble starts when a player, having gained control of a live ball on the playing court, throws, taps, rolls or dribbles it on the floor and touches it again before it touches another player.
A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.
During a dribble the ball may be thrown into the air provided the ball touches the floor or another player before the player who threw it touches it again with his hand.
There is no limit to the number of steps a player may take when the ball is not in contact with his hand."

The question is, is trapping the ball between floor and hand considered to have it resting in your hand?
I can't find anything in the FIBA interpetations regarding this

Forksref Tue Feb 19, 2008 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
Could somebody give a rule refrence to why the dribble ends when the ball gets trapped between hand and floor.

"A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands."

The question is, is trapping the ball between floor and hand considered to have it resting in your hand?

I would say that the ball has come to rest in the hand that is trapping it. "Rest" would mean that it has stopped moving.

Bearfanmike20 Tue Feb 19, 2008 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
No no no
The fiba rule is
THe nr of meters left to the 3 point line divided with the number of three pointers made in the first qtr and that a freekick would then be awarded from the POI. If the violation occurs within the 3-second area then a penalty kick would be given (this also means that if no goalkeeper is present a field-player may goalkeep during the kick).

Could somebody give a rule refrence to why the dribble ends when the ball gets trapped between hand and floor.
"24.1.1 A dribble starts when a player, having gained control of a live ball on the playing court, throws, taps, rolls or dribbles it on the floor and touches it again before it touches another player.
A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.
During a dribble the ball may be thrown into the air provided the ball touches the floor or another player before the player who threw it touches it again with his hand.
There is no limit to the number of steps a player may take when the ball is not in contact with his hand."

The question is, is trapping the ball between floor and hand considered to have it resting in your hand?
I can't find anything in the FIBA interpetations regarding this


Guys.. I got this one..

Rule 27 art 4 revision 7 juntion 2 note 4 version 3.4 line 10.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1