The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Disconcertion or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41936-disconcertion-not.html)

IREFU2 Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:32pm

Point taken.......thanks everyone......

Raymond Fri Feb 15, 2008 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Red_Killian
Suppose the kid was a rule book junkie and he knew he was within the rules to stand behind the shooter and refused to move. What would be your course of action then?

As stated in my earlier response, I would have not told the player he had to move. But seeing as I am very familiar with the environment in which IREFU2 was officiating this game I can understand why he did what he did.

It may have been the wrong decision but it was for the right reasons.

robertclasalle Fri Feb 15, 2008 05:01pm

I had the same thing once and t'd him
 
The difference is I did hear what he said, something like, "you know you can't make that shot." Tech foul, unsporting conduct, taunting.

BktBallRef Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
As stated in my earlier response, I would have not told the player he had to move. But seeing as I am very familiar with the environment in which IREFU2 was officiating this game I can understand why he did what he did.

It may have been the wrong decision but it was for the right reasons.

Two questions.

What are the right reasons?

What do you do if he doesn't move?

BoomerSooner Sat Feb 16, 2008 04:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Red_Killian
Suppose the kid was a rule book junkie and he knew he was within the rules to stand behind the shooter and refused to move. What would be your course of action then?

Call a Technical foul on the player. :eek: Even though the officials directive to move was not founded by rule, the player should still follow the official's instruction. Failure to obey an official's instruction can be construed as unsportsmanlike conduct and thus worthy of a T. I know this ruling will probably not be met with alot of support, but I've seen it upheld.

The following example happened to a buddy of mine. During a 1-1 situation, he thought they were shooting two and as such he told A6 that he had to wait until after the first shot. A6 then turned to his coach who told him to go ahead and sub in. This was met with a T from my friend. Team A ended up losing by 1 point (B made both of the technical FT's). Although the FT's were in the 2nd quarter, Coach A made stink about how that cost his team the game. He took his case to the OSSAA and they informed him that while the official had made a mistake in not allowing the substitution, the resulting T was still correct as the player had not been properly beckoned onto the court. As such the comparison can be made to this situation that while the official was wrong, so was the player for disobeying the order to move.

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 16, 2008 06:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
Call a Technical foul on the player. :eek: Even though the officials directive to move was not founded by rule, the player should still follow the official's instruction. Failure to obey an official's instruction can be construed as unsportsmanlike conduct and thus worthy of a T. I know this ruling will probably not be met with a lot of support, but I've seen it upheld.

Whoever upheld it hasn't got a clue when it comes to the rules.

You're advocating calling a technical foul on a player for doing something that is perfectly <b>legal</b> by rule? What's wrong with that picture?

Good luck with that.....:)

Terrible advice imo.

BktBallRef Sat Feb 16, 2008 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
The following example happened to a buddy of mine. During a 1-1 situation, he thought they were shooting two and as such he told A6 that he had to wait until after the first shot. A6 then turned to his coach who told him to go ahead and sub in. This was met with a T from my friend. Team A ended up losing by 1 point (B made both of the technical FT's). Although the FT's were in the 2nd quarter, Coach A made stink about how that cost his team the game. He took his case to the OSSAA and they informed him that while the official had made a mistake in not allowing the substitution, the resulting T was still correct as the player had not been properly beckoned onto the court. As such the comparison can be made to this situation that while the official was wrong, so was the player for disobeying the order to move.

A player can't enter unless beckoned. It's a T to do so. It has nothing to do with the official's mistake. That's why the OSSAA backed the official, not because he told the player to do something that was legal to do. But according to you, it's a T because he did something unsporting. Simply not true.

BoomerSooner Sat Feb 16, 2008 06:10pm

I'm not suggesting this is the route that I would take by any means. I'm just making the point that in essense the ruling was that even though the official is in error, a resulting call that is correct (such as a the T) is upheld. I'm humble enough to realize that I'm going to make a mistake or two on the court, and when I do I still have to enforce the rest of the rules as required. If an official is in error about a rule the players don't get the authority to just defy an official even if what they are doing is legal.

Like I said, I'm not going to get into this situation because I wouldn't be moving the player in the OP, but an incorrect ruling doesn't suspend an officials authority.

Raymond Sat Feb 16, 2008 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Two questions.

What are the right reasons?

What do you do if he doesn't move?

He was legitmately concerned that the player was saying something that would instigate a fight.

As I said, I would not have told the player to move. I would have given a very stern reminder about disconcertion prior to the 2nd free throw.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1