Jurassic Referee |
Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:37am |
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog5142
Would this be a situation where you would hit the whistle and administer the baseline throw-in? If Team A didn't mean to hit it (bounced off a head, for instance), the game was close and time was running off...could you stop the clock for an official's time out and then administer? <font color = red>I know that if the net gets stuck on the rim...we sound our whistle, fix the problem and then administer.</font> I don't know that there's a rule reference here...but would it be good game management?
|
Yes, there is a rule that will allow you to stop the game in a situation like this. NFHS rule 5-8-2(c) says we can stop play if there's a unusual delay in getting a dead ball live. That works in this situation if you want to go that route.
Note though that there is <b>NO</b> rule authorizing you to stop the game for a net hung-up on a ring. It's not covered in the rules. Some people do. Some don't. Personally, I don't. If nobody on the floor grabs it, I'll wait for a break in play.
|