![]() |
Inadvertent Whistle Question
I had my first inadvertent whistle Tuesday. For some unknown reason my whistle blew as a FT was being rebounded. It was the strangest thing--I had no mental intention to blow it, it just sounded. Wierd. Anyway, the defense had clear posession so we awarded it OB to them, no problem.
But that raises a question I've had about inadvertent whistles. Is that type of situation the only time it's acceptable? For example, I'm sure most of us have jumped a call or anticipated something and then looked for a hole in the floor to crawl into. Anyone ever hose a foul or violation call and know it immediately, then use the inadvertent whistle to bail on it? I've jumped calls down low where I was anticipating (the wrong way) and wanted to rewind the game 10-seconds for a do-over. But my guess is if I raise a hand or fist it's not a good thing to then call it inadvertent; better to take the heat and admit a mistake. Yes? Just looking for some insight on when an inadvertent is permissible. |
You either admit the mistake and go with inadvertent whistle, or you enforce whatever you call in which case you're not admitting a mistake - you could later admit you may have kicked it.
If you whistle for an illegal dribble, for example, and then determine you shouldn't have, then just take the blame right then and go with IW. If it's a close judgement call with a quick whistle on a foul or a violation that isn't 100% clear to you - you're probably better to make the call, get the ball back in play, and get on with it. Later, if the coach questions you, explain what you saw and say, "Coach, you may be right and I may have blown that one." You can use that one very rarely and you're usually okay. If you realize you've made a mistake and are certain you shouldn't have blown the whistle, it's always appropriate to go IW. Kick yourself in the shorts mentally and then get back to officiating the game. And don't let it happen again. Ever. :D |
Quote:
If I jump a foul inside and know immediately it was a good block and use IW, isn't that gonna get me more grief from a coach than if I later have to admit I may have hosed the call? And do I want to ask what do you do if I IW on a shot and the shot goes in? |
A foul call is a judgement call and should be handled as I said above w/ judgement calls. We've all blown a quick whistle we want back, but in a situation like you've just said usually you should go ahead and report the foul. It'd have to be a crazy-obvious clean block to not go ahead and report, IMO. You can then deal with the coach if he questions the call in the way described.
If you have an IW during a try and the try is successful, then POI is the made basket and you give the other team the ball on the endline. |
Never accidently blown my whistle yet, however, on 3 or 4 occasions this year I have had my fist halfway up and pulled back. I working on fixing it.
|
Quote:
If the ball has left A's hands and the basket is good, count it and give the ball to B for a throw in anywhere along the endline. If the ball has left A's hands and the try is not successful, go to the arrow (at the spot nearest the location from where the try was attempted). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I've done this a few times, and one time had a coach ask "What were you raising your arm for back there"? I just smiled and gave him the "give me a break" look. (It was a good natured jab). |
I've done this twice and thankfully it was years ago. Both times were due to working in gyms that had lines on the court for every conceivable game that might be played on the hardwood -- basketball, volleyball, soccer, jai alai, whatever!
One was a backcourt violation, which I then quickly realized it was not the backcourt line, but one about 2-3 feet from that. I corrected my mistake, gave the ball back to the team in possession, and moved on. Second was an OOB that wasn't -- the lines for the basketball court were a light grey (which is about the most horrendous color you could pick) and not very visible... Played stepped on the line at the baseline and I blew my whistle, then realized it wasn't the OOB line. Corrected and moved on. (This court was SO confusing that players would often run out of bounds while bringing the ball upcourt!!) |
Quote:
|
unfortunately
Quote:
|
Quote:
Just get the ball back in & life goes on. btw...I really like this from the OP Quote:
|
hey it happened to me the other night. kid was dribbling then did an obvious palming/cross over and I blow my whistle. Sure enough the kid picks up his dribble and didn't bounce the ball again. You had to see it I Guess.
Anyway, I knew right there I made a mistake and the crowd went nuts. I looked at my partner then approached both coaches, told them I anticipated the palming call and it didn't happen. Therefore IW and play resumed. I about stuck to my guns and attempted to sell the call, but there was nothing for sale...lol... I had to correct my mistake. The whole gym saw the same thing I did. I felt about 2 inches tall and wished there was a hole to crawl in.... |
Twice, Yes, Believe It Or Not, Twice...
Twice, in twenty-seven years, I've called a foul on A1 for fouling A2. In both cases there was rebounding action.
|
[QUOTE=kblehman]I had my first inadvertent whistle Tuesday. For some unknown reason my whistle blew as a FT was being rebounded. It was the strangest thing--I had no mental intention to blow it, it just sounded. Wierd. Anyway, the defense had clear posession so we awarded it OB to them, no problem.
QUOTE] Can anyone explain to me how the defense had possession of the ball or is this a different game than I am used to officiating? |
Dont feel bad. Had one last night also. I was trail. Loose ball and white recovers (in backcourt) passes around and not 1 player from either team went to the proper direction. A4 received a pass and she takes off for the frontcourt. As soon as she steps in her frontcourt I blow my whistle and not 1-2 seconds later (as she is going in for a layup unguarded, all the other 9 players still at the other basket) I realized that I had just blew it.
As I am doing this, the A HC is yelling at her, "why are you going to the wrong basket". I turned around and looked at the coach, and advised I had an IW and that the player was shooting at the proper basket. The HC laughed and looked at A4 and said "I will just be quiet the rest of the game". The player just laughed an looked at me and asked me "Did my layup count". I said unfortunately no but you do get the ball back. All the fans in the gym laughed at both of us (A HC and myself). Thank goodness it was the 4th Quarter and A was leading 48-30. |
Quote:
|
Had one myself the other night. I was lead and watching off ball post play. Player B1 ended up alone in the key and for some reason I started a three second count on him in my head. Well, at 3 seconds I blew my whistle. But just before I signaled I realized that this was a defensive player. I called an inadvertent and gave the ball back to team A. Fortunately, the offense wasn’t making a move to the basket.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And then, of course, subs can come in. |
Quote:
Logically, I can't justify rewarding B coach with a timeout. That said, it was officials goof. Couldn't a coach try and slip that in from time to time on defense, knowing you may get a break on an inadvertant whistle? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Yes, for nfhs. YMMV under ncaa rules though so be careful |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
:D |
Quote:
Ive done this a few times... Its either cause I'm anticipating or because I'm slow in reacting. |
Quote:
Rule 5-8-3(b) says that you grant a TO when the ball is dead. It doesn't matter how the ball became dead. The only time that you can't grant a TO after the ball has become live to start the game is when the ball is dead is during the replacment of a disqualified/injured/ordered out of the game player. And you can still grant a TO after the sub comes in on that dead ball too. After you grant the TO, rule 3-3-1(a) gives you the parameters for allowing substitution during that TO.....allowed prior to the warning signal. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43pm. |