The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41652-traveling.html)

TiManGR Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:32am

Traveling?
 
Had this happen in game last night. Player A1 has the ball and still has his dribble. Jumps to shoot, changes his mind and starts dribbling before returning to floor. No travel was called, however, both coaches (Team A and B) thought it should be a travel.

JoeTheRef Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TiManGR
Had this happen in game last night. Player A1 has the ball and still has his dribble. Jumps to shoot, changes his mind and starts dribbling before returning to floor. No travel was called, however, both coaches (Team A and B) thought it should be a travel.

Both coaches were correct.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:36am

See case book play 4.43.3SitB.

Scrapper1 Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:37am

4-44-3c (NFHS)

TiManGR Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:58am

Thanks, forgot my rule books in my other office. will look it up when I go this afternoon.

Zoochy Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:03am

A Player has to begin the dribble before the pivot is lifted from the floor. Once a player has jumped, the pivot foot is no longer in contact with the floor. This player now has a few options. Shoot, Pass or call Time Out. They could also throw the ball of an opponent. But that would also be considered as a pass.
So to answer the original post. The player has commited a traveling violation. :D

CoachP Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TiManGR
Had this happen in game last night. Player A1 has the ball and still has his dribble. Jumps to shoot, changes his mind and starts dribbling before returning to floor. No travel was called, however, both coaches (Team A and B) thought it should be a travel.

B coach jumped up and said "HEY! That's a travel"

A1's coach jumped up and said "HEY! That's right, call the travel!"

:eek:

truerookie Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
4-44-3c (NFHS)


Are you sure of the cited casebook play?

truerookie Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
See case book play 4.43.3SitB.

minor correction: 4.44.3SitB. No, 4.43.3SitB 07/08

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Are you sure of the cited casebook play?

That case play is germane also. It relates also to a player who has already lifted their pivot foot, same as a player jumping in the air. It states "Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble....".

The other case play is closer to the actual situation described in the original post, but they both use the same criteria(rule).....the pivot foot must be on the floor when a dribble is started.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
minor correction: 4.44.3SitB. No, 4.43.3SitB 07/08

Yup.

crazy voyager Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:34am

There is no FIBA-caseplay for this situation so I have acctually mailed this question on to my mentor to make sure I get it right, but here is what I think
This is a travel based on this rule
25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
▬ To pass or shoot for a field goal, the player may jump off a pivot foot, but neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Since it says to pass or shoot for a field goal jumping with the intent to dribble must be a travel
furthermore, if he has a pivot foot established, then when he jumps he lifts it. And if you have lifted your pivot foot you're not allowed to dribble
So this should be a travel

Scrapper1 Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Are you sure of the cited casebook play?

I didn't cite a casebook play. :confused:

Da Official Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:29am

Case 4.44.3 Situation B is most applicable

Once both feet have left the floor the Player must pass, shoot, or call time out before returning to the floor.

eg-italy Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
There is no FIBA-caseplay for this situation so I have acctually mailed this question on to my mentor to make sure I get it right, but here is what I think
This is a travel based on this rule
25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
▬ To pass or shoot for a field goal, the player may jump off a pivot foot, but neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Since it says to pass or shoot for a field goal jumping with the intent to dribble must be a travel
furthermore, if he has a pivot foot established, then when he jumps he lifts it. And if you have lifted your pivot foot you're not allowed to dribble
So this should be a travel

It's just two lines above:

25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
• While standing with both feet on the floor:
– To start a dribble, the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Ciao


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1