The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41652-traveling.html)

TiManGR Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:32am

Traveling?
 
Had this happen in game last night. Player A1 has the ball and still has his dribble. Jumps to shoot, changes his mind and starts dribbling before returning to floor. No travel was called, however, both coaches (Team A and B) thought it should be a travel.

JoeTheRef Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TiManGR
Had this happen in game last night. Player A1 has the ball and still has his dribble. Jumps to shoot, changes his mind and starts dribbling before returning to floor. No travel was called, however, both coaches (Team A and B) thought it should be a travel.

Both coaches were correct.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:36am

See case book play 4.43.3SitB.

Scrapper1 Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:37am

4-44-3c (NFHS)

TiManGR Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:58am

Thanks, forgot my rule books in my other office. will look it up when I go this afternoon.

Zoochy Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:03am

A Player has to begin the dribble before the pivot is lifted from the floor. Once a player has jumped, the pivot foot is no longer in contact with the floor. This player now has a few options. Shoot, Pass or call Time Out. They could also throw the ball of an opponent. But that would also be considered as a pass.
So to answer the original post. The player has commited a traveling violation. :D

CoachP Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TiManGR
Had this happen in game last night. Player A1 has the ball and still has his dribble. Jumps to shoot, changes his mind and starts dribbling before returning to floor. No travel was called, however, both coaches (Team A and B) thought it should be a travel.

B coach jumped up and said "HEY! That's a travel"

A1's coach jumped up and said "HEY! That's right, call the travel!"

:eek:

truerookie Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
4-44-3c (NFHS)


Are you sure of the cited casebook play?

truerookie Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
See case book play 4.43.3SitB.

minor correction: 4.44.3SitB. No, 4.43.3SitB 07/08

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Are you sure of the cited casebook play?

That case play is germane also. It relates also to a player who has already lifted their pivot foot, same as a player jumping in the air. It states "Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble....".

The other case play is closer to the actual situation described in the original post, but they both use the same criteria(rule).....the pivot foot must be on the floor when a dribble is started.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
minor correction: 4.44.3SitB. No, 4.43.3SitB 07/08

Yup.

crazy voyager Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:34am

There is no FIBA-caseplay for this situation so I have acctually mailed this question on to my mentor to make sure I get it right, but here is what I think
This is a travel based on this rule
25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
▬ To pass or shoot for a field goal, the player may jump off a pivot foot, but neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Since it says to pass or shoot for a field goal jumping with the intent to dribble must be a travel
furthermore, if he has a pivot foot established, then when he jumps he lifts it. And if you have lifted your pivot foot you're not allowed to dribble
So this should be a travel

Scrapper1 Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Are you sure of the cited casebook play?

I didn't cite a casebook play. :confused:

Da Official Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:29am

Case 4.44.3 Situation B is most applicable

Once both feet have left the floor the Player must pass, shoot, or call time out before returning to the floor.

eg-italy Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
There is no FIBA-caseplay for this situation so I have acctually mailed this question on to my mentor to make sure I get it right, but here is what I think
This is a travel based on this rule
25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
▬ To pass or shoot for a field goal, the player may jump off a pivot foot, but neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Since it says to pass or shoot for a field goal jumping with the intent to dribble must be a travel
furthermore, if he has a pivot foot established, then when he jumps he lifts it. And if you have lifted your pivot foot you're not allowed to dribble
So this should be a travel

It's just two lines above:

25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
• While standing with both feet on the floor:
– To start a dribble, the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Ciao

crazy voyager Thu Feb 07, 2008 03:15pm

but he doesn't have a pivot foot yet;)
That is why I cited the one below since it shows that it always is a violation regardless of having a pivot foot or not
And I have got confirmed that it is a violation btw (got a response to my mail)
But yes both quotes applies

eg-italy Thu Feb 07, 2008 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
but he doesn't have a pivot foot yet ;)

I'd be very surprised to see a basketball player jumping off both feet simultaneously. ;) That happens in gymnastics, not in basketball.

Anyway, one of the feet is the pivot foot. If the player jumps, it doesn't matter which one was. I don't know the wording in NFHS rules, but for NCAA it is almost the same as for FIBA.

Ciao

crazy voyager Fri Feb 08, 2008 08:17am

I did it a lot when I was playing...
But it doesn't really matter since we agree this is a violation

truerookie Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I didn't cite a casebook play. :confused:

Please accept my deepest apology!! ;). You cited the rule.

eg-italy Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy
I'd be very surprised to see a basketball player jumping off both feet simultaneously.

I did it a lot when I was playing...

That's why you're an official, I guess. ;)

Adam Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy
That's why you're an official, I guess. ;)

It happens more often than a player landing on both feet simultaneously.

eg-italy Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It happens more often than a player landing on both feet simultaneously.

A player with the ball moving for a jump shot?

Ciao

crazy voyager Fri Feb 08, 2008 02:29pm

That is part of why I am an official xD
and the fact I thought playing basketball at the adult level was boring...
And the fact that I earn a LOT more money from being a ref than I did from playing;)
And a few more reasons ontop of that
But I don't think this is quite as rare as you make it sound... But then again, does it really matter since we agree on the rule?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1