The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   YOU make the call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41548-you-make-call.html)

Terrapins Fan Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:31pm

YOU make the call
 
Watch the video- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15GLJ...eature=related

What do you have?

rngrck Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:40pm

Flagrant foul and ejection.

Mark Padgett Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:42pm

What do you mean? The official is calling a technical foul on a coach. Are you asking if he should also call a foul on the player who hit the shooter after the technical was called?

rgncjn Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:43pm

It does appear the defender was attempting to block the shot. However, it does appear the defender stuck his knee into the danger zone of the shooter. Based on that conclusion, I think I would be inclined to call a flagrant personal foul... based on the wording in the rulebook, "if personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as: striking, kicking, and kneeing."

Additional information could not hurt, such as, whether or not this player has been causing trouble or playing dirty the entire contest.

Regardless, I feel obligated to call a flagrant personal foul.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan
Watch the video- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15GLJyUIoPU

What do you have?

FIBA's definitions of when fouls may happen are slightly different than Fed. I have the T against the coach, and a disqualifying foul against B1.

bigdog5142 Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:51pm

T against the coach, and AT LEAST intentional against the player if not flagrant...I lean toward flagrant.

Mark Padgett Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rgncjn
Based on that conclusion, I think I would be inclined to call a flagrant personal foul...

The referee's whistle in this case made the ball dead before the contact occurred (different than calling a shooting foul). You could have a flagrant foul, but it would be a technical for contact of a flagrant nature during a dead ball. The only difference would be that any player could then shoot the free throws and that the ball would then be inbounded at the division line.

rngrck Fri Feb 01, 2008 03:58pm

I may be way out on this one, but it almost looks like the coach was trying to distract the ref from seeing this contact. Heads up to the ref for staying with the play while calling the T.

bigdog5142 Fri Feb 01, 2008 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
The referee's whistle in this case made the ball dead before the contact occurred (different than calling a shooting foul). You could have a flagrant foul, but it would be a technical for contact of a flagrant nature during a dead ball. The only difference would be that any player could then shoot the free throws and that the ball would then be inbounded at the division line.

'Course...you're right that it was a dead ball...so it would have to be a flagrant tech or just a tech.

rainmaker Fri Feb 01, 2008 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
The referee's whistle in this case made the ball dead before the contact occurred (different than calling a shooting foul). You could have a flagrant foul, but it would be a technical for contact of a flagrant nature during a dead ball. The only difference would be that any player could then shoot the free throws and that the ball would then be inbounded at the division line.

I don't know, Mark. I think the whistle is close enough to the contact that you'd be hard pressed to pull that off.

I don't think the defender was going for the ball. His hands were never even remotely straight up. He aimed for the body, pure and simple.

I wish I knew what the coach was saying!

Scrapper1 Fri Feb 01, 2008 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
The referee's whistle in this case made the ball dead before the contact occurred

Interesting. The shooter had obviously started the motion when the whistle was blown. But since the foul is against the coach and not a defensive player, the ball becomes dead immediately?

4-11-1 says that continuous motion does not apply unless a defensive player commits a foul, blah blah blah.

But 4-11-2 says "opponent", not necessarily a player. And 6-7, exception C also says "opponent".

So does the T by the defensive coach cause the ball to become dead? :confused:

rainmaker Fri Feb 01, 2008 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Interesting. The shooter had obviously started the motion when the whistle was blown. But since the foul is against the coach and not a defensive player, the ball becomes dead immediately?

4-11-1 says that continuous motion does not apply unless a defensive player commits a foul, blah blah blah.

But 4-11-2 says "opponent", not necessarily a player. And 6-7, exception C also says "opponent".

So does the T by the defensive coach cause the ball to become dead? :confused:

do we know for sure that it is the defensive coach?

Mark Padgett Fri Feb 01, 2008 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
do we know for sure that it is the defensive coach?

Juulie - since it looks to me like the T came before the player foul, it wouldn't make a difference.

mcdanrd Fri Feb 01, 2008 05:44pm

How about a False Double Foul with both the technical on the coach and an intentional (which is what the official called) on the player being penalized? It appears to me that the whistle for the T was too late to stop any action by the player.

Mark Padgett Fri Feb 01, 2008 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcdanrd
How about a False Double Foul with both the technical on the coach and an intentional (which is what the official called) on the player being penalized? It appears to me that the whistle for the T was too late to stop any action by the player.

How do you know what the official called on the player? Not being rude, just curious.

mcdanrd Fri Feb 01, 2008 06:14pm

Quote:

How do you know what the official called on the player? Not being rude, just curious
I paused the video. It appears to me he came up with the arms crossed over his head.

Mwanr1 Fri Feb 01, 2008 06:47pm

From this video, the calling official lacks game-awareness situation. My input is that the calling official (T) should have waited after the shot to call the T on the coach. With the technical, he's taking the three point attempt away from white team and was not in position to observe the entire play.

If the 3point try goes in, the ball goes back to white team after the two ft for the T. I bet the coach would think twice next time he decided to scream at an official. But because of the quick T, he's not in position to observe the action of the black jersey defender.

A friendly reminder is to always be patient with T's.

fullor30 Fri Feb 01, 2008 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
From this video, the calling official lacks game-awareness situation. My input is that the calling official (T) should have waited after the shot to call the T on the coach. With the technical, he's taking the three point attempt away from white team and was not in position to observe the entire play.

If the 3point try goes in, the ball goes back to white team after the two ft for the T. I bet the coach would think twice next time he decided to scream at an official. But because of the quick T, he's not in position to observe the action of the black jersey defender.

A friendly reminder is to always be patient with T's.

How do you know Coach is not white team coach? It's really close regarding blowing T, when white receives ball, the nearest defender is six feet away and screened the fouler does a bulls rush from ten feet away. I can't blame official who has getting an earful from a coach who wants to be whacked.

We have the luxury of watching it from our arm chair. Could he have waited longer? Maybe, but I'm not going to fault him on this one.

Mwanr1 Fri Feb 01, 2008 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30
How do you know Coach is not white team coach? It's really close regarding blowing T, when white receives ball, the nearest defender is six feet away and screened the fouler does a bulls rush from ten feet away. I can't blame official who has getting an earful from a coach who wants to be whacked.

We have the luxury of watching it from our arm chair. Could he have waited longer? Maybe, but I'm not going to fault him on this one.

From this camera angle, I cannot tell whether the coach is for the black or white team. But if you watch the video closely, pulse at the 12 and 13 second mark. As soon as the shooter catches the ball, the official took his eyes away from the play and called the T. Like i said in the previous post, if he is aware of the game situation, he should have seen the entire play then call the T.

Terrapins Fan Sat Feb 02, 2008 08:16am

I am with most of you, I have the "T", but I am penalizing the foul after the "T" because of the severity.

rgncjn Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
The referee's whistle in this case made the ball dead before the contact occurred (different than calling a shooting foul). You could have a flagrant foul, but it would be a technical for contact of a flagrant nature during a dead ball. The only difference would be that any player could then shoot the free throws and that the ball would then be inbounded at the division line.

Good point, Mark. I completely missed the official issue a technical foul to the coach.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1