The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2008, 05:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser
Three questions or criticisms I suppose(would like both NCAA and NFHS answers since I only do NFHS):

1) Should there have been a whistle by Welmer (or even Higgins) as soon as the jump shot was in flight since there was an injured defensive player?
I am not so sure about that. I think the time they waited was sufficient. Wait until the scoring opportunity is over and that is what basically happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser
2) I don't agree with Eades decision to intiate a rotation with Welmer still in the BC. Not a question, just what I noticed.
Larks answered this question rather well. There is a change in the college Men's philosophy when the ball is coming up the court. The rotation might have been a little early, but if there is a lot of trapping near the half court line a rotation early is acceptable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser
3) In HS, does the disqualified player remain on the bench even if its for a flagrant foul?
Yes they would. A player would only go to the locker room if they became a problem after their ejection. Then they need to be accompanied by an adult.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2008, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Great screen, and good call on the flagrant. It looked like if the player who committed the flagrant hadn't tripped over the cameramen, the player that took the elbow to the back of the head was ready to go after him. May have saved a whole lot of crap by him tripping like that.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2008, 02:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Almost everything was done correctly but correct me if I'm wrong; I heard the PA announcer state that it was a flagrant foul issued. When they resumed play, the officials inbounded the ball at half court.

Isn't the ball supposed to be inbounded at the baseline at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2008, 03:07am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref
Almost everything was done correctly but correct me if I'm wrong; I heard the PA announcer state that it was a flagrant foul issued. When they resumed play, the officials inbounded the ball at half court.

Isn't the ball supposed to be inbounded at the baseline at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred?
The foul was a flagrant technical. Because it was a dead ball technical involving contact, you put the ball at the division line not the spot of the foul. This was not a live ball flagrant foul. The officials got it right.

This is why you do not listen to the PA announcers or the TV commentators because they likely do not know. All they know is there is a flagrant foul and they do not know the technical term. And I am sure the officials told the table this was a flagrant action and that is why the announcement was what it was.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1