![]() |
Scenario-
Team A is in their backcourt dribbling when the ball is tipped away. The ball remains loose for several seconds. Now I know that control is still with Team A during the loose ball, and that player control no longer exists. My question is: Does the 10-second count continue during this loose ball, becuase team control is still infect, or is the count put on hold, and continued at the point left off, if Team A regains control? |
I think you answered your own question. If team control still exists, how can it be regained?
The 10-second rule reads: "A player may not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for ten seconds" (9-8). Think of this like the NCAA shot clock - if B gains control, then A gains control, A gets a new "10." If B simply taps, the clock is still running on team A. |
Man MD, you take all the easy ones! It's amazing to me how many officials get this wrong. You can tell too. They will start counting with their other arm!
|
10 second count
Dave; Are you talking about High School rules or College rules here? It seems to me that in HS, if team A had the ball tipped away in the back court, the 10 second count continues. This would be because team B did not have control on the tipped ball. In my opinion, I would continue the 10 second count until either the ball has gone into the front court or a violation has occured.
|
Re: 10 second count
Quote:
I had this in a playoff game a couple of years ago. The coach went nuts until my partner asked him, "Did your opponent ever gain control of the ball?" |
Quote:
Seriously, while I'm no longer a rookie when it comes to basic rules and case book plays, I (unfortunately) don't have the experience that comes from actually calling games at the HS level, which is why I often stay silent on judgement calls (that plus the fact that I wasn't there to see the play!). |
Thanks for the information. You guys just verified what I thought was the right procedure. So conceivably, you could have a ten-second call with the ball having been loose in the backcourt for the past several seconds. I hope I do not have to explain this one to a coach any time soon!
|
Just wait until you are officiating a game on a cruise ship in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, and while A1 is dribbling in his backcourt and you are counting, the ship crosses the Internation Date Line and it is now yesterday.
How much time does he get now? :D |
Mark-
It is funny you should mention that. I was doing a game on a cruise ship last year, and we were in the Bermuda Triangle. We lost both the dribbler and the ball. Still looking for them. Do we go to the possession arrow with this one? That is, if we ever get another ball to use! |
Quote:
|
Hey, I was on that cruise. I was the dribdler! I'm still lost. Got the ball right here! I keep kicking my heels together and saying there's no place like Bermuda...nothing!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49pm. |