The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41497-correctable-error.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Jan 30, 2008 01:25pm

Correctable Error
 
B1 is called for a personal foul, the 10th team foul of the half. A1 steps to the line, and the administering official steps in and says "one and one." The FT is missed, and rebounding action ensues. The ball ends up going out of bounds on the sideline, off of B2. At this point, trail official realizes it should have been double bonus.

So, what do you do:

A -- Line up players on the lane and allow the 2nd FT with regular rebounding action?

B -- Clear the lane for FT #2, and then give it back to A on the sideline where the ball went out after the first FT?

JRutledge Wed Jan 30, 2008 01:28pm

Answer B.

You have not passed the time frame to correct the mistake. And you have to give the second merited FT attempt even though you screwed up by telling the players the wrong number of FTs.

Peace

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Jan 30, 2008 01:32pm

OK, now, what if you have the same scenario, however, B gets the rebound, advances the ball to the Frontcourt, and then team A commits a kicking violation, at which time you discover the error. Which option do you use?

A -- Line up players on the lane and allow the 2nd FT with regular rebounding action?

B -- Clear the lane for FT #2, and then give it back to B back where the kicking violation occurred?

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Jan 30, 2008 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Answer B.

You have not passed the time frame to correct the mistake. And you have to give the second merited FT attempt even though you screwed up by telling the players the wrong number of FTs.

Peace

Why clear the lane? Why not just line em up for regular rebounding action? Rule reference or casebook play please.

jcarter Wed Jan 30, 2008 01:51pm

I should know better than to mess with JR but
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Answer B.

You have not passed the time frame to correct the mistake. And you have to give the second merited FT attempt even though you screwed up by telling the players the wrong number of FTs.

Peace



Ya I should know better than to disagree with JR, but I am going to say in that senario you line them up.

Rule 2 Section 10
Art. 6... If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).



[See corresponding Case Rule for Situation 2.10.6]


Even though the ball went out of bounds off of B I do not believe that is a change of possesion is it?:confused:

Zoochy Wed Jan 30, 2008 03:40pm

I do believe a similar play is in the case book. Instead of the ball going OOB, there is a jump ball. (a) Arrow points to Team A. (b) Arrow points to Team B.

Since Team A would get the ball in (a), there is no change of possession from the POI, thus you line the player up for the 2nd Throw. Team A retains the AP arrow.

In (b) the POI is a change of possession, so Player A shoots the uncontested 2nd Free Throw and resume play via the Alternate Possession throw-in for Team B.

Let me know if I am wrong. ;)

Nevadaref Thu Jan 31, 2008 02:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Answer B.

You have not passed the time frame to correct the mistake. And you have to give the second merited FT attempt even though you screwed up by telling the players the wrong number of FTs.

http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...mages/slap.gif
Nope, the answer is A.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 31, 2008 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
OK, now, what if you have the same scenario, however, B gets the rebound, advances the ball to the Frontcourt, and then team A commits a kicking violation, at which time you discover the error. Which option do you use?

A -- Line up players on the lane and allow the 2nd FT with regular rebounding action?

B -- Clear the lane for FT #2, and then give it back to B back where the kicking violation occurred?

I'd have "B" in both the OP and this revised play.

ca_rumperee Thu Jan 31, 2008 09:49am

I like this question.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
B1 is called for a personal foul, the 10th team foul of the half. A1 steps to the line, and the administering official steps in and says "one and one." The FT is missed, and rebounding action ensues. The ball ends up going out of bounds on the sideline, off of B2. At this point, trail official realizes it should have been double bonus.

So, what do you do:

A -- Line up players on the lane and allow the 2nd FT with regular rebounding action?

B -- Clear the lane for FT #2, and then give it back to A on the sideline where the ball went out after the first FT?

First, since I got the last 'correctable error' question so wrong (damn you dead ball after a made basket!!) I'm gonna slow down.
Is this correctable?
Officials received information during the first dead ball after the clock was properly started. Yes, this is a correctable error.

All results of what occurred should stand, so the ball went out of bounds off of B2. A will have the ball for throw-in after the free-throw to be awarded.

So I am going with B -- Clear the lane for FT #2, and then give it back to A on the sideline

just another ref Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I'd have "B" in both the OP and this revised play.

Why would 2.10.1 SITUATION A (a) not apply? "since Team A had not lost possession between the error and when the error was recognized"

jcarter Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Why would 2.10.1 SITUATION A (a) not apply? "since Team A had not lost possession between the error and when the error was recognized"



Thats what im wondering.........:confused:

M&M Guy Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Why would 2.10.1 SITUATION A (a) not apply? "since Team A had not lost possession between the error and when the error was recognized"

How about because:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
OK, now, what if you have the same scenario, however, <font color=red>B gets the rebound, advances the ball to the Frontcourt</font color>, and then team A commits a kicking violation, at which time you discover the error. Which option do you use?


just another ref Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
How about because:

Didn't read that one I guess. Was referring to the OP.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Didn't read that one I guess. Was referring to the OP.

I do agree with you on the OP.

I would have to say if this happened to me last night, I would've cleared the lane and gone to POI. However, after reading the rule a little closer, I would've been wrong. :)

This is why I always pre-game good communication among the table and crew, so these things (correctible errors) never happen in the first place.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 31, 2008 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Didn't read that one I guess. Was referring to the OP.

Hmmm... I could swear that the OP said something about B getting control and then losing the ball OOB.

Maybe I was influenced by the second play.

In any event, there was no "change of posession" in the OP, so answer A is correct. There was a change in the second play, so B is correct.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1