The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travelling or Block? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41487-travelling-block.html)

Freddy Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:16pm

Travelling or Block?
 
Came up in recent rules meeting . . . happened tonight. Which rule prevails?

A1 comes down with rebound. B2 behind him stumbles to the floor. A1 turns to begin dribble and trips over B2.

Travelling violation on A1?

. . . or . . .

Blocking foul on B2 who, without both feet on the floor, lacks a "legal guarding position"?

I'm not so much interested in "What would you call?", rather "What is the rule?"

BktBallRef Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:31am

NFHS - B1 doesn't have to have a legal guarding position. Every player is entitled to a space on the floor, as long as he obtains it legally. He obtained his space on the floor legally, without contacting another player. I can't tell you if A1 traveled or not. You said he started a dribble, so who knows?

NCAA - Blocking foul.

sixer Sun Feb 03, 2008 02:09pm

BBRef,
I'm curious as to why you think this is a block in NCAA. IMO, guard obtained LGP, and nothing in the subsequent movement was illegal. What am I missing?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 03, 2008 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sixer
BBRef,
I'm curious as to why you think this is a block in NCAA. IMO, guard obtained LGP, and nothing in the subsequent movement was illegal. What am I missing?


Long story short: Even though the NFHS and NCAA rules are, word for word, the same. An NCAA Approved Ruling (and a stupid ruling, in my humble opinion, than cannot be supported by rule) states that this is a block. Go figure.

MTD, Sr.

Rich Sun Feb 03, 2008 02:17pm

I would love to see anyone, in real time, call this as anything but a foul on the B player.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 03, 2008 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
I would love to see anyone, in real time, call this as anything but a foul on the B player.


You wwill not ever see me call a foul on B2 in an NFHS game and I would be hard pressed to call a foul on B2 in an NCAA game.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Under NFHS rules why would you ever call a foul on B2 is this case?

BktBallRef Sun Feb 03, 2008 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sixer
BBRef,
I'm curious as to why you think this is a block in NCAA. IMO, guard obtained LGP, and nothing in the subsequent movement was illegal. What am I missing?

Sorry, your opinion is wrong. ;)

NCAA A.R. 91.
B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
You wwill not ever see me call a foul on B2 in an NFHS game and I would be hard pressed to call a foul on B2 in an NCAA game.

P.S. Under NFHS rules why would you ever call a foul on B2 is this case?

Perhaps just like you're ignoring the NCAA rule, he's ignoring the NFHS rule. :rolleyes:

sixer Sun Feb 03, 2008 03:17pm

I will confess that I didn't recall the AR. But, when I went into the case book, I think, perhaps, we might have 2 different sitches.

If I read the original post correctly, B established LGP on a player with the ball before falling.

A.R. 87 (this year's book) has the B falling before A gets the ball, therefore never establishing LGP on a player with the ball.

I'm sticking with my opinion (even if it's wrong :p ).

Adam Sun Feb 03, 2008 03:28pm

LGP isn't relevant to a stationary player.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 03, 2008 03:31pm

So sixer, you're saying that once he has LGP, he can't lose it, no matter what he does, including lying down on the floor?

sixer Sun Feb 03, 2008 03:34pm

Disagree with that.
NFHS 4-23-4
NCAA 4-35

sixer Sun Feb 03, 2008 03:37pm

BBRef,
Not necessarily. However, lying on the floor does not cause contact. He doesn"t need to continue to have a foot on the floor. But, I'd have to see it to make an informed decision. As described above, I can"t definitively say block.

E.G., if the player fell to the floor to his side and then was run tripped over, I would call that a block. But falling straight back (my assumption of the described play), I can't see me calling it a block in either HS or College, and I'd live with the grief and explain as best I could if I had a chance to.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 03, 2008 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Sorry, your opinion is wrong. ;)

NCAA A.R. 91.
B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position.




Perhaps just like you're ignoring the NCAA rule, he's ignoring the NFHS rule. :rolleyes:



Tony:

I didn't say I would ignore the NCAA ruling, I said that I would be hard pressed to enforce it; I would make the call per the ruling but I wouldn't like it one bit.. It is a ruling that cannot be defended by rule and that just makes my very very irritated.

MTD, Sr,

johnSandlin Sun Feb 03, 2008 05:40pm

Had this exact play on our state rules exam. Still much discussion going on about this situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1