The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
A violation can't occur unless the ball is live. There is no such thing as a dead ball violation.

A foul could occur with before the throw-in begins, which would be a dead ball (technical) foul. A foul could also occur after the throw-in begins, which would be a live ball (personal or technical) foul.

Rather than trying to confusingly differentiate between a live ball foul and a dead ball foul, they simply wrote the rule so that the arrow would not change if a foul occurred during the AP process (after the AP situation was created and before the end of the throw-in).
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
So, in essence you can lose the arrow on a violation but can't lose it on a foul. Right?
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
So, in essence you can lose the arrow on a violation but can't lose it on a foul. Right?
Right. The arrow changes when the throw-in ends or when the inbounding team violates. It's right in the book (which I don't have handy, so I can't give you the cite).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
To me this change just hasn't been explained well in my area
It's not a change. This has been the rule for many years.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Right. The arrow changes when the throw-in ends or when the inbounding team violates. It's right in the book (which I don't have handy, so I can't give you the cite).



It's not a change. This has been the rule for many years.
Citation is in my OP, straight out of the casebook. I just never came across it for some reason until they made the editorial change this year.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
So, in essence you can lose the arrow on a violation but can't lose it on a foul. Right?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
That makes sense. Thanks. I still think the casebook play and ruling are confusing. I'd like to see the live ball foul be the same and possibly an exception for the dead ball foul as those don't occur often.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
That makes sense. Thanks. I still think the casebook play and ruling are confusing. I'd like to see the live ball foul be the same and possibly an exception for the dead ball foul as those don't occur often.
I'm not sure why you think it's confusing. Violations by A, change the arrow. Fouls by A, don't change the arrow. Never change for fouls or violations by B.

As for exceptions, the NFHS isn't in to that. Exceptions make the rules more difficult to remember and more likely to be incorrectly enforced.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
Citation is in my OP, straight out of the casebook. I just never came across it for some reason until they made the editorial change this year.
Your case play came out of the book but the case play is not new, nor is it a new rule that the arrow doesn't change on fouls. That's been the case for as long as I remember. The only thing that changed was the "legal" touching issue.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
I'm not sure why you think it's confusing. Violations by A, change the arrow. Fouls by A, don't change the arrow. Never change for fouls or violations by B.

As for exceptions, the NFHS isn't in to that. Exceptions make the rules more difficult to remember and more likely to be incorrectly enforced.




Your case play came out of the book but the case play is not new, nor is it a new rule that the arrow doesn't change on fouls. That's been the case for as long as I remember. The only thing that changed was the "legal" touching issue.
Early this season I think I was discussing the foul situation with an assignor and then we had the violation discussion around the holiday break. Now we had a fould situation again and I think I'm just making it tougher than it should be. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Just remember, it doesn't change unless it the throw-in ends or A violates. Throw the rest out the window.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1