The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Can't Get a Staright Answer from Anyone...so I'll put it to the experts here (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41433-cant-get-staright-answer-anyone-so-ill-put-experts-here.html)

Ignats75 Mon Jan 28, 2008 09:30am

Can't Get a Staright Answer from Anyone...so I'll put it to the experts here
 
A1 is shooting 2 shots. Prior to first free throw, B HC calls time out. AFTER the first horn (actually it was just as the second horn was about to sound), B6 comes to the table to sub for B1. I did not allow him to enter as he was not checked in prior to the first horn. A1 makes the second free throw. Can B6 NOW enter the game as we would allow for the shooter, or does he have to wait until the next dead ball?

Dan_ref Mon Jan 28, 2008 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
A1 is shooting 2 shots. Prior to first free throw, B HC calls time out. AFTER the first horn (actually it was just as the second horn was about to sound), B6 comes to the table to sub for B1. I did not allow him to enter as he was not checked in prior to the first horn. A1 makes the second free throw. Can B6 NOW enter the game as we would allow for the shooter, or does he have to wait until the next dead ball?

Let B6 into the game after the made FT.

truerookie Mon Jan 28, 2008 09:40am

Casebook 3.3.1 situation b & c

YooperRef Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:05am

This is my first year officiating and this site has been really helpful. Couldn't the sub have been allowed to enter after the first FT?

bob jenkins Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by YooperRef
This is my first year officiating and this site has been really helpful. Couldn't the sub have been allowed to enter after the first FT?

Yes, of course.

(Let me know if that's not clear enough.)

YooperRef Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:10am

Bob,
No gray area there. I was just wondering since the OP referenced the 2nd FT.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 28, 2008 01:00pm

http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...es/welcome.gif

Yes Yooper, he can enter after the first FT.

Bob's a little cranky on Monday morning. :)

It's the only time I'm not cranky! :D

grunewar Mon Jan 28, 2008 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Yes, of course.

(Let me know if that's not clear enough.)

Now, I thought that was very funny.......I guess Mark, Colt and everyone else is corrupting me!

YooperRef Mon Jan 28, 2008 01:22pm

BBRef,
Thanks. I've been viewing the site for a while and it's very interesting. I never knew how much I didn't know until I started studying the rule book. If you want to see cranky check out the "Way too Many Players" post.

lukealex Mon Jan 28, 2008 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by YooperRef
This is my first year officiating and this site has been really helpful. Couldn't the sub have been allowed to enter after the first FT?

This made me wonder too, since the OP said TO was granted before the 1st free throw. Sub doesn't come in then, but after the 1st free the sub can come in. Could come in after the 2nd (must be a make) too if s/he didn't make it to the table in time to come in after the 1st.

Where in the Yoop do you work? I just moved to California, worked in and around Houghton for a few years while in school.

YooperRef Mon Jan 28, 2008 01:39pm

In the Iron River area about 90 miles south of Houghton. It's my first year so it's all sub-varsity level. You're missing a heck of a "snow year" around Houghton this winter. Snowmobilers are loving it.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 28, 2008 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lukealex
I just moved to California, worked in and around Houghton for a few years while in school.

Ah yes, Houghton. The home of the Gremlins and a certain sainted moderator.

And some goofus that drives frontend loaders over cliffs........:D

YooperRef Mon Jan 28, 2008 03:05pm

Since being deceased is required for sainthood, are the moderator and goofus one and the same?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 28, 2008 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by YooperRef
Since being deceased is required for sainthood, are the moderator and goofus one and the same?

Nope, different goofi....:D

The cliff diver is alive and well and practicing for the Olympic Winter games in downhill frontend loader racing.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 28, 2008 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Ah yes, Houghton. The home of the Gremlins and a certain sainted moderator.

And some goofus that drives frontend loaders over cliffs........:D

http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...es/roflmao.gif

I remember that!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1