![]() |
Quote:
The statement now reads <i>"If the ball was on the rim <b>or in the cylinder</b> and B1 hits the net, the call would be basket interference."</i> You're still completely wrong. It is not BI to hit the net while the ball is in the cylinder. Rule 4-6-2 tells you what the cylinder is. Rule 4-6-1 tells you that you can only call BI if the net is touched while the ball is on or within the basket. Rule 1-10-1 tells you <b>exactly</b> what the basket is. You really don't understand the rule, do you? |
Quote:
Quote:
cylinder (plural cylinders) (geometry) A surface created by projecting a closed two-dimensional curve along an axis intersecting the plane of the curve. When the two-dimensional curve is a circle, the cylinder is called a circular cylinder. When the axis is perpendicular to the plane of the curve, the cylinder is called a right cylinder. In non-mathematical usage, both 'right and circular are usually implied. (geometry) A solid figure bounded by a cylinder and two parallel planes intersecting the cylinder. After looking up the word cylinder I realize You & Bob are absolutely correct in the fact that ,"basket" & "cylinder," means two different things. Ring, cylinder, I thought they were the same. Now I know! Really not sure how many times you want to be proven right but that chalks up two more for JR. Like I said before I was writing faster then I was comprehending. My mistake! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I thought a ball inside of the ring could also be considered inside of the cylinder, which by definition would be wrong as Bob & JR stated earlier. Regardless if I was calling the rim the cylinder or the rim it wouldn't change how I will look @ the play. However this discussion will/has changed the way I will define BI. ;) |
Quote:
Not neccessarily. I can believe he knows when it needs to be call but not how to put it into the proper words. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29pm. |