The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Official stops clock for injury (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41289-official-stops-clock-injury.html)

Coach Bill Wed Jan 23, 2008 01:43pm

Official stops clock for injury
 
NFHS rules. There was a player on the floor with a minor injury and the ref blew the whistle to stop play. The player then got up and said he was fine. The coach was never beckoned onto the floor. Can the player stay in the game without a time out being taken?

I thought he had to come out of the game or take a time out, but the ref said, I "thought" he was injured. Essentially telling me inadvertent whistle.
Correct ruling?

Coltdoggs Wed Jan 23, 2008 01:45pm

I believe he can stay without taking a TO in so long as the coach is not beckoned onto the floor. If the coach comes out to the floor, then the player must sit out until the next dead ball or the coach can request a TO and he may come back in the game.

JRutledge Wed Jan 23, 2008 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill
Can the player stay in the game without a time out being taken?

Yep

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill
I thought he had to come out of the game or take a time out, but the ref said, I "thought" he was injured. Essentially telling me inadvertent whistle.
Correct ruling?

It is not an inadvertent whistle. Officials can stop the game on their own for many reasons. This is one of them. The officials have the right to stop the game for what is an apparent injury. This is the judgment of the officials. And in this case the player is allowed to stay in the game if the appear to be OK.

Peace

blindzebra Wed Jan 23, 2008 01:51pm

A player who can immediately get up and be ready to play may stay in as long as the coach isn't beckoned and/or comes out. 3-3-5

JoeTheRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:02pm

Me personally, if a player is on the floor like he is injured and he/she is the defensive player, I'm not blowing the whistle unless there are other players around the injured player or there is a possiblity that that person can get hurt or others can get hurt, or if I see that the player is seriously hurt then I will kill the play immediately. I will then blow the whistle when the hurt player's team gains control.

JRutledge Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Me personally, if a player is on the floor like he is injured and he/she is the defensive player, I'm not blowing the whistle unless there are other players around the injured player or there is a possiblity that that person can get hurt or others can get hurt, or if I see that the player is seriously hurt then I will kill the play immediately. I will then blow the whistle when the hurt player's team gains control.

This is not a personal thing that is the way the rule reads to some extent. And in the example given, the coach did not comment about who was on offense or defense. And when a player is injured you are not supposed to stop a fast break but you can stop play if action has slowed down.

Peace

JoeTheRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
This is not a personal thing that is the way the rule reads to some extent. And in the example given, the coach did not comment about who was on offense or defense. And when a player is injured you are not supposed to stop a fast break but you can stop play if action has slowed down.

Peace

I didn't know it was a rule. :eek: Somebody must've taught me well. I am definitely going to try and find it tonight when I get home.

I seriously didn't know that was in the book. With that said, I got a 97, 96 & 100 on my NFHS closed book test over the last 3 seasons and an 88 on my first NCAA test this year. I say this because my biggest fear is that I'm going to kick a rule to the point that it determines the outcome of a game. Do you guys often have this in the back of your mind? Also, when somebody asks me a rules question, sometimes I give them the answer right off the top of my head, but there is some doubt, but when I go back and look up my answer, I've usually given the correct answer. It's the doubting that concerns me. When does that time come when you just know that you know the darn rules without doubt, sort of like Nevada and Jurassic? And I say that with all due respect.

JRutledge Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:25pm

Read 5-8-2 Note. This clearly spells it out.

Peace

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:35pm

Here it is:

Note: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player’s team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately suspend play.

I have always interpreted "withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position" to mean that if the opponents are not actually taking the ball directly(ish) toward the basket, they are not advancing the ball to a scoring position. So if the dribbler turns away from the basket, it the opponents start to pass it around the perimeter, or essentially take any action that isn't "taking it to the hole," I'll go ahead and stop play if the player appears to be injured.

fullor30 Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
This is not a personal thing that is the way the rule reads to some extent. And in the example given, the coach did not comment about who was on offense or defense. And when a player is injured you are not supposed to stop a fast break but you can stop play if action has slowed down.

Peace


This happened in a state sectional final a few years ago, fast break and team had numbers, defensive trailing player falls to floor with a twisted ankle right next to trail official in back court. Whistle blows, everyone freezes and looks backcourt as player slowly gets up. Bad call.......... Ref has said he'd take the heat for an injured player anytime, IMHO, not willing to admit he kicked it.

Dan_ref Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
When does that time come when you just know that you know the darn rules without doubt, sort of like Nevada and Jurassic? And I say that with all due respect.

Nevada makes most of his sh1t up but Jurassic is the sh1t.

JRutledge Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30
This happened in a state sectional final a few years ago, fast break and team had numbers, defensive trailing player falls to floor with a twisted ankle right next to trail official in back court. Whistle blows, everyone freezes and looks backcourt as player slowly gets up. Bad call.......... Ref has said he'd take the heat for an injured player anytime, IMHO, not willing to admit he kicked it.

After all there is some judgment in play here. But many officials do not know the rule either. One of the very first real debates I ever had online with a group of officials was over this rule. H@!!, there are officials that want to stop the game because a shoelace is untied.

Peace

JRutledge Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Nevada makes most of his sh1t up but Jurassic is the sh1t.

I have to agree. I just did not want to be the first to say that.

Peace

fullor30 Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:48pm

[QUOTE=JRutledge]After all there is some judgment in play here. But many officials do not know the rule either. One of the very first real debates I ever had online with a group of officials was over this rule. H@!!, there are officials that want to stop the game because a shoelace is untied.

Peace[/QUOTE

Amen............ every case is different, but this one was just bad judgement.

At no time was this player in imminent danger from the action nor did it require immediate stoppage of play for health concerns on player.

JRutledge Wed Jan 23, 2008 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
After all there is some judgment in play here. But many officials do not know the rule either. One of the very first real debates I ever had online with a group of officials was over this rule. H@!!, there are officials that want to stop the game because a shoelace is untied.

Amen............ every case is different, but this one was just bad judgement.

At no time was this player in imminent danger from the action nor did it require immediate stoppage of play for health concerns on player.

You saw the play I did not. It is clear that many officials clearly stop play anytime someone breaks a nail.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1