The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 22, 2008, 04:52pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
Happened in a game I did about a month ago.

A1 drives to the lane and is fouled in the act of shooting. 2 shots coming up.

Defensive coach calls all 5 of his players to the bench for a chat -- their bench is opposite side of court where the foul shots will be shot. I am opposite side of bench and tell the coach he needs to leave 2 in the lane for the bottom 2 spots. Coach says no he doesn't. I repeat that he has to have the bottom 2 spaces occupied, to which he responds that on the first of 2 they dont have to the spots occupied. By now 4 kids are by bench and 1 is kind of wavering as to who to listen to, me or coach. Coach tells 5th kid to get to huddle and I tell the coach that he needs to send out 2 right now and he ignores me.

What do you do?
You directed him to his team's duty and he refused. Issue the T. Like bob said, try to prevent the T, but if wants to play with fire, burn his butt to the chair.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 22, 2008, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
I issued the T -- then after we shot the 2 shots for the shooting foul and the T i went over to him and explained him the free throw lane rule. He appologized and we moved on.

However my feedback so far from other officials I have run this by -- has been 100% in favor of these 2 options.

1) Just start the free throws and call a lane violation on a miss
2) delay of game warning

Both of which I have argued they are not supported by the rulebook. And I had mentioned to the coach before the T that they had to occupy the bottom 2 spaces but his mind was made up that they didnt have to. To me the only way for him to have learned the rule was to T him up here. the leve was Boys JV and the coach was fine through the whole tournament and he was fine after the T so wasnt a big deal.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Talking Sounds like we have a pretty clear cut case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
I issued the T -- then after we shot the 2 shots for the shooting foul and the T i went over to him and explained him the free throw lane rule. He appologized and we moved on.

However my feedback so far from other officials I have run this by -- has been 100% in favor of these 2 options.

1) Just start the free throws and call a lane violation on a miss
2) delay of game warning

Both of which I have argued they are not supported by the rulebook. And I had mentioned to the coach before the T that they had to occupy the bottom 2 spaces but his mind was made up that they didnt have to. To me the only way for him to have learned the rule was to T him up here. the leve was Boys JV and the coach was fine through the whole tournament and he was fine after the T so wasnt a big deal.
Me: "Coach, I'm telling you what I need from you and your players."
Coach: "I don't think you are right, I'm not giving it to you"
Me: Whack.

Ironically, since we would be clearing the lane to shoot the original FT's, he could have his players over for a chat.... if he can keep his focus!

But, riddle me this... If I now clear the lane for the original two shots, plus the technical foul shots.... the players need to be at mid court. If we are in the first half, with offending coach at the end where the FT's are being attempted, he is cut off from his players, right? No way he can caucus with them..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
But, riddle me this... If I now clear the lane for the original two shots, plus the technical foul shots.... the players need to be at mid court. If we are in the first half, with offending coach at the end where the FT's are being attempted, he is cut off from his players, right? No way he can caucus with them..
You do have a evil streak in you, I like that

Let him talk to his players, just make sure they are all outside the FT restrictions area.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
You do have a evil streak in you, I like that

Let him talk to his players, just make sure they are all outside the FT restrictions area.
And that he is seated while speaking with them.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
And that he is seated while speaking with them.
The technical for not occupying the lane spaces would be a team technical and not charged indirectly to the head coach, wouldn't it? Therefore, he'd still be able to stand to talk to his team?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:56am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
The technical for not occupying the lane spaces would be a team technical and not charged indirectly to the head coach, wouldn't it? Therefore, he'd still be able to stand to talk to his team?
Nevada?

Yoohoo, Nevada?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
Me: "Coach, I'm telling you what I need from you and your players."
Coach: "I don't think you are right, I'm not giving it to you"
Me: Whack.

Ironically, since we would be clearing the lane to shoot the original FT's, he could have his players over for a chat.... if he can keep his focus!

But, riddle me this... If I now clear the lane for the original two shots, plus the technical foul shots.... the players need to be at mid court. If we are in the first half, with offending coach at the end where the FT's are being attempted, he is cut off from his players, right? No way he can caucus with them..
That's not correct. They merely need to adhere to the restrictions for players NOT in marked lane spaces. There is no rule that requires them to be anywhere else.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
But, riddle me this... If I now clear the lane for the original two shots, plus the technical foul shots.... the players need to be at mid court. If we are in the first half, with offending coach at the end where the FT's are being attempted, he is cut off from his players, right? No way he can caucus with them..
A common misconception. The players need to be beyond the 3-point line and beyond the free throw line extended -- all the places they are allowed if they are not in a marked lane space.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Thanks Nevada and BayState..

Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
A common misconception. The players need to be beyond the 3-point line and beyond the free throw line extended -- all the places they are allowed if they are not in a marked lane space.
... my edurcation continues!

So, while he is seated, coach could caucus with his players (who would need to be on the court above FT line extended and outside of 3-point line) during the 2 tries for the foul, and the 2 tries for the technical.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
... my edurcation continues!

So, while he is seated, coach could caucus with his players (who would need to be on the court above FT line extended and outside of 3-point line) during the 2 tries for the foul, and the 2 tries for the technical.
Yes...as long as the players remain on the court.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
I appreciate Hard's support and interpretation, but after reviewing my case book and rules last night, I agree with other comments that my partner and I applies the "delay after TO" procedure instead of, as in our case, the coach simply refused to put his players on the court to begin play.

Live and learn......
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 86
I don't believe the coach needs to be seated during the shooting of the technical free throws while talking to his players. I don't have my rule book with me, but I think he can stand "during" the technical. Of course, he needs his seatbelt when play resumes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heres one..happened Sunday MidMadness Softball 15 Fri Nov 10, 2006 01:11pm
That's one tough T Lotto Basketball 3 Mon Jan 23, 2006 08:25pm
Isn't it tough being right! Damian Basketball 4 Thu Jan 29, 2004 08:48pm
Heres a good play to discuss mikesears Football 6 Fri Sep 14, 2001 11:58am
Tough call at a tough time in a tough game... dhodges007 Basketball 18 Wed Aug 01, 2001 11:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1