The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 Questions Defensive Fouls (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41156-2-questions-defensive-fouls.html)

tracker Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:12am

2 Questions Defensive Fouls
 
1) A1 has a try in the air. B2 Fouls A2 while try is in the air. Try is successful. Points awarded - Assess B2 Foul and A team receives ball at point closest to the Foul. No Bonus award T or F

2) A1 shoots and goal is counted. B2 Fouls A2 after goal is scored. Assess B2 Foul and B team receives Ball for inbounds. No Bonus award T or F

:eek:

cmathews Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tracker
1) A1 has a try in the air. B2 Fouls A2 while try is in the air. Try is successful. Points awarded - Assess B2 Foul and A team receives ball at point closest to the Foul. No Bonus award T or F

2) A1 shoots and goal is counted. B2 Fouls A2 after goal is scored. Assess B2 Foul and B team receives Ball for inbounds. No Bonus award T or F

:eek:

1) true
2) lots of issues...the foul is ignored unless flagrant or intentional at which point we will have A2 shooting and award the ball either at mid court or at the spot to team A

edit: in 2 ignore the foul because it is a dead ball (unless flagrant or intentional)

M&M Guy Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tracker
1) A1 has a try in the air. B2 Fouls A2 while try is in the air. Try is successful. Points awarded - Assess B2 Foul and A team receives ball at point closest to the Foul. No Bonus award T or F

I'm confused as to the question - is the question whether bonus FT's are awarded, or is the question whether A receives the ball if there are no bonus FT's?

Quote:

Originally Posted by tracker
2) A1 shoots and goal is counted. B2 Fouls A2 after goal is scored. Assess B2 Foul and B team receives Ball for inbounds. No Bonus award T or F

Agreed with cmathews - contact should be ignored because it happened during a dead ball, unless you consider it intentional or flagrant.

Beemer Fri Jan 18, 2008 01:33pm

In 1, the answer comes with this peice of information: Was the shooter in the air, or had he/she landed?
If he/she is in the air, its a shooting foul and A1 shoots 1 FT
If he/she has landed, the try counts, B1 is called for a foul, and team A gets the ball out of bounds.

M&M Guy Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beemer
In 1, the answer comes with this peice of information: Was the shooter in the air, or had he/she landed?
If he/she is in the air, its a shooting foul and A1 shoots 1 FT
If he/she has landed, the try counts, B1 is called for a foul, and team A gets the ball out of bounds.

Actually, I got the impression it is a foul on a teammate of the shooter. (A1 shoots, B2 fouls A2.)

Ref in PA Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beemer
In 1, the answer comes with this peice of information: Was the shooter in the air, or had he/she landed?
If he/she is in the air, its a shooting foul and A1 shoots 1 FT
If he/she has landed, the try counts, B1 is called for a foul, and team A gets the ball out of bounds.

Huh? In the OP B2 is fouling A2, not the airborn shooter A1. If A1 was not fouled, how can he shoot 1 FT?

In sitch 1, count the basket. If team A is in the bonus, A2 will shoot FTs, otherwise the inbounds spot for A is nearest where the foul took place.

In sitch 2, if you call the foul, it must be either intentional or flagrant, otherwise ignore the contact. No common foul can be called during the ensuing dead ball. Most of the time you ignore the contact, but you are the judge.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1