The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
2 Questions Defensive Fouls

1) A1 has a try in the air. B2 Fouls A2 while try is in the air. Try is successful. Points awarded - Assess B2 Foul and A team receives ball at point closest to the Foul. No Bonus award T or F

2) A1 shoots and goal is counted. B2 Fouls A2 after goal is scored. Assess B2 Foul and B team receives Ball for inbounds. No Bonus award T or F

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracker
1) A1 has a try in the air. B2 Fouls A2 while try is in the air. Try is successful. Points awarded - Assess B2 Foul and A team receives ball at point closest to the Foul. No Bonus award T or F

2) A1 shoots and goal is counted. B2 Fouls A2 after goal is scored. Assess B2 Foul and B team receives Ball for inbounds. No Bonus award T or F

1) true
2) lots of issues...the foul is ignored unless flagrant or intentional at which point we will have A2 shooting and award the ball either at mid court or at the spot to team A

edit: in 2 ignore the foul because it is a dead ball (unless flagrant or intentional)
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"

Last edited by cmathews; Fri Jan 18, 2008 at 11:17am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracker
1) A1 has a try in the air. B2 Fouls A2 while try is in the air. Try is successful. Points awarded - Assess B2 Foul and A team receives ball at point closest to the Foul. No Bonus award T or F
I'm confused as to the question - is the question whether bonus FT's are awarded, or is the question whether A receives the ball if there are no bonus FT's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tracker
2) A1 shoots and goal is counted. B2 Fouls A2 after goal is scored. Assess B2 Foul and B team receives Ball for inbounds. No Bonus award T or F
Agreed with cmathews - contact should be ignored because it happened during a dead ball, unless you consider it intentional or flagrant.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 44
In 1, the answer comes with this peice of information: Was the shooter in the air, or had he/she landed?
If he/she is in the air, its a shooting foul and A1 shoots 1 FT
If he/she has landed, the try counts, B1 is called for a foul, and team A gets the ball out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer
In 1, the answer comes with this peice of information: Was the shooter in the air, or had he/she landed?
If he/she is in the air, its a shooting foul and A1 shoots 1 FT
If he/she has landed, the try counts, B1 is called for a foul, and team A gets the ball out of bounds.
Actually, I got the impression it is a foul on a teammate of the shooter. (A1 shoots, B2 fouls A2.)
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer
In 1, the answer comes with this peice of information: Was the shooter in the air, or had he/she landed?
If he/she is in the air, its a shooting foul and A1 shoots 1 FT
If he/she has landed, the try counts, B1 is called for a foul, and team A gets the ball out of bounds.
Huh? In the OP B2 is fouling A2, not the airborn shooter A1. If A1 was not fouled, how can he shoot 1 FT?

In sitch 1, count the basket. If team A is in the bonus, A2 will shoot FTs, otherwise the inbounds spot for A is nearest where the foul took place.

In sitch 2, if you call the foul, it must be either intentional or flagrant, otherwise ignore the contact. No common foul can be called during the ensuing dead ball. Most of the time you ignore the contact, but you are the judge.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
order of calling fouls and other questions bradwxyz Basketball 40 Tue May 09, 2006 06:25pm
False Double Fouls and Simultaneous Fouls Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 14 Fri Feb 13, 2004 08:48am
Fouls - 3 questions Shogun Basketball 13 Thu Apr 18, 2002 12:12pm
When are technical fouls added to team fouls!? Pirate Basketball 8 Thu Jan 18, 2001 10:35am
Offensive/defensive rebounding fouls? Pirate Basketball 7 Mon Dec 20, 1999 02:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1