The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inbound Warning (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41153-inbound-warning.html)

tnsteele95 Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:29am

Inbound Warning
 
Player A is inbounding ball form OB line. Player B is in front of him and reaches across line slapping ball. I know that you give the player a warning. Now, hee's the question. If another kid on the same team commits the same violation, do they get a warning also, or is this considered a technical, i.e. the first warning counted as a team warning as well? Is this a player T, team T, or bench T? Thanks.

Chess Ref Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:37am

In Fed rules reaching ACROSS the boundary line and slapping the ball is a technical foul-not a warning.

JS 20 Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:40am

The warning would be for reaching through the boundary plane w/o striking the ball or the player. That would constitute a team warning. if another player on that team violates in that way again, then you have a tech

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref
In Fed rules reaching ACROSS the boundary line and slapping the ball is a technical foul-not a warning.

As per NFHS rule 9-2-PENALTIES3. Gotta know these.

Smitty Fri Jan 18, 2008 01:51pm

If I'm not mistaken, I believe if a defender reaches through the plane and slaps the ball prior to a delay warning being in effect already, the subsequent technical foul also counts as a delay warning, so if another defender of the same team again reaches through the plane but doesn't touch the ball, that would also result in a technical foul. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

Junker Fri Jan 18, 2008 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty
If I'm not mistaken, I believe if a defender reaches through the plane and slaps the ball prior to a delay warning being in effect already, the subsequent technical foul also counts as a delay warning, so if another defender of the same team again reaches through the plane but doesn't touch the ball, that would also result in a technical foul. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

It is a warning if they reach out of bounds NOT touching the ball. As soon as they touch the ball or the thrower it is a T.

stosh Fri Jan 18, 2008 01:57pm

case book 9.2.10, technical foul for knocking it plus a DOG warning.

jdw3018 Fri Jan 18, 2008 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
It is a warning if they reach out of bounds NOT touching the ball. As soon as they touch the ball or the thrower it is a T.

Junker, Smitty is asking if that T also acts as the first warning for delay, so that a subsequent violation for delay by reaching over the boundary (or any other delay violation) would be a technical.

I'm not sure about this, but I've not seen anything that says it is a warning...edit...good casebook find stosh. It is a warning in addition to a T.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
It is a warning if they reach out of bounds NOT touching the ball. As soon as they touch the ball or the thrower it is a T.

Really? I don't think so.

rainmaker Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Junker, Smitty is asking if that T also acts as the first warning for delay, so that a subsequent violation for delay by reaching over the boundary (or any other delay violation) would be a technical.

I'm not sure about this, but I've not seen anything that says it is a warning...edit...good casebook find stosh. It is a warning in addition to a T.

...and furthermore, it's a warning for any kind of delay, not just for reaching through the plane. From this point on, any of the official delay situations by that team, bring a T.

Mark Padgett Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
...and furthermore, it's a warning for any kind of delay, not just for reaching through the plane. From this point on, any of the official delay situations by that team, bring a T.

Had this last night. Team A got a delay warning in Q1 for interfering with the ball after a made basket. In Q4, they reached across the boundary on an OOB play. T time.

In fact, team B reached across once and fouled the inbounder while she was still holding the ball - intentional foul.

bigdogrunnin Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
It is a warning if they reach out of bounds NOT touching the ball. As soon as they touch the ball or the thrower it is a T.

If the defender makes contact with the ball it is a technical foul . . . if the defender makes contact with the player it is an INTENTIONAL foul. I know someone will post the citation. JR is right . . . that is something you definitely NEED to know. It is too common in a typical game or season for this to not be common knowledge.

BillyMac Sat Jan 19, 2008 01:36pm

Another Myth Bites The Dust
 
The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.

MOFFICIAL Sat Jan 19, 2008 01:52pm

[QUOTE=rainmaker]...and furthermore, it's a warning for any kind of delay, not just for reaching through the plane. From this point on, any of the official delay situations by that team, bring a T.[/QU


rainmaker could you please site rule or case reference to back up your statement. My association directs us to give a warning separately for each delay situation-subsequent violations earn the T.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 19, 2008 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MOFFICIAL
rainmaker could you please site rule or case reference to back up your statement. My association directs us to give a warning separately for each delay situation-subsequent violations earn the T.

Oh my.....

Rule change <b>last</b> year. See rule 9-2PENALTIES(1). That states one delay warning per team per game.

Also see case book play 10.1.5SitB(b)

Please set your association straight.

MOFFICIAL Sat Jan 19, 2008 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Oh my.....

Rule change <b>last</b> year. See rule 9-2PENALTIES(1). That states one delay warning per team per game.

Also see case book play 10.1.5SitB(b)

Please set your association straight.

Thanks for the quick reply. I took two years off and just getting back in this year. I'm sure the association is on track-I was just not up to speed. Now I just learned something new.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1