The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Inbound Warning

Player A is inbounding ball form OB line. Player B is in front of him and reaches across line slapping ball. I know that you give the player a warning. Now, hee's the question. If another kid on the same team commits the same violation, do they get a warning also, or is this considered a technical, i.e. the first warning counted as a team warning as well? Is this a player T, team T, or bench T? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
In Fed rules reaching ACROSS the boundary line and slapping the ball is a technical foul-not a warning.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
The warning would be for reaching through the boundary plane w/o striking the ball or the player. That would constitute a team warning. if another player on that team violates in that way again, then you have a tech
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 10:46am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
In Fed rules reaching ACROSS the boundary line and slapping the ball is a technical foul-not a warning.
As per NFHS rule 9-2-PENALTIES3. Gotta know these.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
If I'm not mistaken, I believe if a defender reaches through the plane and slaps the ball prior to a delay warning being in effect already, the subsequent technical foul also counts as a delay warning, so if another defender of the same team again reaches through the plane but doesn't touch the ball, that would also result in a technical foul. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
If I'm not mistaken, I believe if a defender reaches through the plane and slaps the ball prior to a delay warning being in effect already, the subsequent technical foul also counts as a delay warning, so if another defender of the same team again reaches through the plane but doesn't touch the ball, that would also result in a technical foul. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.
It is a warning if they reach out of bounds NOT touching the ball. As soon as they touch the ball or the thrower it is a T.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
It is a warning if they reach out of bounds NOT touching the ball. As soon as they touch the ball or the thrower it is a T.
Junker, Smitty is asking if that T also acts as the first warning for delay, so that a subsequent violation for delay by reaching over the boundary (or any other delay violation) would be a technical.

I'm not sure about this, but I've not seen anything that says it is a warning...edit...good casebook find stosh. It is a warning in addition to a T.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
It is a warning if they reach out of bounds NOT touching the ball. As soon as they touch the ball or the thrower it is a T.
Really? I don't think so.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 19, 2008, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
It is a warning if they reach out of bounds NOT touching the ball. As soon as they touch the ball or the thrower it is a T.
If the defender makes contact with the ball it is a technical foul . . . if the defender makes contact with the player it is an INTENTIONAL foul. I know someone will post the citation. JR is right . . . that is something you definitely NEED to know. It is too common in a typical game or season for this to not be common knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
case book 9.2.10, technical foul for knocking it plus a DOG warning.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tell where to inbound brianb87 Basketball 2 Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:39pm
WARNING!!! WARNING!! Annual off-topic baseball thread!! ChuckElias Basketball 583 Sat Jan 21, 2006 05:28pm
Inbound pass kltuck Basketball 34 Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:35pm
inbound xxssmen Basketball 2 Fri Mar 12, 2004 09:00am
Travel on Inbound ewiar Basketball 7 Sun Apr 06, 2003 06:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1