The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Any thoughts on this play? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41132-any-thoughts-play.html)

Rich Fri Jan 18, 2008 05:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Not which (singular), which (plural). It's a committee. You know what a camel is, don't you? ;)

Excuse me, then, I must've meant to say morons.

crazy voyager Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:16pm

this is no violation in fiba
team A was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt (and for a bc violation to occur the offending team must be the last to touch it in fc, first to touch in bc and have team control).

agr8zebra Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:50pm

Excuse me it is not back court in NFHS because it too doesn't pass the IF test...

Rules & Cases Directory
Basketball Rules Book 2006-07
Rule 9: Violations and Penalties
Section 9: Backcourt
Article 1


Art. 1... A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, IF he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

The play Team A was not the last to touch, thus no back court..

now if Team B had deflected the ball off Team A members knee or something, then you have back court.

jdw3018 Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by agr8zebra
Excuse me it is not back court in NFHS because it too doesn't pass the IF test...

Rules & Cases Directory
Basketball Rules Book 2006-07
Rule 9: Violations and Penalties
Section 9: Backcourt
Article 1


Art. 1... A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, IF he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

The play Team A was not the last to touch, thus no back court..

now if Team B had deflected the ball off Team A members knee or something, then you have back court.

You're missing the fact that NFHS put out a ruling that this is, indeed, a backcourt violation. In the scenario being discussed, because the ball hasn't bounced in the backcourt it has frontcourt status. For reasons unknown to many, the NFHS has ruled that when A1 then catches the ball while standing in the backcourt, A1 has simultaneously touched the ball last in the frontcourt (because the ball had frontcourt status when touched), and is now the first to touch it in the backcourt.

So, yes, this is a violation whether you agree with NFHS's interpretation or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1