The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Any thoughts on this play? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41132-any-thoughts-play.html)

Rich Thu Jan 17, 2008 03:12pm

Any thoughts on this play?
 
PLAY 5: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING 5: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1).

BktBallRef Thu Jan 17, 2008 03:21pm

No new thoughts. It's been discussed before.

Ref in PA Thu Jan 17, 2008 03:23pm

It is the way the Fed wants the play interpreted, but I don't like it. I hope they change the interpretation to say no violation because B was the last to touch it. We have discussed this before.

The extrapolation of this ruling leads to some very disturbing conclusions, my favorite being A1 is dribbling in back court. B1, who is completely in the front court of A reaches across the division line and bats the ball off of the leg of A1. Ruling would be violation if the above interpretation stands. Why? A has team control, ball obtains FC status from the touch of B1, ball touches A1 who is in backcourt. The fed wants us to interpret that as touching a ball with FC status in back court, causing the violation. Yet, A never brought the ball into FC.

Dan_ref Thu Jan 17, 2008 03:23pm

Change the play to read ball going OOB instead of backcourt. OOB violation on A, B gets the ball. Same concept in your original sitch.

cmathews Thu Jan 17, 2008 05:29pm

ok I can't find it....
 
What is the logic behind this being a BC violation?? BBR I searched and didn't see the threads discussing it.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 17, 2008 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmathews
What is the logic behind this being a BC violation?? BBR I searched and didn't see the threads discussing it.

It's in the pre-season interps put out by NF. It happens to be Situation 10.

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2007/10/2007...s_interpr.aspx

We've discussed in length in the past. There are some of us that think this in an absolutly idiotic interpretion of the spirit and intent of the backcourt rule. There are others that feel it is correct, and have not yet seen the error of their way of thinking.

I'm not sure where I stand on it, but I'll call it as written. :)

rainmaker Thu Jan 17, 2008 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Change the play to read ball going OOB instead of backcourt. OOB violation on A, B gets the ball. Same concept in your original sitch.

When you say it like that, it sounds almost reasonable!:eek:

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 17, 2008 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy

We've discussed in length in the past. There are some of us that think this in an absolutely idiotic interpretation of the spirit and intent of the backcourt rule. There are others that feel it is correct, and have not yet seen the error of their way of thinking.

I'm on the side of Truth, Justice and the American Way.

It's an interpretation that's contradicted by the rules. Stoopid monkeys!

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 17, 2008 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
When you say it like that, it sounds almost reasonable!

Not to me.....

Rich Thu Jan 17, 2008 06:05pm

I must've missed this discussion. But...

Personally, I find this ruling nonsensical and wonder which moron thought it up.

Back In The Saddle Thu Jan 17, 2008 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
I must've missed this discussion. But...

Personally, I find this ruling nonsensical and wonder which moron thought it up.

Not which (singular), which (plural). It's a committee. You know what a camel is, don't you? ;)

Dan_ref Thu Jan 17, 2008 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
When you say it like that, it sounds almost reasonable!:eek:

Oh. Is it too late to change my mind?

Dan_ref Thu Jan 17, 2008 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Not to me.....

Oh wait. Is it too late to change my mind about that changing my mind thing?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 17, 2008 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Oh wait. Is it too late to change my mind about that changing my mind thing?

Scared of the Curse of the Rainmaker?

Know what they call people like you?
http://www.sxc.hu/pic/m/j/ju/just4you/815575_pussy.jpg

Dan_ref Thu Jan 17, 2008 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Know what they call people like you?
http://www.sxc.hu/pic/m/j/ju/just4you/815575_pussy.jpg

Yes.

Hercules.

http://www.ebaumsworld.com/video/watch/75903

Rich Fri Jan 18, 2008 05:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Not which (singular), which (plural). It's a committee. You know what a camel is, don't you? ;)

Excuse me, then, I must've meant to say morons.

crazy voyager Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:16pm

this is no violation in fiba
team A was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt (and for a bc violation to occur the offending team must be the last to touch it in fc, first to touch in bc and have team control).

agr8zebra Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:50pm

Excuse me it is not back court in NFHS because it too doesn't pass the IF test...

Rules & Cases Directory
Basketball Rules Book 2006-07
Rule 9: Violations and Penalties
Section 9: Backcourt
Article 1


Art. 1... A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, IF he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

The play Team A was not the last to touch, thus no back court..

now if Team B had deflected the ball off Team A members knee or something, then you have back court.

jdw3018 Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by agr8zebra
Excuse me it is not back court in NFHS because it too doesn't pass the IF test...

Rules & Cases Directory
Basketball Rules Book 2006-07
Rule 9: Violations and Penalties
Section 9: Backcourt
Article 1


Art. 1... A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, IF he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

The play Team A was not the last to touch, thus no back court..

now if Team B had deflected the ball off Team A members knee or something, then you have back court.

You're missing the fact that NFHS put out a ruling that this is, indeed, a backcourt violation. In the scenario being discussed, because the ball hasn't bounced in the backcourt it has frontcourt status. For reasons unknown to many, the NFHS has ruled that when A1 then catches the ball while standing in the backcourt, A1 has simultaneously touched the ball last in the frontcourt (because the ball had frontcourt status when touched), and is now the first to touch it in the backcourt.

So, yes, this is a violation whether you agree with NFHS's interpretation or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1