The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team control player OOB (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41080-team-control-player-oob.html)

RSmith Tue Jan 15, 2008 02:24pm

Team control player OOB
 
Watching a girls V game last night and the lead official called a violation on a player who was running the baseline - but was OOB. I'm a first year official - is that a violation?:confused:

rainmaker Tue Jan 15, 2008 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RSmith
Watching a girls V game last night and the lead official called a violation on a player who was running the baseline - but was OOB. I'm a first year official - is that a violation?:confused:

Was it a throw-in? Or was the ball in play in-bounds?

RSmith Tue Jan 15, 2008 02:29pm

The ball was in play in bounds

Adam Tue Jan 15, 2008 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RSmith
Watching a girls V game last night and the lead official called a violation on a player who was running the baseline - but was OOB. I'm a first year official - is that a violation?:confused:

I'm assuming this was during inbounds play, and that the player in question was going from one side of the basket to the other. The official was correct, it's a violation to leave the court for an unauthorized reason (going around screens is not a valid reason).

BayStateRef Tue Jan 15, 2008 02:31pm

Violation. Rule 9-3-2.

rainmaker Tue Jan 15, 2008 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RSmith
The ball was in play in bounds

Then, yea, it's probably a violation. It's leaving the floor for an unauthorized reason. Was she trying to get around a screen or a defender? And how for oob was she?

blindzebra Tue Jan 15, 2008 02:51pm

I've called it twice this year.

Boys varsity I had 2 different kids do it, neither got the ball, so I gave them the stay in warning, 3rd kid did it so at this point I know it's being coached so bang, violation. Coach goes unglued, my partner was bench-side and told him, he's heard me tell them twice to stay in.

Girls JV...the as a favor game...same girl two straight inbound plays. She runs between the in-bounder and the girl guarding the inbound to free herself for the pass.

Again first time she has one foot OOB, so I say stay in. Second time the thrower is deeper so she is completely OOB.

Coltdoggs Tue Jan 15, 2008 04:28pm

So what is the call here...I understand, unlawful leaving of the court....

Blow the whistle and signal the other direction, then give explanation? :confused:

Would it be different for a throw in versus ball in play?

rainmaker Tue Jan 15, 2008 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
So what is the call here...I understand, unlawful leaving of the court....

Blow the whistle and signal the other direction, then give explanation? :confused:

Would it be different for a throw in versus ball in play?

The call is "..mumble.. mumble violation". The difference on the throw-in is whether or not it's a spot throw-in. If it is, and the in-bounder "runs" or if someone besides the in-bounder goes oob, then it's a throw-in violation.

Coltdoggs Tue Jan 15, 2008 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
The call is "..mumble.. mumble violation". The difference on the throw-in is whether or not it's a spot throw-in. If it is, and the in-bounder "runs" or if someone besides the in-bounder goes oob, then it's a throw-in violation.

Mumble mumble violation....gotcha! I'll call that right after I use the superman signal and report "I've got over the back on 2-3 red" ;)

Mark Padgett Tue Jan 15, 2008 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
Mumble mumble violation....gotcha! I'll call that right after I use the superman signal and report "I've got over the back on 2-3 red" ;)

HEY - that wasn't over-the-back. It was a reach! :mad:

Nevadaref Wed Jan 16, 2008 02:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
So what is the call here...I understand, unlawful leaving of the court....

Blow the whistle and signal the other direction, then give explanation? :confused:

Would it be different for a throw in versus ball in play?

I hit the whistle, put a hand up and say "violation: running OOB," then point in the direction of the opponent.

Yes, the rule is different. During a designated-spot throw-in the governing rule is 9-2-11. The enforcement is also a bit different. The leaving the court violation (9-3-3) results in a throw-in from that location, while during a throw-in the violation for stepping OOB (9-2-11) results in the ensuing throw-in for the opponent coming from the original throw-in spot no matter where the player stepped OOB.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1