![]() |
Goal Tending
Rule 4.22
"Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight, or an opponent of the free thrower touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt." Is it ruled goal tending if the ball is blocked after it has contacted the backboard, but is still on its way up? I have seen this called, and passed on within the last few weeks. The official that called it swore up and down that it is goal tending and he was going to get back to all of us when he found it (haven't heard back yet). The official who didn't call it simply pointed to 4.22, saying it does not state anything about the backboard. What is the NFHS interpretation? |
In the case you stated, it would not be goal tending unless the ball was struck by the defender when the ball was above/in the cylinder
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I've had this play dozens of times and most times it isn't a violation. Most layups start just above the pad...WHICH IS BELOW RING LEVEL most blocks occur right after release. Smart officials take the backboard out of the equation...and should since it isn't part of the rule...and judge it based on the criteria for GT, downward flight, above ring level, with a chance to go in or BI for contacting the ball on or above the cylinder. |
Quote:
Most layups start just above the pad???? I disagree with this, unless we are talking from the point guard? The release may be from just above the pad, but the contact with the backboard happens more like at ring level or above...and that is what we are talking about contact after the ball has contacted the backboard..... |
Quote:
The ball has to be entirely above the ring level, on it's downward flight, with a chance to go in. You obviously don't want to hear the, "It hit the backboard, that's goal tending," refrain from the coaches and fans, so you call it...wrong if you call 9 out of 10 a violation.:rolleyes: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
You've seen it 10 times and called a violation 9 out of 10. I've seen it dozens of times and have seen and called a handful of violations. Your numbers are waaay off which tells me one thing.;) |
Could be...or could just be a numbers game? Maybe you just fit into Nevada's awesome official mold and are able to discern the slightest misdirection of the ball in only 100ths of a second...I guess I'm not there yet...and I guess there are no awesome officials in this area either b/c I see this called FAR more often than I see it passed on..I may need to go see JRut at Loyola this weekend:D
|
Keep in mind that in most of the cases I've seen it, you have ball out of the shooters hand, ball off the BB, block in a bang-bang-bang situation.
Rarely have I seen it ball, BB, pause, block which is what would be needed for the ball to start a downward flight. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I posted this in an old thread, but maybe it will be helpful here. I admit that I didn't read this whole thread, so if somebody has posted something similar, I apologize, but in any case. . .
In order to have GT, there must be a try for goal. For BI, it doesn't matter how the ball gets on the rim or in the cylinder. Could be a pass or a deflection. But for GT, it must be a try. Goaltending: 1. Must be a try. 2. Must be on the way down. 3. Must be completely outside the cylinder. 4. Must be completely above the rim. 5. Must have a chance to go in. Basket Interference: 1. Can't touch the ball if it's in the cylinder. 2. Can't touch the basket or ball if it's on or in the basket. 3. Can't touch the ball (even outside the cylinder) after reaching through the basket. 4. If rim is moved, it can't contact the ball before returning to its original position. |
Another Myth Bites The Dust
Quote:
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08pm. |