Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Please tell me where I can find in the rules that it's OK to put any time back on the clock that you feel like if you didn't see exactly what was on the clock. What exactly are you guys using for "definite in formation"?
|
The part that reads "
The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer to start or stop the clock properly only when he/she has definite information relative to the time involved."
I have definite information that the clock was not stopped correctly. I have definite information that it should not read 0:00. At this point you use your judgement, along with information from your partners (and possibly the table) to determine the correct amount to put back on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
"Exactly" is seeing something like 1.5 seconds on the clock.
|
You keep quoting the second part of the rule -- but that is a supplementary sentence. Saying that the "
The exact time observed by the official may be placed on the clock." does not preclude the officials from getting together and putting
some time on the clock when they
know (i.e. "definite knowledge") that some time was left when the whistle blew.
Remember the spirit of the rule here is to correct an obvious timing mistake. If you want to say, "Sorry, coach, I do know that the clock didn't stop, but I didn't see
exactly at the point at which it should have, so I can't put anything on." then, yeah, we are going to have to agree to disagree... because that is horrendous.