The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   End of Half situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40874-end-half-situation.html)

IUgrad92 Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:24pm

End of Half situation
 
Heard this situation last week in a JV game......

A1 gets fouled by B1 on shooting attempt right before buzzer to end the 2nd quarter. So we have 0:00.0 and horn, arrow currently in B's favor, and shooting free throws for the shooting foul. Team B is heading towards locker room. Coach B voices disagreement on the call, turns and walks towards locker room, after a few steps turns back and unleashes a "no-no" comment and gets whacked with a technical.

Please lay out the correct procedure to handle this. Please include where the technical should be applied for team foul count (first or second half), when to shoot the technical foul shots (right away or to start 3rd quarter), and who gets ball to start the 3rd quarter.

chartrusepengui Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:30pm

shoot the shooting foul immediately since buzzer didn't go off. T is enforced to begin 3rd period as it occurred following the end of the period.

MidMadness Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:30pm

My Guess...
 
A shoots 2 shots...because the T was called before the shots were taken, give any player from team A 2 shots for the technical before going to locker rooms...Before refs leave confines, change arrow at half to Team A..and give Team A the ball to start the second half from the tech. and leave the arrow facing A ???

kbilla Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
shoot the shooting foul immediately since buzzer didn't go off. T is enforced to begin 3rd period as it occurred following the end of the period.

I think OP is saying that foul occurred just before buzzer, but buzzer then went off meaning that it was too close to stop the clock...in this case, let A1 shoot his/her FT's, go to half, let A shoot the tech ft's to start the 3rd quarter and give the ball to A to start the quarter....ap doesn't change, first jump ball of the second half will go to B according to OP...tech on head coach applies towards tf count for second half....

jdw3018 Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness
A shoots 2 shots...because the T was called before the shots were taken, give any player from team A 2 shots for the technical before going to locker rooms...Before refs leave confines, change arrow at half to Team A..and give Team A the ball to start the second half from the tech. and leave the arrow facing A ???

I agree with this statement, but would love someone to find a reference.

The quarter hasn't ended when the T is called. Therefore I'd think it would be enforced at the end of the 2nd quarter, rather than the start of the 3rd...

Adam Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:50pm

The half doesn't end until the free throws are shot, so this is a 2nd quarter T. Shoot all shots prior to intermission. 3rd quarter will start with an AP throwin.

kbilla Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:53pm

Wait I'm confused, when was B leaving the floor, before or after the free throws were shot? I assumed that this was AFTER the free throws were shot, quarter had ended?

jdw3018 Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
Wait I'm confused, when was B leaving the floor, before or after the free throws were shot? I assumed that this was AFTER the free throws were shot, quarter had ended?

Hmm...now that I re-read the OP, I can't tell whether it was before or after the FTs either...

Obviously it makes all the difference in this situation.

truerookie Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
I agree with this statement, but would love someone to find a reference.

The quarter hasn't ended when the T is called. Therefore I'd think it would be enforced at the end of the 2nd quarter, rather than the start of the 3rd...

Casebook 5.6 Comment B: If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws. This applies even when the foul occurs after the first half has ended.

FT's to start 2nd half.

jdw3018 Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Casebook 5.6 Comment B: If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws. This applies even when the foul occurs after the first half has ended.

FT's to start 2nd half.

Except, the ball hasn't become dead to end the quarters if the FTs for the shooting foul haven't been attempted.

If the FTs have already been attempted, then obviously this case (which is being discussed in another thread today) applies. We're talking about a case where the quarter hasn't actually ended. I just don't know if there's a case book reference for this one.

A Pennsylvania Coach Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Casebook 5.6 Comment B: If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws. This applies even when the foul occurs after the first half has ended.

FT's to start 2nd half.

The ball hasn't become dead TO END THE QUARTER yet. Tech FTs to end second quarter.

truerookie Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Except, the ball hasn't become dead to end the quarters if the FTs for the shooting foul haven't been attempted.

If the FTs have already been attempted, then obviously this case (which is being discussed in another thread today) applies. We're talking about a case where the quarter hasn't actually ended. I just don't know if there's a case book reference for this one.


Ok, you are correct it's not clear if the free throws had been shot prior to the T.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:15pm

Case book plays 5.6.2SitD&H. The technical is part of the previous quarter.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92
A1 gets fouled by B1 on shooting attempt right before buzzer to end the 2nd quarter. So we have 0:00.0 and horn, arrow currently in B's favor, and shooting free throws for the shooting foul. Team B is heading towards locker room. Coach B voices disagreement on the call, turns and walks towards locker room, after a few steps turns back and unleashes a "no-no" comment and gets whacked with a technical.

Please lay out the correct procedure to handle this. Please include where the technical should be applied for team foul count (first or second half), when to shoot the technical foul shots (right away or to start 3rd quarter), and who gets ball to start the 3rd quarter.

A1 gets 2 FT's with no one on the lane. Team A gets 2 FT's for the B coach's "T". All of this is part of the second quarter. Half time. The third quarter starts with an AP.

truerookie Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Case book plays 5.6.2SitD&H. The technical is part of the previous quarter.

So, Are you saying treat end of half situations the same as end of game to determine winner or loser?

tjones1 Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:18pm

If the technical occurred before all the free throws were complete it is still part of the 2nd quarter. Shoot the two technical foul free throws before heading to the locker room. In this situation, to start the 3rd quarter you use the AP (penalty can't carry over).

If it occurred after the shots were completed. The 3rd quarter is started with two shots for the technical foul. Team A gets the ball at the division line for a throw-in. The AP is not used in this situation, thus it doesn't get reversed.

Gimlet25id Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92
Heard this situation last week in a JV game......

A1 gets fouled by B1 on shooting attempt right before buzzer to end the 2nd quarter. So we have 0:00.0 and horn, arrow currently in B's favor, and shooting free throws for the shooting foul. Team B is heading towards locker room. Coach B voices disagreement on the call, turns and walks towards locker room, after a few steps turns back and unleashes a "no-no" comment and gets whacked with a technical.

Sounds like the "T" happened after the FT's, when the team was heading back to the locker room. If this is the case then this "T" happened @ intermission since the 2nd ended with the two FT's. Start the 3rd with the "T
" penalty, timeline throw in to the offended team, arrow stays as is.

If the "T" happened before the last FT was over then the "T" would have to be adminstered before the intermission could start.

jdw3018 Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
So, Are you saying treat end of half situations the same as end of game to determine winner or loser?

Just got my casebook out:

5.6.2 D Ruling: "...the two free throws for the technical foul are attempted as part of the fourth quarter as teh foul occured before the fourth quarter had ended."

This seems to apply to any quarter, not just end of game situations.

truerookie Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Just got my casebook out:

5.6.2 D Ruling: "...the two free throws for the technical foul are attempted as part of the fourth quarter as teh foul occured before the fourth quarter had ended."

This seems to apply to any quarter, not just end of game situations.

Agreed!! in the OP it's not totally clear whether the T happen before of after the FT's for the foul shot ending the half.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
If the technical occurred before all the free throws were complete it is still part of the 2nd quarter. Shoot the two technical foul free throws before heading to the locker room. In this situation, to start the 3rd quarter you use the AP (penalty can't carry over).

If it occurred after the shots were completed. The 3rd quarter is started with two shots for the technical foul. Team A gets the ball at the division line for a throw-in. The AP is not used in this situation, thus it doesn't get reversed.

That's the right answer(s).

Jimgolf Tue Jan 08, 2008 04:13pm

Ironically, I watched a boys varsity game last weekend where the same thing happened, except that there were no shots to be taken (player control foul). The coach apparently said one of the magic words on his way to the locker room, and a rabbit-eared official T'd him up. They took the shots right then, not waiting for the third quarter. Two varsity officials I asked later that weekend said this was the correct procedure. From what I see here, this should have been done at the start of the third quarter.

Would this be considered a correctable error, had the coach known the correct rule? (The shooter made both FTs, so perhaps he might have wanted the shots taken again in the hope one or more would be missed.)

bob jenkins Tue Jan 08, 2008 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Would this be considered a correctable error,

Which part of 2-10 applies?

The only thing to "correct" would be to give the ball to the correct team as part of the penalty to start the third quarter. Once that throw-in ends, however, then it's too late.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 08, 2008 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
The coach apparently said one of the magic words on his way to the locker room, and a <font color = red>rabbit-eared</font> official T'd him up. They took the shots right then, not waiting for the third quarter. Two varsity officials I asked later that weekend said this was the correct procedure. From what I see here, this should have been done at the start of the third quarter.

Would this be considered a correctable error, had the coach known the correct rule? (The shooter made both FTs, so perhaps he might have wanted the shots taken again in the hope one or more would be missed.)

Rabbit-eared? For <b>not</b> ignoring being sworn at? I sureasheck wouldn't call that rabbit-eared. I'd call it taking care of bidness.

Yes, the FT's for the "T" should have been taken at the start of the third quarter and the shooting team also should have got the throw-in that goes along with the "T"(instead of an AP throw-in). It is not a correctable error <i>per se</i> though. All merited FT's were taken.

IUgrad92 Tue Jan 08, 2008 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Agreed!! in the OP it's not totally clear whether the T happen before of after the FT's for the foul shot ending the half.

My bad. The technical happened prior to the free throws for the foul. Team B didn't have to stick around for those free throws, so that is why they left the court. I'm assuming an assistant or some representative stayed to watch.

Good responses! The free throws for the T were given right after the free throws for the shooting foul. In the locker room the JV officials were told by the varsity officials there for the next game that they should have shot the T free throws to start the 3rd quarter........ :eek:

truerookie Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92
My bad. The technical happened prior to the free throws for the foul. Team B didn't have to stick around for those free throws, so that is why they left the court. I'm assuming an assistant or some representative stayed to watch.

Good responses! The free throws for the T were given right after the free throws for the shooting foul. In the locker room the JV officials were told by the varsity officials there for the next game that they should have shot the T free throws to start the 3rd quarter........ :eek:


Thanks!!

MidMadness Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:07am

Ap??
 
Do you give the ball to the team who shot the technical to start the 2nd half or go to the arrow?? I would say you give it to the team who shot the technicals??Correct??

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness
Do you give the ball to the team who shot the technical to start the 2nd half or go to the arrow?? I would say you give it to the team who shot the technicals??Correct??

Wrong. The FT's for the "T" were shot as part of the second quarter. No part of a penalty in one quarter carries over to the next quarter. That's rule 5-6EXCEPTION3. The throw-in was part of the penalty for the "T" which was part of the second quarter.

Start the third quarter with an AP throw-in.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rabbit-eared? For not ignoring being sworn at? I sureasheck wouldn't call that rabbit-eared. I'd call it taking care of bidness.

http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...s/thumbsup.gif
Had the same thought. Thanks for expressing it. Weak people will come up with many excuses to avoid having to make a perceived tough call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yes, the FT's for the "T" should have been taken at the start of the third quarter and the shooting team also should have got the throw-in that goes along with the "T"(instead of an AP throw-in). It is not a correctable error per se though. All merited FT's were taken.

There is an argument to be made that the FTs were attempted at the wrong basket. We've had long threads on this before. I would welcome a case play from the NFHS on this situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1