The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Buddy calls with rules question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40797-buddy-calls-rules-question.html)

Mark Padgett Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:52pm

Buddy calls with rules question
 
A buddy called me this morning about a call he had in a kids game last night. NF rules. After a violation by team B, A1 to inbound on the side. While the inbound pass is in the air, A2 and B2 foul each other for a double foul. The AP arrow is with team B. Should they give the ball to team B for an AP throw-in or use POI and give it back to team A even though there is no team control during a throw-in?

His point was that if they used the AP arrow, it seemed like they were penalizing team A for a foul that was equally caused by both teams.

What would you have told him?

jdw3018 Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:56pm

The POI is the throw-in, as it hadn't yet ended. Therefore, I'm giving the ball back to A to inbound due to the original violation.

mkiogima Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:57pm

I'm probably wrong, but without any references right off hand, I would have told him the throw-in doesn't end until the ball is touched inbounds. The fouls were committed before the throw-in had ended.

Like I said, I'm probably wrong but oh well.

*Darn it, he beat me by a minute.

tjones1 Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:58pm

Sounds like the throw-in hadn't ended. Therefore, I think you've got to go AP.

M&M Guy Fri Jan 04, 2008 05:15pm

Why does team control matter on a double foul?

Mark Padgett Fri Jan 04, 2008 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Why does team control matter on a double foul?

It matters for POI situations.

M&M Guy Fri Jan 04, 2008 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
It matters for POI situations.

What about the definition of POI?

(More specifically, 4-36-2(b)?)

Nevadaref Sat Jan 05, 2008 06:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Sounds like the throw-in hadn't ended. Therefore, I think you've got to go AP.

:(

See post #7 by M&M.

tjones1 Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
:(

See post #7 by M&M.

Yeah.........

Ok, tell me there's an elephant in the living room - what am I missing?

jdw3018 Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Sounds like the throw-in hadn't ended. Therefore, I think you've got to go AP.

Would your opinion be different if the thrower hadn't released the ball yet?

Damian Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:55pm

No team control though
 
First, a throw in ends the ball is legally touched, a foul or violation occurs, or the ball becomes dead. The throw in ended with the foul. Since neither team had control, go with the AP.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 05, 2008 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Damian
First, a throw in ends the ball is legally touched, a foul or violation occurs, or the ball becomes dead.

Reference, please. and be sure to include 4-42-5 (2006 reference) in the response.

tjones1 Sat Jan 05, 2008 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Would your opinion be different if the thrower hadn't released the ball yet?

Holy cow... massive elephant in the living room that I completely missed.

Ok, got ya now.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 07, 2008 02:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Holy cow... massive elephant in the living room that I completely missed.

Ok, got ya now.

Tanner, you're all right! http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...images/lol.gif

This has to be one of the top 10 posts of the past five years. http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra.../notworthy.gif

truerookie Mon Jan 07, 2008 07:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
A buddy called me this morning about a call he had in a kids game last night. NF rules. After a violation by team B, A1 to inbound on the side. While the inbound pass is in the air, A2 and B2 foul each other for a double foul. The AP arrow is with team B. Should they give the ball to team B for an AP throw-in or use POI and give it back to team A even though there is no team control during a throw-in?

His point was that if they used the AP arrow, it seemed like they were penalizing team A for a foul that was equally caused by both teams.

What would you have told him?

I would have told him the following: There is no team control on a throw-in Feds. So, since there was a double foul while the ball was NOT in either team control (still in the air). There is no choice but go to the arrow. Rules 6-3g; 4-36-2c will support.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 07, 2008 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
I would have told him the following: There is no team control on a throw-in Feds. So, since there was a double foul while the ball was NOT in either team control (still in the air). There is no choice but go to the arrow. Rules 6-3g; 4-36-2c will support.

Completely wrong. Rule 4-36-2(b) is the applicable rule. The double foul happened <b>DURING</b> a throw-in. Rule 4-36-2(c) says that no "infraction" is involved. A double foul is a rules infraction.

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rule 4-36-2(b) is the applicable rule. The double foul happened <b>DURING</b> a throw-in. Rule 4-36-2(c) says that no "infraction" is involved. A double foul is a rules infraction.

Jurassic is correct. Seems like many of us aren't really understanding the POI rule yet. That's not intended to be a slam on anybody on this forum, it just means that it isn't being taught well.

truerookie Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Completely wrong. Rule 4-36-2(b) is the applicable rule. The double foul happened <b>DURING</b> a throw-in. Rule 4-36-2(c) says that no "infraction" is involved. A double foul is a rules infraction.


6-3g is applicable too!

rgncjn Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:15am

It is my interpretation that the double foul was the interruption to the play. I would give the ball back to Team A for a subsequent throw-in.

I had this situation in a game last year; unfortunately, I cannot remember exactly how we handled it. I remember discussing with my partners, but do not recall the conclusion.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
6-3g is applicable too!

That's twice you've referenced "6-3g" and I can't find it in the book.

M&M Guy Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That's twice you've referenced "6-3g" and I can't find it in the book.

Metric equivalent?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
6-3g is applicable too!

If you are referencing rule 6-4-3(g), please note that the term "infraction" is stated in that rule also. Again, a double foul is an <b>infraction</b> of the rules. That is why neither 6-4-3(g) or 4-38-2(c) are applicable.

Wrong interpretation, rook.

truerookie Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If you are referencing rule 6-4-3(g), please note that the term "infraction" is stated in that rule also. Again, a double foul is an <b>infraction</b> of the rules. That is why neither 6-4-3(g) or 4-38-2(c) are applicable.

Wrong interpretation, rook.

Wrong interpretation or wrong rule referenced? I believe I referenced the wrong rule for the situation. I'm really trying to give rule support with my answers. If along the way, I make mistakes I can live with that. I'm only going to get better.

M&M Guy Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Wrong interpretation or wrong rule referenced? I believe I referenced the wrong rule for the situation.

6-4-3(g) is the rule rule you're referencing, and the rule you're mis-interpreting. It indeed does reference using the AP for all double foul situations where there is no team control, however, as JR has pointed out, you left out the important part of that rule: "when no infraction is involved". If you read the definition of POI, in 4-36-2(b) it states POI is "A free throw or throw-in if the stoppage occured during this activity".

So, yes, there is no team control during a throw-in, but the POI goes back to the throw-in after the double foul, since the throw-in was not yet completed. Follow?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Wrong interpretation or wrong rule referenced?

If you're referencing rule 6-4-3(g), then your interpretation is wrong. It's wrong for the exact same reason that 4-36-2(c) isn't applicable. Iow, what M&M said.

truerookie Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
6-4-3(g) is the rule rule you're referencing, and the rule you're mis-interpreting. It indeed does reference using the AP for all double foul situations where there is no team control, however, as JR has pointed out, you left out the important part of that rule: "when no infraction is involved". If you read the definition of POI, in 4-36-2(b) it states POI is "A free throw or throw-in if the stoppage occured during this activity".

So, yes, there is no team control during a throw-in, but the POI goes back to the throw-in after the double foul, since the throw-in was not yet completed. Follow?

Ok, I understand since the throw-in was not completed and no team control and there was an infraction(s) the double fouls. POI will be the throw-in again entitled to Team A. Makes sense thanks. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1