Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. |
Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:08am |
Being told a player had four fouls.
I have a question for all of you officials who want the Scorer to tell you when a player has four fouls. Where in the Rules, Casebook (Approved Rulings), Officials Manual, etc. where this is required or even recommended? You cannot tell me because you will not find that sort of nonsense anywhere.
Officiate the ENTIRE game. Yes, we has officials do change how we officiate the end of a blow out as oppposed to a close game. But, we do not worry about whether a player has four fouls or not. I do not want to hear anything about "cheap" fouls being called against a player with four fouls. An official's criteria should be is this a foul per the game's end of game situation. It is just nonsense that officials do not need to know or should care about knowing.
Furthermore, a coach knows (or should at least know) when one of his players has four fouls, and it is his decision whether or not to leave said player in the game with four fouls.
MTD, Sr.
|