The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   OOPS! 5 fouls on player who is shooting free throws (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40794-oops-5-fouls-player-who-shooting-free-throws.html)

WAZebra Fri Jan 04, 2008 02:42pm

OOPS! 5 fouls on player who is shooting free throws
 
My partner last night told me about a situation that happened to her. Player from team B fouls a player from team A. It is the players 5th foul but the player that fouled is allowed to remain in the game. Team A is not in the bonus yet so they inbound the ball, take a shot attempt which is rebounded by team B. Team B goes down court to their end and the player who has 5 fouls is fouled in the act oof shooting. After the player shoots and makes the first of 2 free throws the table informs the officials that that player should not be in the game. What would you do?

BillyMac Fri Jan 04, 2008 03:10pm

Disqualified ???
 
Count the free throw.
Inform the head coach that the player has fouled out.
Inform the player that he/she has fouled out.
Inform timer to set clock for 20 seconds.
Warning horn sounds with 15 seconds remaining.
Subsitute for disqualified player reports to table.
Substitute is beckoned onto the court.
Subsitute shoots second free throw with players lined up along the lane lines.
Play ball.

JugglingReferee Fri Jan 04, 2008 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
  1. Count the free throw.
  2. Inform the head coach that the player has fouled out.
  3. Inform the player that he/she has fouled out.
  4. Inform timer to set clock for 20 seconds.
  5. Warning horn sounds with 15 seconds remaining.
  6. Subsitute for disqualified player reports to table.
  7. Substitute is beckoned onto the court.
  8. Subsitute shoots second free throw with players lined up along the lane lines.
  9. Play ball.

You forgot step 10: ask the scorer to let you know when anyone has 4 fouls. :eek: :p :cool: :eek: (Sorry, couldn't resist.)

just another ref Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
[/LIST]You forgot step 10: ask the scorer to let you know when anyone has 4 fouls. :eek: :p :cool: :eek: (Sorry, couldn't resist.)

Especially if it is a **star** player, so you can "make sure his fifth is not a cheap one."

inigo montoya Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:18pm

Do you have the timer begin the 20-second count after you tell the head coach, or after you tell the player?

JugglingReferee Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Especially if it is a **star** player, so you can "make sure his fifth is not a cheap one."

Yup - if a star player does sumthin' really dumb - no need to pass on it.

BillyMac Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:24pm

Citatations Anyone
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by inigo montoya
Do you have the timer begin the 20-second count after you tell the head coach, or after you tell the player?

Good question. Citatations anyone???

tjones1 Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:29pm

Coach
Timer
Player

Manual - #232 (a)

Camron Rust Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by inigo montoya
Do you have the timer begin the 20-second count after you tell the head coach, or after you tell the player?

Since the 20 seconds is to replace a disqualified player and a player is not disqualified until the coach is notified, the clock should begin with the notification of the coach.

rockyroad Fri Jan 04, 2008 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
[/LIST]You forgot step 10: ask the scorer to let you know when anyone has 4 fouls. :eek: :p :cool: :eek: (Sorry, couldn't resist.)

While I would never ask the scorer to tell me about a 4th foul, I would be aware of it and then this whole mess wouldn't have happened, now would it - which was the point several of us were trying to get thru to some of the more thick-headed people around here.

Sorry - just couldn't resist. :cool:

JugglingReferee Fri Jan 04, 2008 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
While I would never ask the scorer to tell me about a 4th foul, I would be aware of it and then this whole mess wouldn't have happened, now would it - which was the point several of us were trying to get thru to some of the more thick-headed people around here.

Sorry - just couldn't resist. :cool:

How are you aware that a player has 4 fouls?

inigo montoya Fri Jan 04, 2008 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Since the 20 seconds is to replace a disqualified player and a player is not disqualified until the coach is notified, the clock should begin with the notification of the coach.

I only asked because BillyMac does not seem to agree, or there is a small oversight in his steps.

ca_rumperee Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:52am

I had this play.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by WAZebra
My partner last night told me about a situation that happened to her. Player from team B fouls a player from team A. It is the players 5th foul but the player that fouled is allowed to remain in the game. Team A is not in the bonus yet so they inbound the ball, take a shot attempt which is rebounded by team B. Team B goes down court to their end and the player who has 5 fouls is fouled in the act of shooting. After the player shoots and makes the first of 2 free throws the table informs the officials that that player should not be in the game. What would you do?

At the point that the referees are informed, ref need to inform coach that the player has five and is disqualified. Replacement player shoots remaining FT. All results to that point stand.

rockyroad Sat Jan 05, 2008 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
How are you aware that a player has 4 fouls?

Scoreboard...PA announcer...coach yelling "That's 4, Steve. Be careful." Etc., etc...

JugglingReferee Sat Jan 05, 2008 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
Scoreboard...PA announcer...coach yelling "That's 4, Steve. Be careful." Etc., etc...

Player fouls / announcers??? We're not that teknickle up here. :p

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:08am

Being told a player had four fouls.
 
I have a question for all of you officials who want the Scorer to tell you when a player has four fouls. Where in the Rules, Casebook (Approved Rulings), Officials Manual, etc. where this is required or even recommended? You cannot tell me because you will not find that sort of nonsense anywhere.

Officiate the ENTIRE game. Yes, we has officials do change how we officiate the end of a blow out as oppposed to a close game. But, we do not worry about whether a player has four fouls or not. I do not want to hear anything about "cheap" fouls being called against a player with four fouls. An official's criteria should be is this a foul per the game's end of game situation. It is just nonsense that officials do not need to know or should care about knowing.

Furthermore, a coach knows (or should at least know) when one of his players has four fouls, and it is his decision whether or not to leave said player in the game with four fouls.

MTD, Sr.

truerookie Sun Jan 06, 2008 01:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I have a question for all of you officials who want the Scorer to tell you when a player has four fouls. Where in the Rules, Casebook (Approved Rulings), Officials Manual, etc. where this is required or even recommended? You cannot tell me because you will not find that sort of nonsense anywhere.

Officiate the ENTIRE game. Yes, we has officials do change how we officiate the end of a blow out as oppposed to a close game. But, we do not worry about whether a player has four fouls or not. I do not want to hear anything about "cheap" fouls being called against a player with four fouls. An official's criteria should be is this a foul per the game's end of game situation. It is just nonsense that officials do not need to know or should care about knowing.

Furthermore, a coach knows (or should at least know) when one of his players has four fouls, and it is his decision whether or not to leave said player in the game with four fouls.

MTD, Sr.

Amen!!

just another ref Sun Jan 06, 2008 01:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I have a question for all of you officials who want the Scorer to tell you when a player has four fouls.

Also, what if the scorer refuses? "No, that is not listed as one of my duties and I feel that my giving you that information could be judged to be improper by either side." Then what?

Nevadaref Mon Jan 07, 2008 01:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Also, what if the scorer refuses? "No, that is not listed as one of my duties and I feel that my giving you that information could be judged to be improper by either side." Then what?

The referee gets to designate the official scorer. He can simply replace the person with someone who will comply with the desired instruction.

Of course, this would lead us into a discussion of whether it is proper to replace a table person when they aren't failing to do any of their appointed duties.

JRutledge Mon Jan 07, 2008 02:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I have a question for all of you officials who want the Scorer to tell you when a player has four fouls. Where in the Rules, Casebook (Approved Rulings), Officials Manual, etc. where this is required or even recommended? You cannot tell me because you will not find that sort of nonsense anywhere.

Officiate the ENTIRE game. Yes, we has officials do change how we officiate the end of a blow out as oppposed to a close game. But, we do not worry about whether a player has four fouls or not. I do not want to hear anything about "cheap" fouls being called against a player with four fouls. An official's criteria should be is this a foul per the game's end of game situation. It is just nonsense that officials do not need to know or should care about knowing.

Furthermore, a coach knows (or should at least know) when one of his players has four fouls, and it is his decision whether or not to leave said player in the game with four fouls.

MTD, Sr.

We ask scorers to do many things that are not listed specifically in the rulebook. I know the scorer in most places tells the teams on their own how many timeouts are left and I do not see anyone getting their panties in a bunch over that. On Saturday I was doing a game that was on live TV and the scorer was helping us with the media timeouts by standing. I do not see that in the rulebook either. You cannot make everything about the rulebook because we do a lot of accepted things that are explicit in the rulebook.

Now would I ever tell a scorer to tell me this? No. I just think we cannot always talk about what the rulebook says or does not say or we would never do a lot of things as an official.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1