![]() |
|
|
|||
Crazy play
Bare with me on this one ... sent to me by a high school varsity coach asking what should have be done or if all was right!
Both teams lineup for the opening tip and Team A (from Alabama) controls the tip in their front court. Team A then dribbles to their back court towards the wrong basket and the official recognizes and calls a backcourt violation ... Upon administering the throw in, the official points toward the wrong basket and awards Team B (from Georgia) the ball ... On the inbound play, Team B makes a three-point field goal at what turns out to be the wrong basket. The officials then awarded Team A the three points and then gives Team B the ball going the other direction which turns out to be the proper direction. Correctly done or not? Or what should have been done? |
|
|||
I say incorrect. In the spirit of Case Book 5.2.1 this is an officials error. Points should be scored for the proper team (B) and the officials should stop the game and ensure everyone knows the right baskets. Ball to A.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
A bit unfair. (just a bit)
So if I am now team A and I know what time of day it is, and I am setting up a 2-3 zone defending the proper basket, I am now penalized because the referee is asleep and so is the other team, scoring an uncontested goal???
__________________
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure. |
|
|||
Quote:
If there's confusion on the part of the officials AND both teams, you score all baskets for the team that shot the ball and you turn the teams around and send them in the proper direction.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
And had this been deemed confusion solely on the part of the B player who took the shot at the wrong end, it wouldn't be 3 points for A, only 2.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Crazy play | Alligator Bag | Baseball | 22 | Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:24am |
Another crazy play | greymule | Softball | 5 | Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:23am |
Crazy Play.......... | kellerumps | Softball | 12 | Mon May 05, 2003 09:19am |
Crazy play | stan-MI | Basketball | 17 | Mon Feb 03, 2003 01:25pm |
Crazy play | Alligator Bag | Baseball | 3 | Fri Apr 14, 2000 10:45am |