![]() |
end of game timing issue
Visitors ball under their own basket with 1.2 seconds left. A1's pass is intercepted by B1 who unsuccessfully asks for a time out before landing OOB. But, simultaneously with the whistle or a tiny fraction afterward, the buzzer sounds, clock shows 0:00, game over. From the description I got, it sounds like the clock may have started before the pass was touched. The question is, even if the official sees the clock start to move while the pass is in the air, there is no way to make a correction here, correct?
A footnote: Visitors' coach threw a fit, saying time should be put back. Officials apparently had a lengthy discussion about the play, during which visitors' fans threw stuff all over the court. Then, apparently thinking the game was not over, the visiting players scurried around and cleaned up the debris. |
Quote:
|
This is why the fed needs a touching equals X amount of time off rule.
This is a timers error, the last known time is 1.2...there is only a game over provision for an officials error. This should be A's ball at the spot of the OOB violation with 1.2 remaining. |
New rules change this past year
If an official has direct knowledge of a timing issue, they can resolve it. In this case, if you knew you had 1.2 sec and a timeout was called at first touch, you could adjust this.
|
Are you saying that the official saw the clock start while the ball was in the air before it was touched??? Why wouldn't he be able to put time back on?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
- The clock now stops when the official granted the timeout request by B1. NFHS rule 5-8-3(a). -The quarter ended when the buzzer sounded. NFHS rule 5-6-2. -To put any time back on the clock, the official must have definite information as to how much time remained when the timeout request was granted. NFHS rule 5-10. In this case, the officials(s) did not have any definite information that would allow them to put any time back on the clock. Game over, by rule. |
Quote:
Rules rulez! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
To explain further, when I say that the clock may have started early, it may be totally unjustified. How long is a long time for a player to be in the air in a play such as this. I have no information about exactly how much height or distance was covered, but I picture a steal based more on anticipation than on any kind of incredibly athletic play. Also, we must remember that the catch was made while the player was already in the air, so if the timing was correct, the hang time was some amount in excess of 1.2. Is this a long time in the air or not?
|
It seems as though the rules as stated by JR would pretty much match "common sense". One second isn't very much time to control the ball and then signal a TO. I don't see how a coach could think they "deserve" any extra time, regardless of whether the clock was right.
|
Quote:
in 1.2 seconds he would cover nearly 25 feet. Sounds doubtful to me. |
Quote:
None of them were in the air an entire second. Just over .9 was the best. So, while it has nothing to do with what you can and can't do as an official in this situation, there is absolutely no way 1.2 seconds can come off the clock between the time the player gathers the ball in the air and returns to the ground...:D |
Quote:
I can see the game legitimately being over in this case. A couple of other comments: The only way that the clock can be returned to 1.2 seconds, even if an official observes it start early, is if the official sounds the whistle IMMEDIATELY before the throw-in is touched inbounds. Of course, this will prevent the defense from making the steal. The only way that a fraction of a second can be returned to the clock is if an official looks at the clock and sees time remaining AFTER the whistle is sounded for either the granting of the time-out or the OOB violation. Otherwise the game is over. |
Quote:
|
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
By rule, the timer is to stop the clock upon the official's signal (2-12-6). That means seeing a hand up or upon hearing the whistle. If that takes place, then no timing error has occurred. Are you now expecting the timer to read the official's mind? Lah me. ;) |
Quote:
No, I don't expect the timer to read an official's mind. I do expect an official to look at the clock however and note the time on it when he <b>GRANTS</b> the TO. That's definite information and it's the time that he can put back up on the clock, by rule(5-10). Lah me, indeed......:rolleyes: |
Quote:
Are you advocating that he just thinks it, and that no action is required? |
Quote:
I am not saying this 'holier than thou" because I have had to really really work hard at this AND I have learned the hard way with inept or homer clock keepers. Mulk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In this case being discussed, if the clock shows 0.00 and the horn has gone off when the official looks at the clock while granting the TO, then no time can be put back on. |
Quote:
There is no definitive answer in the books of when the timeout is granted. In rule 5-8-1, we learn that on a foul, held ball, or violation, the clock stops when these things are signaled by an official, not when they happen. 5-8-3 tells us that it stops when an official grants a timeout request. This led me to conclude that the granting and the signal were the same thing. Virtually everyone assured me that they were not. |
Quote:
|
Good Advice
Quote:
|
Quote:
What I cannot agree to is the conclusion to which your thinking must logically lead. That being that a timing error occurs every time that an official grants a time-out. That simply is not a reasonable interpretation of the NFHS rule. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
We're talking about a specific situation; a situation where the clock may have not been stopped properly. To wit, we're discussing the application of rule 5-10. In the case being discussed, if the decision by the calling official is that the timer actually did stop the clock correctly in the granting of the TO request, then no adjustment can be made. The quarter is over. However, if the decision is made that the timer did not stop the clock correctly, then we have to determine <b>IF</b> we can put time back on the clock using definite knowledge. If so, what is then in dispute is <b>when</b> we <b>apply</b> that definite knowledge. I'm saying that you apply it when you <b>grant</b> the TO, as per the rule that I cited. You're saying that you can't apply the definite knowledge until after the stop-clock mechanic is completely over. Obviously, I disagree because I'm going by the strict language of rule 5-8-3. See where I'm coming from now? I didn't expect TD21 to understand all that. Even though he dwells in the mythical and magical Land of College and Above, it's still simply beyond his capabilities. I sureasheck expected that you would though. |
If I may...I'll jump in here late.
I have to admit...I skimmed this thread...so forgive me if I missed what I am about to propose. Sooo, Nevada...if an official is looking at the clock, as he is in the process of granting a TO...but, the official fumbles around and does not get air in the whistle untill after the final horn sounds...are the Coach and team, that wanted the TO, out of luck? If your answer is NO(the Coach is not out of luck)...you would grant the TO and put the appropriate time on the clock...then wouldn't you agree that JR's interp is correct? Some officials may be quicker at the TO granting procedure...some officials are slower...some officials may fumble around with their whistle...shouldn't a team have confidence of knowing there can at least be consistency when applying the rules as JR has stated? |
Quote:
The same would be true if the official attempted to call a violation or a foul and fumbles around with his whistle, time isn't put back on the clock. Can you imagine an official instructing the timer to reset the clock to 4:03 because that is when he intended to blow the whistle? That's ridiculous. In fact, I had this exact situation in a game earlier this year. Team A scored and Team B gathered the ball and stepped OOB. I was the new Trail (tableside). My partner was the new lead (also tableside as it was 3-man and we had a C). B1 throws the ball into the court, but B2 misses it and it bounces TWICE in the court and then goes OOB untouched on the sideline next to the C. There is a whistle which I assume is from the C, but he just looked at me, when the Trail came running in and said that the coach of Team B requested a time-out and he was late granting it. This situation made us look silly and almost caused the coach of Team A to take a T. After the game in the lockerroom my partner confessed that he had spat his whistle out of his mouth while attempting to blow it. That is what caused the severe delay. We had a laugh about it. PS JR's point intrigues me, but I don't agree with it. I don't think that is a reasonable way to interpret the rule. We have a different understanding of when the clock SHOULD be stopped. |
Quote:
The better scenario is after a made basket by B, Coach B requests a TO and I see this request and wish to grant it, but in the time between when I register the request and when I start blowing my whistle, A gathers the ball. In your reading, I shouldn't grant the TO, correct? This is one I've always been taught, and always have, granted. Same in a "scrum heading to a held ball" or a trap with violation or foul type of scenario. If the request came before and as an official I just didn't process fast enough, I should grant the TO. Interested in your and others' thoughts? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That said, if I can grant a TO regardless of player control because I recognized the request while there was PC, how can I not also make a clock change for the same purpose? To me, it's easiest to do it this way, I'd simply argue that it needs to be one way or the other. Of course, if you can look at the clock after recognizing a TO request, you should also be able to blow the whistle at that point... |
Quote:
Try hard to stick to the situation being discussed without bringing in irrelevant plays. It makes for a better discussion. :) |
Quote:
I agree with others about the TO request and grant. Game over if clock started properly. If we start adding/predicting/guessing 0.5 seconds or so "lag time", then you need to be consistant and do it for every whistle that stops the clock for the whole game. If you don't do it the whole game, then you sureasheck don't do it with 1.2 in the 4th. Until I reach the college level with video replay....:) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10pm. |