The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2007, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 79
Correctable Error or Not??

A1 gets fouled on a shot by B1. After whistle B1 cusses & gets a technical. The calling official has both whistles & goes to table to report the fouls on B1. The remaining 2 officials line up A2 to shoot the first series of foul shots. A2 had gone to the line & the Lead & Center thought he was the one that got fouled on the shot. It wasn't until the Trail (calling official) asked A's Coach who was going to shoot the technical fouls after A2 had shot the shooting fouls did they discover that A2 shot the shooting fouls instead of A1. The crew then gets together & decides that they shot the fouls out of sequence since A2 was to shoot the technical foul shots. They let A2's points stand then put A1 on the line for the shooting foul shots & then take the ball out at half court for the technical. They then put A1 on the line to shoot the shooting fouls which A2 had already shot & allowed the successful free throws by A2 to stand for the technical foul shots.

According to my understanding of the rules, the shots should have been taken in order of occurance. Since A1 didn't shoot his shots first & the error was detected before A1 shot, A2's points should have been removed & A1 be allowed to shoot his foul shots. Since they put A2 on the line to shoot A1's foul shots, this then become a correctable error & could have been corrected when discovered. Is my understanding of the rules correct in that at this point in time, a correctable error situation existed?

Now since they let A1 shoot after A2 (out of sequence), the situation is now not correctable as all of the merited free throws were attempted (Case Book 8.7 Situtation B).

If B's coach had caught the wrong shooter on the line for the first two shots before A1 shot his foul shots, would he have been within his right to asked that the points be taken off & A1 shoot his shots as called?

Since they now shot out of sequence by shooting the technical fouls first, we can't the players line up on the foul lanes for the shooting foul sequence by A1?

What a way for A to get 4 points, put their best shooter on the line & shoot all 4 shots. if the crew hadn't ask for the technical foul shooter, this is what would have happened...

Rule 8 Section 6 Art. 2 was set aside by not shooting the fouls shots in the order that they occurred. According to the order of sequence, the shooting foul shots should be shot first, followed by the technical foul shots, then followed by A's ball at half court.

Rule 2 Section 10 Art. 1... Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in: c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.

Rule 2 Section 10 Art. 4... If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled.

Rule 8 Section 6 Art. 2... If there is a multiple throw and both a personal and technical foul are involved, the tries shall be attempted in the order in which the related fouls were called, and if the last try is for a technical foul, or intentional or flagrant personal foul, the ball shall be put in play by a throw-in.

2.10.4 Situation 1: A1 is fouled by B1 during a field-goal try which is successful. A2 is erroneously awarded the free throw. While A2’s successful attempt is in the air: (a) B1 fouls A3; or (b) B1 intentionally fouls A3. Prior to the ball becoming live, the coach of Team B properly asks the referee to correct the error of awarding the free throw to the wrong player.

Ruling: The free throw by A2 is canceled and A1 will properly attempt the free throw which should have been awarded originally. The common foul by B1 in (a) is canceled. The intentional foul in (b) cannot be canceled. In (b), the game continues with the administration of the two free throws to A3 resulting from the intentional foul by B1. Team A will then be awarded the ball for a throw-in. If the corrected error is a free throw by the wrong player, at the wrong basket or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls are canceled.

8.7 Situation B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1.
Ruling: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error Back In The Saddle Basketball 3 Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:46pm
correctable error cloverdale Basketball 12 Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:19am
Correctable Error???? mtbabo Basketball 10 Tue Jul 27, 2004 02:33am
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
correctable error John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 23 Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1