The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Q from a 1st year: Control? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40673-q-1st-year-control.html)

ca_rumperee Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:01pm

Q from a 1st year: Control?
 
Team B is in the bonus. In frontcourt, B1 passes to B2. A2 (in deny stance) steps in and bats ball towards his own basket. Before A2 touches the ball again, B2 grabs A2 from behind (as you might to prevent a layup).
I call a hold on B2, awarding A2 with a one-and-one. My thought was that this kid had made a controlling action by batting the ball. I don't know that I could define it as "initiating a dribble" or not, but he made a controlled 'batting' of the ball to an open part of the court. Control, or no?

jdw3018 Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:14pm

In this scenario, the only way I could see calling it control would also require you to determine it a dribble. Otherwise the ball was muffed, and a muff isn't control...

BktBallRef Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:17pm

http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...es/welcome.gif

No. Batting the ball does not constitute control. Control is established by dribbling or holding a live ball inbounds. Batting the ball from the player in possession is not a dribble. You had a team control foul and shouldn't have shot FTs.

BTW, better to always use A as the offensive team and B as the defensive team. It's consistent with the case book, exams, NFHS interps, etc.

ca_rumperee Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:19pm

The question I ask myself... and I know the answer.
 
is, if A2 had recovered his batted ball, held it and dribbled would I call double dribble? No.

Kelvin green Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:19pm

Team control happens when you are dribbling or hlding a live ball... on a loose ball it remains in control of the team until the opponent gains control.

This is a play I would have to see, but given your description, it is hard to say. Dribble can start with a bat... However this could be just the defense knocking the ball away...If it was, it is a team control foul and not a common foul (where is the NBA loose ball foul when we need it?)

If there was a hold and grabs him from behind it sounds to me like an intentional foul might be as appropriate here as anything...

BktBallRef Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
is, if B2 had recovered his batted ball, held it and dribbled would I call double dribble? No.

See? You're confusing your A's and B's. :)

I assume you mean A2 all of which would mean it's still a team control foul.

ca_rumperee Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:25pm

I used the term 'batting' because the definition of dribble uses it:

4.15.1 A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hands(s)) or pushed the ball to the floor once or several times.

ca_rumperee Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
See? You're confusing your A's and B's. :)

I assume you mean A2 all of which would mean it's still a team control foul.

mea culpa. I B corrected.... and will edit.

grunewar Sat Dec 29, 2007 03:41pm

"Before A2 touches the ball again, B2 grabs A2 from behind (as you might to prevent a layup)."

While I didn't see the play, seems by your description you could have called an intentional foul here.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 29, 2007 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
I used the term 'batting' because the definition of dribble uses it:

4.15.1 A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hands(s)) or pushed the ball to the floor once or several times.

Keep reading down to Note 2 (at least in last year's book). It seems like the note applies to your paly and, as you have surmised, it was not team control.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 29, 2007 06:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
I used the term 'batting' because the definition of dribble uses it:

4.15.1 A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hands(s)) or pushed the ball to the floor once or several times.

You quote the rule and ignore it as the same time.

A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control...

A defender is NOT in control of the ball, so when he bats it, it is not a dribble.

Mark Padgett Sat Dec 29, 2007 07:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kelvin green
Team control happens when you are dribbling or holding a live ball...

Kelvin, just to be accurate, that's the definition of player control (and you have to add the word "inbounds" at the end). You are correct, however, that during a period of no team control, team control is established when a player gains player control. Remember, there is team control during a pass between teammates.

rainmaker Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar
"Before A2 touches the ball again, B2 grabs A2 from behind (as you might to prevent a layup)."

While I didn't see the play, seems by your description you could have called an intentional foul here.

That's what I was thinking. Completely avoids the problem of player control.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
That's what I was thinking. Completely avoids the problem of player control.

Yep. :)

ca_rumperee Sun Dec 30, 2007 01:16am

Bottom line: I let the English word 'control' leak into BBall rule about 'control'
 
Back in the day, Celtics are playing. Someone drives the lane, but Russell swats the ball out towards Satch Sanders. Russell's 'controlled' rejection toward a teammate was common.

In the play I described, our denying defender clearly 'controlled' the ball (in the Bill Russell sense), but did not 'control' the ball in the rule book sense.

Word.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1