The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Q from a 1st year: Crafty inbounds play. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40672-q-1st-year-crafty-inbounds-play.html)

Nevadaref Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:06pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by BillyMac
I thought I had this play straight in my head, including all variables that could happen, until the post above. Now I'm confused again.

If B-2 catches the throw in pass with two feet on the ground, is B-2 considered to be inbounds, or out of bounds???

I'm leaning toward out of bounds, and if that's the case, on a "run the endline" throwin, should we let B-2 continue his, or her, trip out of bounds to become the legal second thrower???

If B-2 is considered to be inbounds........wait, how can B-2 be considered inbounds if they have one foot out of bounds???

I'm so confused???

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
It doesn't matter where B2 is considered in this scenario (though I consider B2 OOB).

I would consider this a throw-in violation, as B2 has now touched across the boundary during a throw-in as in 9-2-5, though I could see an arguement that the throw-in has ended and B2 is OOB as in 9-2-2.

It is indeed an OOB violation and not a throw-in violation. The importance in this distinction is the ensuing throw-in spot. On throw-in violations the next play comes from the original spot, while on OOB violations the throw-in comes from that OOB spot.

This is covered in the interps this year.
2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)

BillyMac Mon Dec 31, 2007 05:25pm

Do The Hockey Pockey
 
[QUOTE=Nevadaref]
It is indeed an OOB violation and not a throw-in violation. The importance in this distinction is the ensuing throw-in spot. On throw-in violations the next play comes from the original spot, while on OOB violations the throw-in comes from that OOB spot.

I'm still confused. I believe that the original post was a "run the endline" throw in. If B-2 had both feet on the floor, one OOB, and one IB, and is deemed to be OOB, couldn't B-1 just hand, or pass, the ball to B-2, with there being no violation of any type.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 31, 2007 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
I'm still confused. I believe that the original post was a "run the endline" throw in. If B-2 had both feet on the floor, one OOB, and one IB, and is deemed to be OOB, couldn't B-1 just hand, or pass, the ball to B-2, with there being no violation of any type.

The teammate has to be "outside the boundary line". I interpret that as "entirely" outside the line.

Note that this is different wording than "out of bounds" as in 4-35.

So, I'd have this as a "legal" throw-in followed immediately by an OOB violation.

If you'd rather try to interpret this as a pass to another inbounder, then I think the intent of 9-2-5 (shall not carry the ball onto the court) applies and you'd have a throw-in violation.

Either way, the violation is on A2, and the spot of B's throw-in is at teh spot where A2 violated.

(all references from 2006-2007 book)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1