The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball Handler Pushoff (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40496-ball-handler-pushoff.html)

Matt S. Wed Dec 19, 2007 02:53pm

Ball Handler Pushoff
 
Quality JV boys game (fast, aggressive defense on both sides)...

I call 3 PC fouls on the offensive ball-handler for extending the non-dribbling arm to create space...coach thinks I'm nuts, but the defenders are holding their arms straight up (after I'd already called a few on them for swatting at the ball and missing)

Do you think coaches understand this rule, and how often do you call a PC on the pushoff?

(Ended up T-ing the losing coach with about 45 seconds left when he said I was "out of my mind" to the whole gym...but that's a whole other topic!!!)

chartrusepengui Wed Dec 19, 2007 02:58pm

Quote:

extending the non-dribbling arm to create space
is there contact?

rockyroad Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt S.
Quality JV boys game (fast, aggressive defense on both sides)...

I call 3 PC fouls on the offensive ball-handler for extending the non-dribbling arm to create space...coach thinks I'm nuts, but the defenders are holding their arms straight up (after I'd already called a few on them for swatting at the ball and missing)

Do you think coaches understand this rule, and how often do you call a PC on the pushoff?

(Ended up T-ing the losing coach with about 45 seconds left when he said I was "out of my mind" to the whole gym...but that's a whole other topic!!!)

If the defender has LGP and the dribbler pushes them away, then a PC call is certainly a valid call. But like chartrusie said, there has to be contact, not just holding the arm out there...same as the "swatting at the ball and missing" isn't a foul while "swatting at the ball and hitting the dribbler's arm" would be a foul.

Splute Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:30pm

I agree this is a good PC call if there is contact. One of my pet peeves, if you will. Dribbler pushes off defender then breaks for the basket. Almost as bad as the offense pushing the defense out of their spot in the low post. Which many only catch the defense pushing back..... :) and when I call it, the coach doesnt like it.... pretty much the same response you got. If I recall the rules correctly, the dribbler can not use the forearm to keep the defender from the ball either. Therefore if the defender is making an attempt for the ball and the dribbler uses his forearm to prevent the defense from normal defensive moves and there is contact; this would also be PC. Correct?

just another ref Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:45pm

I see this as a case that is often misunderstood/miscalled both ways. The dribblers sticks the arm out, but no contact. The crowd, in perfect unison:
"He's pushing off!" Or the defender is lunging to try a steal and is hopelessly out of position, but before he can commit the blocking foul, the dribbler reacts, changes direction, and sticks out a forearm shiver to ward off the attack.

lpbreeze Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:53pm

different question but on the contact part- i had coaches saying out of bounds and the other saying block

if A1 is dribbling near the sideline toward her frountcourt. B1 gets in her way and it will clearly be a blocking foul but A1 steps out of bounds. There was little or no contact. I called a blocking foul because A1 was forced to go out of bounds. Was this the right call or can there be a blocking foul without contact?

just another ref Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
different question but on the contact part- i had coaches saying out of bounds and the other saying block

if A1 is dribbling near the sideline toward her frountcourt. B1 gets in her way and it will clearly be a blocking foul but A1 steps out of bounds. There was little or no contact. I called a blocking foul because A1 was forced to go out of bounds. Was this the right call or can there be a blocking foul without contact?

Sounds like the right call to me. No contact, no block

FrankHtown Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:59pm

I had this exact same play and almost came up with a block, but then realized there was no contact. OOB on the dribbler.

lpbreeze Wed Dec 19, 2007 04:02pm

ok thanks. . There was very little contact but perhaps if their arms hit or light body contact there could be a block call. I'm thinking I might get a player who says "what am I supposed to do, crash into the defender?"

M&M Guy Wed Dec 19, 2007 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
different question but on the contact part- i had coaches saying out of bounds and the other saying block

if A1 is dribbling near the sideline toward her frountcourt. B1 gets in her way and it will clearly be a blocking foul but A1 steps out of bounds. There was little or no contact. I called a blocking foul because A1 was forced to go out of bounds. Was this the right call or can there be a blocking foul without contact?

The very definition of a personal foul is illegal <B>contact</B> on an opponent. Your question about the play is a little unclear; in one part you say there was a little contact, but your final question asks if there can be a foul with no contact.

So, to answer your last question first - no, you cannot have a blocking foul with no contact.

In your play description, if you feel there was just enough contact by the defense to force A1 to step OOB, then it sounds like a foul. If you feel A1 was going to step OOB before the contact, then it's a violation on A1. Judgement call.

blindzebra Wed Dec 19, 2007 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt S.
Quality JV boys game (fast, aggressive defense on both sides)...

I call 3 PC fouls on the offensive ball-handler for extending the non-dribbling arm to create space...coach thinks I'm nuts, but the defenders are holding their arms straight up (after I'd already called a few on them for swatting at the ball and missing)
Do you think coaches understand this rule, and how often do you call a PC on the pushoff?

(Ended up T-ing the losing coach with about 45 seconds left when he said I was "out of my mind" to the whole gym...but that's a whole other topic!!!)

You need to clarify all of this...was there contact?

Camron Rust Wed Dec 19, 2007 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
ok thanks. . There was very little contact but perhaps if their arms hit or light body contact there could be a block call. I'm thinking I might get a player who says "what am I supposed to do, crash into the defender?"

If the contact caused them to go OOB, call the block (assuming the defender was not in LGP). Otherwise, call the OOB. Sometimes the dribbler dribbles into a situation that they should have avoided. What they "should" have done was not even go there if the defender was cutting them off.

TheOracle Wed Dec 19, 2007 05:42pm

It goes farther than contact. If the contact results in displacement, or it affects the balance, speed, or quickness of the defender, it's a foul. Going to be a tough sell for a dribbler to block a reach attempt to protect the ball unless that then allows him to beat the defender. Otherwise, these can be incidental contact with no whistle. No absolute right or wrong.

just another ref Wed Dec 19, 2007 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
ok thanks. . There was very little contact but perhaps if their arms hit or light body contact there could be a block call. I'm thinking I might get a player who says "what am I supposed to do, crash into the defender?"


Take the out of bounds out of the equation. If there was enough contact that you would have called a foul in the middle of the floor, then call a foul here. If not, call the out of bounds.

SamIAm Wed Dec 19, 2007 06:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
different question but on the contact part- i had coaches saying out of bounds and the other saying block

if A1 is dribbling near the sideline toward her frountcourt. B1 gets in her way and it will clearly be a blocking foul but A1 steps out of bounds. There was little or no contact. I called a blocking foul because A1 was forced to go out of bounds. Was this the right call or can there be a blocking foul without contact?

You are confused or your post is confusing. If B1 gets in the way and A1 has time to step around or go another direction, sure sounds likely to be an offensive foul. Did B1 have LGP before the contact? Who moved into the other player?

lpbreeze Wed Dec 19, 2007 06:20pm

- from what I saw the defensive player stepped in the path of A1 at the last second and if A1 would have continued forward then it would have been a blocking foul. A1 didn't have time to move out of the way so she stepped out of bounds. There was a little contact but very minor and no one fell down or anything like that. I called a block because in my mind A1 had to go out of bounds or she would have had to run into B1 who got to the spot late. If there was absolutely no contact then I suppose I would have called out of bounds but the contact was very little and I called a block even though it wasn't a typical block call.

PYRef Wed Dec 19, 2007 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
- from what I saw the defensive player stepped in the path of A1 at the last second and if A1 would have continued forward then it would have been a blocking foul. A1 didn't have time to move out of the way so she stepped out of bounds. There was a little contact but very minor and no one fell down or anything like that. I called a block because in my mind A1 had to go out of bounds or she would have had to run into B1 who got to the spot late. If there was absolutely no contact then I suppose I would have called out of bounds but the contact was very little and I called a block even though it wasn't a typical block call.

In my mind, that's a good defensive play by B1. If A1 goes OOB to avoid the contact, then too bad for them.

Raymond Wed Dec 19, 2007 07:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
different question but on the contact part- i had coaches saying out of bounds and the other saying block

if A1 is dribbling near the sideline toward her frountcourt. B1 gets in her way and it will clearly be a blocking foul but A1 steps out of bounds. There was little or no contact. I called a blocking foul because A1 was forced to go out of bounds. Was this the right call or can there be a blocking foul without contact?

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Sounds like the right call to me. No contact, no block

Isn't there something in the rulebook something along the lines of "if a defender is within 3ft of the boundary line...."?

just another ref Wed Dec 19, 2007 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Isn't there something in the rulebook something along the lines of "if a defender is within 3ft of the boundary line...."?

Don't think so.

rainmaker Wed Dec 19, 2007 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Don't think so.

There used to be a sentence about a defender having LGP wtihin 3 (or 6?) feet of a boundary and if a dribbler tried to squeeze through, contact is the responsibility of the dribbler. It looks as though it's been edited. Look in 10-6-2.

just another ref Wed Dec 19, 2007 09:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
There used to be a sentence about a defender having LGP wtihin 3 (or 6?) feet of a boundary and if a dribbler tried to squeeze through, contact is the responsibility of the dribbler. It looks as though it's been edited. Look in 10-6-2.

10-6-7: A dribbler shall not attempt to dribble between two opponents or between an opponent and a boundary, unless the space is such as to provide a reasonable chance for him/her to go through without contact.

This, to me, supports the idea that, when in doubt, it was not a blocking foul.

rainmaker Wed Dec 19, 2007 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
10-6-7: A dribbler shall not attempt to dribble between two opponents or between an opponent and a boundary, unless the space is such as to provide a reasonable chance for him/her to go through without contact.

This, to me, supports the idea that, when in doubt, it was not a blocking foul.

If defender had LGP.

just another ref Wed Dec 19, 2007 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
If defender had LGP.

or not. Defender can be standing with his back to the dribbler, hopping on one foot, talking to his mom in the bleachers. Dribbler tries to go around him, bumps him, and steps out of bounds. The call is out of bounds.

williebfree Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:00pm

Lgp
 
Just a reminder...

LGP cannot be established if B1 has a foot on or outside the OOB line.

rainmaker Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
or not. Defender can be standing with his back to the dribbler, hopping on one foot, talking to his mom in the bleachers. Dribbler tries to go around him, bumps him, and steps out of bounds. The call is out of bounds.

Touche...

Texas Aggie Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:06pm

Called one last night. There WAS contact, and the dribbler clearly initiated both the closeness and push off. Easy call, though the partisans didn't exactly agree.

Scrapper1 Thu Dec 20, 2007 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt S.
how often do you call a PC on the pushoff?

Called it twice against the same team (different players) last night in an NCAA game.

Scrapper1 Thu Dec 20, 2007 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheOracle
Going to be a tough sell for a dribbler to block a reach attempt to protect the ball unless that then allows him to beat the defender.

So the dribbler stops the defender from making a play on the ball and we can't call anything unless the dribbler then goes to the basket? He just prevented the "normal defensive movements" of the guy trying to make a steal. That's not incidental.

I'm not saying it HAS to be a foul, but if he's preventing the defender from playing legitimate defense, it's NOT a hard sell at all.

Adam Thu Dec 20, 2007 09:35am

And just to add to what Scrappy wrote: If it's the right call, who gives a (insert gratuitous profanity here) about whether you can "sell" it or not?

Chess Ref Thu Dec 20, 2007 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I'm not saying it HAS to be a foul, but if he's preventing the defender from playing legitimate defense, it's NOT a hard sell at all.

This is my favorite call that allows me to talk to the coach. Usually I tell them I need some contact to make that call. I get to establish a dialogue with the coach and also let said coach what parameters are gonna be. If there is contact that I deem more than incidential I grab it. I haven't heard too many complaints when I have grabbed it.

This call is also a good example of how this board works for me. I get to see how NCAA/Varsity HS officials deal with this and then I get to apply this in my Girls Frosh games I'll be working the rest of this week. Actually 3 out of my next 4 are Girls Frosh. Lots of talking about the "arm" and pushing off with the coaches.....

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 20, 2007 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
And just to add to what Scrappy wrote: If it's the right call, who gives a sh!t about whether you can "sell" it or not?

Amen!

justacoach Thu Dec 20, 2007 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Isn't there something in the rulebook something along the lines of "if a defender is within 3ft of the boundary line...."?

Hey BNR, how goes it . I think this is what you are looking for. So far as I can tell, it has remained unchanged for umpteen years. (Apologies to Juulie!!)

RULE 4 SECTION 7 BLOCKING, CHARGING
ART. 1 . . . Blocking is illegal personal contact which impedes the progress of an opponent with or without the ball.
ART. 2 . . .
c. There must be reasonable space between two defensive players or a defensive player and a boundary line to allow the dribbler to continue in his/her path. If there is less than 3 feet of space, the dribbler has the greater responsibility for the contact.

Scrapper1 Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
And just to add to what Scrappy wrote: If it's the right call, who gives a (insert gratuitous profanity here) about whether you can "sell" it or not?

I almost included that statement in my post. But I've disagreed with almost all of Oracle's posts so far and I didn't want to seem like I was piling on. But, of course, you're correct. Make the right call and don't worry about the sales job.

rainmaker Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach
Hey BNR, how goes it . I think this is what you are looking for. So far as I can tell, it has remained unchanged for umpteen years. (Apologies to Juulie!!)

RULE 4 SECTION 7 BLOCKING, CHARGING
ART. 1 . . . Blocking is illegal personal contact which impedes the progress of an opponent with or without the ball.
ART. 2 . . .
c. There must be reasonable space between two defensive players or a defensive player and a boundary line to allow the dribbler to continue in his/her path. If there is less than 3 feet of space, the dribbler has the greater responsibility for the contact.

No need to apologize! I was right that it was in there, and right about the concept. You've proven that, and that's a good thing! I was wrong about where to look for it, but now I know. That's a good thing too! Thanks!

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But I've disagreed with almost all of Oracle's posts so far and I didn't want to seem like I was piling on.

You do realize that you're dealing with Old School again, don't you?

Scrapper1 Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You do realize that you're dealing with Old School again, don't you?

He may be an Old School schoolmate, but it ain't the original Old School. I'm sure of that.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
He may be an Old School schoolmate, but it ain't the original Old School. I'm sure of that.

Wanna bet?

Scrapper1 Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Wanna bet?

My pen with the NCAA logo on it says, "Don't bet on it".

JoeTheRef Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
He may be an Old School schoolmate, but it ain't the original Old School. I'm sure of that.

Unless somebody is writing for O/S, that ain't him. The grammatical and sentence structure of these posts exceeds the 5th grade level. O/S's post didn't.

rainmaker Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
My pen with the NCAA logo on it says, "Don't bet on it".

LOL!!

justacoach Thu Dec 20, 2007 01:28pm

OS wanna-be
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
He may be an Old School schoolmate, but it ain't the original Old School. I'm sure of that.

Scrapper1, I concur with that idea. Grammar and spelling too highbrow and philosophical viewpoint too condescending to be confused with OS.


Jurassic: I'll take the bet. Do you have some admin side evidence to make a positive ID??

Y2Koach Thu Dec 20, 2007 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
ok thanks. . There was very little contact but perhaps if their arms hit or light body contact there could be a block call. I'm thinking I might get a player who says "what am I supposed to do, crash into the defender?"

Shooter jumps to shoot a jumper, defense swings at the ball and is about to hit the shooters arm, shooter does not shoot the ball and lands on the floor holding the ball to avoid getting hit by the defender. FOUL or travel? You might get a player who says "what am I supposed to do, let the defense hit my arm?"

Adam Thu Dec 20, 2007 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Unless somebody is writing for O/S, that ain't him. The grammatical and sentence structure of these posts exceeds the 5th grade level. O/S's post didn't.

Agreed. I think I remember a post or two from Oracle that I didn't disagree with. Never happened with Old School.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 20, 2007 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Y2Koach
Shooter jumps to shoot a jumper, defense swings at the ball and is about to hit the shooters arm, shooter does not shoot the ball and lands on the floor holding the ball to avoid getting hit by the defender. FOUL or travel? You might get a player who says "what am I supposed to do, let the defense hit my arm?"

Travel. Respond "yes" to the player.

TheOracle Thu Dec 20, 2007 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
My pen with the NCAA logo on it says, "Don't bet on it".

That is hilarious. Really enjoyable sitting through that this year. We're again parsing words.

I think it would be exceptionally difficult to make that call, where a dribbler puts his hands/arms in a spot to block a steal attempt, while maintaining a dribble, continuing play without an impending turnover, or doing anything advantageous. I'd also guess, that a defender going for a steal that aggressively would not be 100% clean, with or without the dribbler trying to protect it. So maybe sell is the wrong word, I cannot imagine that you'd have an offensive foul there very often at all. Almost always a no-call in my book.

Back In The Saddle Thu Dec 20, 2007 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheOracle
That is hilarious. Really enjoyable sitting through that this year.

He he. Oh yeah. I was in those meetings too. Because I call NCAA games. Just like you. No really, I do.

Pulllleeeeze :rolleyes:

Kelvin green Fri Dec 21, 2007 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
- from what I saw the defensive player stepped in the path of A1 at the last second and if A1 would have continued forward then it would have been a blocking foul. A1 didn't have time to move out of the way so she stepped out of bounds. There was a little contact but very minor and no one fell down or anything like that. I called a block because in my mind A1 had to go out of bounds or she would have had to run into B1 who got to the spot late. If there was absolutely no contact then I suppose I would have called out of bounds but the contact was very little and I called a block even though it wasn't a typical block call.

I am going to have to tell you I think your statements are contradictory here.

-Defensive playeer steps in at last second and if A continued forward there would have been contact...

-B-1 gets to spot late.

Remember, There is no time or distance that a defensive player has to give somone who is in player control. So if they got to the spot before contact, and meet the requirements of LGP its not a block....

I


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1