The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Help on Call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40395-help-call.html)

db Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:21am

Help on Call
 
A1 and B2 go for a rebound. In the attempt to get the ball B@ falls to the floor behind A1's legs. A1 possesses the ball while standing, then trips over B2 while holding the ball, falling to the floor while in possession of the ball. What is the correct call by rule? Blocking foul on B@?????

bob jenkins Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:43am

FED: Travel by A1

NCAA: Block by B2

db Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:49am

rule
 
Where is this explained in the rule book?

MOFFICIAL Sat Dec 15, 2007 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by db
Where is this explained in the rule book?

Rule 4-44-5a.
Case 4.44.5a & b may apply.
That being referenced if I see original player who was on floor roll up on rebounders leg I'll call a block as they encroached on rebounders vertical space. But as I understand from original post there was no such action.
Therefore traveling.

Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 15, 2007 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by db
Where is this explained in the rule book?

In the NCAA book, it's laid out to be a foul on B2. There used to be a specific NFHS case play on this, but it has been removed from the book. The rationale for not calling a foul under FED rules was that every player was allowed a legal spot on the court, and B2 laying on the floor had established his legal spot.

NFHS rule 4-23-1--"Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."

Raymond Sat Dec 15, 2007 12:55pm

Glad i'm back on the boards. I forgot there was a difference between NCAA and Fed on this ruling.

tomegun Sat Dec 15, 2007 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Glad i'm back on the boards. I forgot there was a difference between NCAA and Fed on this ruling.

where have you been big fella?

Raymond Sat Dec 15, 2007 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun
where have you been big fella?

Firewall at work shut down access to this site. Usually by the time I get on the computer at home it's late at night and I'm too tired to engage my brain.

I did do a game with Ernest a few weeks ago. I got a nice lecture on bench decorum enforcement after the game from our boss. :o

tomegun Sat Dec 15, 2007 01:50pm

Yeah, I miss being up there. Here is what I don't miss: last night my game was about four minutes from my house and I rolled down the windows on my way there and back.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Dec 15, 2007 04:20pm

Bob and JR:

I think I know my NCAA Rules pretty well, but I do not remember seeing where this is a blocking foul on B2. The definitions for guarding, screening, block, charge, and legal positions on the floor are the same in both the NFHS and NCAA rule books. Please help me out here. I am at our son's first H.S. swim meet of the season and I do not have my rules books with me. Thanks.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Bob and JR:

I think I know my NCAA Rules pretty well, but I do not remember seeing where this is a blocking foul on B2. The definitions for guarding, screening, block, charge, and legal positions on the floor are the same in both the NFHS and NCAA rule books. Please help me out here. I am at our son's first H.S. swim meet of the season and I do not have my rules books with me. Thanks.

MTD, Sr.

It's in one of the ARs.

PYRef Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Bob and JR:

I think I know my NCAA Rules pretty well, but I do not remember seeing where this is a blocking foul on B2. The definitions for guarding, screening, block, charge, and legal positions on the floor are the same in both the NFHS and NCAA rule books. Please help me out here. I am at our son's first H.S. swim meet of the season and I do not have my rules books with me. Thanks.

MTD, Sr.

Mark,
When I get home to my books I will find it for you but I remember reading that this is a blocking foul in NCAA. The reasoning is that lying on the floor is not a legal guarding position, and frankly, I think the Fed ruling should be the same. Calling a guy for traveling because he trips over someone on the floor is a pretty crappy call.

Adam Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
Mark,
When I get home to my books I will find it for you but I remember reading that this is a blocking foul in NCAA. The reasoning is that lying on the floor is not a legal guarding position, and frankly, I think the Fed ruling should be the same. Calling a guy for traveling because he trips over someone on the floor is a pretty crappy call.

Legal guarding position isn't required when you're stationary. I think the reasoning had to do with normal standing position, but I'm not sure. If it was LGP, then that's a pretty crappy reasoning.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 16, 2007 01:10am

Guarding: B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his or her back to prone B1) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foulon B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position (NCAA memorandum January 23, 1996, page 3).

That is what became 4-33-4a AR 91 in the new NCAA casebook with a tiny wording change.

http://www1.ncaa.org/eprise/main/pla...PreviewState=0


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1