The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in plane (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4039-throw-plane.html)

PP Thu Feb 07, 2002 02:17pm

Situation: While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. Then A2, simply grabs the ball and then continues towards his/her basket. Can A2 do this? Now if it was B1 who attempted this play this would be ruled a legal play. So in other words can an offensive team hand off the ball for a throw-in?

zebraman Thu Feb 07, 2002 02:20pm

It is a legal play if B grabs it.

It is illegal if A grabs it.

This was discussed recently on that "other board" if you want to go see the thread.

Z

PP Thu Feb 07, 2002 03:00pm

What other board ?

Mark Padgett Thu Feb 07, 2002 03:12pm

PP - don't you play different rules in Canada than we use here? Maybe the rule is different than it is in NF. Perhaps one of your fellow Canadians should answer this question.

As to the "other board" - I don't bother with it anymore since (IMHO)it has taken a turn toward personal remarks and foolishness in the past few months. Even though you can gain some knowledge there, for me, it's not worth getting past all the other junk.

daves Thu Feb 07, 2002 04:32pm

What you described is a throw in violation. A1 can not hand the ball in to A2. The ball has to be passed in. See the NF casebook 7.6.3 SITUATION B.

Josh Ovens Fri Feb 08, 2002 08:48pm

the offensive player recieving the handoff would be a violation. but if A1 puts taht ball across the imaginary plane running from the endline up to the ceiling, its a legal play for the defensive team to grab that ball or swat or whatever. But i have a question. if the thrower in is fouled, it is an intentional foul,right?? intentional fouls are fouls when the ball is live, and the ball is live at the disposal of the thrower in, even though the clock may or may not be running.???

Slider Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by PP
What other board ?
http://www.gmcgriff.com/refonline/ww...ges/28523.html

Mark Dexter Fri Feb 08, 2002 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Josh Ovens
the offensive player recieving the handoff would be a violation. but if A1 puts taht ball across the imaginary plane running from the endline up to the ceiling, its a legal play for the defensive team to grab that ball or swat or whatever. But i have a question. if the thrower in is fouled, it is an intentional foul,right?? intentional fouls are fouls when the ball is live, and the ball is live at the disposal of the thrower in, even though the clock may or may not be running.???

Intentional fouls can either be live ball/dead ball. An intentional personal (what this is) is live ball. A dead-ball technical foul for contact is (by rule) either an intentional T or a flagrant T (usually the intentional part of the T usually isn't signaled - otherwise people might think there was an I and a T on the same play).

Oz Referee Sun Feb 10, 2002 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
PP - don't you play different rules in Canada than we use here? Maybe the rule is different than it is in NF. Perhaps one of your fellow Canadians should answer this question.

As to the "other board" - I don't bother with it anymore since (IMHO)it has taken a turn toward personal remarks and foolishness in the past few months. Even though you can gain some knowledge there, for me, it's not worth getting past all the other junk.

Mark/PP - under FIBA rules this is a violation if A2 takes the ball out of A1's hands. If B1 takes the ball it is legal - but be sure that the ball is over the plane - otherwise it's an automatic T on B1.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1