The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How long before your first T to a coach? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40376-how-long-before-your-first-t-coach.html)

kblehman Fri Dec 14, 2007 03:28pm

How long before your first T to a coach?

I have just 2 years of experience, so I really enjoy reading members' accounts of situations and rulings. The "T" stories are especially interesting to me because it's helped me understand how you veterans handle ugly situations, what deserves an immediate "T", what deserves a warning, etc.

Two years of being in stripes -- working about 250 games (counting tournaments) -- and I still haven't given out my first technical to a coach. I've been close only twice. Perhaps I have a long fuse, or maybe I've just been lucky?

Question for everyone who has dished out a "T" to a coach:
How long, or how many games had you officiated, before giving that first one out?

RSmith Fri Dec 14, 2007 03:34pm

Last night

My first year - I was hoping to be proud of having a long fuse - might be the wrong philosophy as an official - I made it to game 6!~:)

TheOracle Fri Dec 14, 2007 03:39pm

I have given 6 in 15 years to coaches. You may have a long fuse, or you may have great people or mediation skills. You'll know when you have to do it. Hopefully, you never will!

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 03:41pm

Hoping you never have to do it is like hoping your young daughter doesn't turn into a hormonal teenager. It's futile.

Bearfanmike20 Fri Dec 14, 2007 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Hoping you never have to do it is like hoping your young daughter doesn't turn into a hormonal teenager. It's futile.

ok.... so we've had one family fued and one darth vader reference today.

blindzebra Fri Dec 14, 2007 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheOracle