The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   delay of game warning or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4037-delay-game-warning-not.html)

Slider Thu Feb 14, 2002 12:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Slider, I have been a basketball official for 31 years now, and for all of those years, every intepreter I have ever known, every time I have heard Dick Schindler, Mary Struckhoff, Hank Nichols, and Ed Bilik speak, and every rules clinic I have ever attended that dealt with throw-ins have stated that the if the ball is inbounds after a score by Team A and Team B refuses to pick up the ball to take it out-of-bounds for a throw-in, the official should start the throw-in count. The official should not stop the clock and administer the throw-in.
Good, when they put that on paper I'll be very happy.

BTW, I "just" thought of a question, if a player picks up a live ball IB and carries it OOB, isn't that a violation?

[Edited by Slider on Feb 14th, 2002 at 12:38 AM]

BktBallRef Thu Feb 14, 2002 12:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by Slider
BTW, I "just" thought of a question, if a player picks up a live ball IB and carries it OOB, isn't that a violation?
No, not if his team is entitled to a throw-in.

But then, hopefully, you already knew that.

Slider Thu Feb 14, 2002 01:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Originally posted by Slider
BTW, I "just" thought of a question, if a player picks up a live ball IB and carries it OOB, isn't that a violation?
No, not if his team is entitled to a throw-in.
Now, we are getting somewhere; Thank you for addressing this, but: Where is this exception to the OOB rule to be found? I interpret 9-3 to be for a live ball.

[On a "normal" throw-in the ball goes OOB dead, so the player does not cause a live ball to go OOB.]

Also, isn't it a violation for the in-bounder to be the first to touch the ball in bounds during a throw-in? Where is the exception for that violation?

[Edited by Slider on Feb 14th, 2002 at 02:57 AM]

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 14, 2002 09:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by Slider
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Originally posted by Slider
BTW, I "just" thought of a question, if a player picks up a live ball IB and carries it OOB, isn't that a violation?
No, not if his team is entitled to a throw-in.
Now, we are getting somewhere; Thank you for addressing this, but: Where is this exception to the OOB rule to be found? I interpret 9-3 to be for a live ball.

[On a "normal" throw-in the ball goes OOB dead, so the player does not cause a live ball to go OOB.]

Also, isn't it a violation for the in-bounder to be the first to touch the ball in bounds during a throw-in? Where is the exception for that violation?

[Edited by Slider on Feb 14th, 2002 at 02:57 AM]


This question is not meant to be mean spirited Slider, but how long have you been officiating. Your logic on this thread leads me to believe that you do not have a fundamental grasp of the rules and how they are to be interpreted, nor do you know how to look at a play and think logically at solving the problem.

BktBallRef Thu Feb 14, 2002 10:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Slider
Where is this exception to the OOB rule to be found? I interpret 9-3 to be for a live ball.
4-41-2,3
A throw-in is a method of putting the ball in play from out of bounds.
The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.

Quote:

On a "normal" throw-in the ball goes OOB dead, so the player does not cause a live ball to go OOB.


You're very confused. What throw-in is not "normal?" The ball becomes live when it's at the thrower's disposal, no matter where the ball is.

Quote:

Also, isn't it a violation for the in-bounder to be the first to touch the ball in bounds during a throw-in? Where is the exception for that violation?
No, it's not. It's a violation for the thrower to be the first player to touch the ball inbounds after the ball has been released, passed, on a throw-in. 7-6-1

You complain about everyone's unwillingness to answer your questions. It's because your questions make no sense.

Slider Thu Feb 14, 2002 11:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
4-41-2: A throw-in is a method of putting the ball in play from out of bounds.
-----
You're very confused. What throw-in is not "normal?" The ball becomes live when it's at the thrower's disposal, no matter where the ball is
-----
It's a violation for the thrower to be the first player to touch the ball inbounds after the ball has been released, passed, on a throw-in. 7-6-1
Thank You, they always say that the definitions are the most important part of the Rules.

Throw-in is from OOB by definition, 4-41-2.

An abnormal throw-in is one that starts in-bounds.

Finally, I don't see the word AFTER in 7-6-1.

However, in 9-2-6 I see, [The thrower shall not:] "Touch the ball in the court before it touches or is touched by another player."

BktBallRef Thu Feb 14, 2002 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Slider
Throw-in is from OOB by definition, 4-41-2.

An abnormal throw-in is one that starts in-bounds.

Finally, I don't see the word AFTER in 7-6-1.

However, in 9-2-6 I see, [The thrower shall not:] "Touch the ball in the court before it touches or is touched by another player."

Where can I read about abnormal throw-ins in the rule book?

As far as 7-6-1 goes, I simply summarized the rule. Of course, the word after is part of my statement. Is it possible to touch the pass before it is released? If you pass the ball, and it's been released, the only way you can possibly touch it again is after it's been released. :confused:

Of course, since you live in the Twilight Zone, perhaps you can touch it before it's released. :)

Your argument is silly and pointless and I'm through discussing it.

Slider Thu Feb 14, 2002 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
As far as 7-6-1 goes, I simply summarized the rule. Of course, the word after is part of my statement. Is it possible to touch the pass before it is released? If you pass the ball, and it's been released, the only way you can possibly touch it again is after it's been released.
7-6-1 says noting to contradict 9-2-6; and 9-2-6 says nothing about before, during, or after a pass. So that means it applies throughout the whole time of the throw-in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1