The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-In ends, huh (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40313-throw-ends-huh.html)

tonyvan Wed Dec 19, 2007 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Again, here are the general rules principles to follow:
-it is a violation to leave the court for an unauthorized reason. You have to learn what the "unauthorized reasons" are.
- it is a technical foul to delay returning in-bounds after being <b>illegally</b> out-of-bounds. You have to learn when a player is legally and illegally out-of-bounds.

Different penalties for 2 completely different situations.

So potentially could have violation (for being out of bounds illegally), then a technical foul afterwards if there is a delay returning in bounds?

In the situation I described, a member of the throw in team leaves illegally, returns in bounds a few seconds later to receive the throw in, the team is whistled for a throw in violation and they lost their alternating possession. Is that a correct ruling?

Adam Wed Dec 19, 2007 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tonyvan
So potentially could have violation (for being out of bounds illegally), then a technical foul afterwards if there is a delay returning in bounds?

No. The violation would make the ball dead, so there's no technical foul.
The technical foul is for delaying the return after being OOB "legally."

In the situation I described, a member of the throw in team leaves illegally, returns in bounds a few seconds later to receive the throw in, the team is whistled for a throw in violation and they lost their alternating possession. Is that a correct ruling?[/QUOTE]
Yes, the ruling is correct. The arrow flips when the throwin is complete. The throwin is complete when the throwin team violates.

tonyvan Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No. The violation would make the ball dead, so there's no technical foul.
The technical foul is for delaying the return after being OOB "legally."

In the situation I described, a member of the throw in team leaves illegally, returns in bounds a few seconds later to receive the throw in, the team is whistled for a throw in violation and they lost their alternating possession. Is that a correct ruling?

Yes, the ruling is correct. The arrow flips when the throwin is complete. The throwin is complete when the throwin team violates.[/QUOTE]

Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1