The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Doh! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40281-doh.html)

bob jenkins Thu Dec 13, 2007 08:59am

Do, the stuff that buys the beer
Re, the man who serves me beer
Me, myself, I drink the beer
Fa, a long long way for beer
So, I'll have another beer
La, I'll have another beer
Te, No thanks, I'm drinking beer
And that will bring us back to Do.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 13, 2007 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
While this is true there is no rule that depends on FC or BC status without team control that I can think of. In the OP's play FC/BC status is irrelevant. Do you agree...or is there some 3rd world case where it might apply that you can think of?

Can't think of one.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
btw...4-13 just defines FC/BC, it doesn't tell you how FC/BC status is defined. The rule you'll need for ball status is actually 4-4.

That's exactly what I said. I even cited 4-4 after talking about ball status.
You may need another cup of coffee this morning. ;)

Dan_ref Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref

That's exactly what I said. I even cited 4-4 after talking about ball status.
You may need another cup of coffee this morning. ;)

Nah, almost noon. Too late for more coffee. Time for a beer.

joseph2493 Thu Dec 13, 2007 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
No, the lines painted on the floor and rule 4-13 in the book define what is the frontcourt and what is the backcourt.

Which team has control has nothing to do with it.

The ball has a status of its own. That can be live or dead, inbounds or OOB, and in the FC or BC. Players each have their own status. Each can be inbounds, OOB, in the FC or in the BC and we hope that none are dead. ;)

The status of the ball and the players are independent concepts. They only connect when the ball is in contact with a player or more than one player.
It is entirely possible to have all ten players in the backcourt and the ball in the frontcourt with respect to Team A. (Actually, I can think of a situation in which all five players from Team A can legally be OOB, all five players of Team B can be in their backcourt, and the ball can be in the backcourt of Team A!!! :cool: )

Please give 4-4 and 4-35 a thorough read. :)

Ok, I used the word "standing" vs what I shoud have said where the ball is located Frontcourt/Backcourt.

When the ball is in A's frontcourt it is in B's backcourt. The post I originally replied to states that when the ball is touched in the frontcourt in gains front court status (keeping in mind the throwin)

How is that statement true. If the touching is by B first (and you go with the thought that we have to define frontcourt/backcourt) wouldn't that make the ball have "backcourt" status?

I'm not trying to be difficult. I am just trying to make sure you understand where my statement was coming from.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 13, 2007 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by joseph2493
How is that statement true. If the touching is by B first (and you go with the thought that we have to define frontcourt/backcourt) wouldn't that make the ball have "backcourt" status?

The ball has BC status for Team B AND FC status for Team A. Since Team A is the only one we care about in this play, we use that notation.

joseph2493 Thu Dec 13, 2007 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The ball has BC status for Team B AND FC status for Team A. Since Team A is the only one we care about in this play, we use that notation.

I agree (somewhat).

I appologize, I didn't word the my original post the way I wanted to make it sound. :eek:

I just didn't think anyone should get stuck on FC/BC in this play sit.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1